This is a research guide for finding materials on and examples of type in the Greenfield Library at the University of the Arts. Reference materials are listed first, followed by a list of suggested subject headings for searching library catalogs. Periodical indexes to magazine articles and newspapers are next, followed by style manuals and finally Web sites. If you have questions about this topic please see the librarian's e-mail address at the end of this document.
The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic, or the materials the author used to write their article) that you can use to find other materials.
Call numbers are for the Greenfield Library unless otherwise indicated. Reference books (in the area opposite the circulation desk) are indicated by REF before the call number.
Most of the annotations in quotes are taken from the series, American Reference Books Annual (ARBA), Greenfield REF Z1035.1 .A55 . The acronym ARBA is followed by the volume year, the entry number and the page number. A few quotes are from American graphic design : a guide to the literature, REF Z5956.D5 T46 1992.
- American graphic design : a guide to the literature. Compiled by Ellen Mazur Thomson. Greenwood Press, 1992.
REF Z5956.D5 T46 1992
- A guide to the literature of American graphic design from the past three hundred years.
- Apicella, Vincent F. The concise guide to type identification. Design Press, 1990.
REF Z250 .A67 1990
- Campbell, Alastair. The designer's lexicon : the illustrated dictionary of design, printing, and computer terms. Chronicle Books, 2000.
REF Z246 .C2 2000
- The bookman's glossary. Bowker, 1975.
REF Z118 .B75 1975
- Contemporary designers. 3rd ed. St. James Press, c1997.
REF NK1390 .C655 1997
- Biographical, bibliographical, and critical information on designers. If your designer is in this book, you're off to an excellent start with your research. See page 969 for the list of type designers included.
- Consuegra, David. American type : design and designers. Allworth Press, 2004.
REF Z250.A2 C75 2004
- Contains brief biographies of 63 type designers, a chronology of type-related events, and an interesting preface and introduction.
- Encyclopedia of printing, photographic, and photomechanical processes : a comprehensive reference to reproduction technologies... . Atelier Luis Nadeau, 1989.
REF TR9 .N33 1989 v. 1-2
- Typography : an encyclopedic survey of type design and techniques throughout history / by Friedrich Friedl, Nicolaus Ott, and Bernard Stein. New York : Black Dog & Leventhal : Distributed by Workman Pub. Co., c1998.
REF Z250.A2 F76 1998
- Glaister, Geoffrey Ashall. An encyclopedia of the book. World Publishing, 1960.
REF Z118 .G55 1996
- "Containing nearly 4,000 entries of defined terms, Glaister's encyclopedia remains the definitive source on the book as an object and on bookmaking as a trade. ... Entries vary in length from a few to more than 3,000 words, with the average being about 80 words. There are four appendixes: a sample of different specimens of typeface, a listing of Latin names used in early imprints, British proof-correction symbols, adn a bibliography of further readings for the true bibliophile. For this printing of Glaister's standard work, retired librarian Donald Farren has changed the alphabetizing to a letter-by-letter arrangement, from the previous word-by-word system." ARBA 1997, entry 554, p. 250
- Glossary of typesetting terms. University of Chicago Press, 1994.
REF Z253 .G57 1994
- "In the burgeoning field of typesetting, the venerable University of Chicago Press has provided a possible solution in this easy-to-use glossary for typesetters, editors, proofreaders, and designers. More than 900 entries provide up-to-date meanings for terms such as ASCII, kerning, and widow, and definitions of new phrases such as global search and replace and page description language used in digital technology. ... Cross-references are provided where appropriate and overview paragraphs for terms that require more explanation are used frequently to highlight concepts or provide historical information. Eight appendixes offer guidance to type styles, parts of a book and letter, marking manuscripts, proofreaders' marks, and special characters. There are no references to specific products, equipment, or photocomposition systems." ARBA 1996, entry 667, p. 269.
- International encyclopedia of communications. Oxford University Press, c1989.
REF P87.5 .I5 1989 v.1-4
- **Great place to start; looks at all communication topics from a wide viewpoint, not just design. Check the index (volume 4) for typography.
- Livingston, Alan and Isabella. The Thames and Hudson encyclopaedia of graphic design and designers. Thames and Hudson, 2012.
REF NC997 .L54 2012
- Really more of a dictionary, but a great little book to have. Lots of small black and white illustrations.
- Lyons, Daniel J. Prentice Hall graphic communications dictionary. Prentice Hall, c2000.
REF Z118 .L96 2000
- Pocket pal : a graphic arts production handbook. International Paper Company, 1992.
REF Z244.3 .P64 1992
- Provides a short history of printing, covers type and typesetting, copy preparation, graphic arts photography, proofreaders' marks, stripping and imposition, platemaking, paper, inks, etc.
- Rosen, Ben. Type and typography : the designer's type book : hot metal type. 2nd ed. Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1989.
REF Z250 .R79 1989
- Wallis L. W. Modern encyclopedia of typefaces, 1960-90. Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1990.
REF Z250 .W238 1990
- "Paralleling other entries in the flood of materials on computer-generated type, this encyclopedia highlights 329 typeface specimens. To qualify for inclusion, the typeface had to be available to a major composition system; released in or after 1960; and completely new, as distinguished from reworkings of of older designs. Included in the introductory sections are short paragraphs on phototypesetting, digital fonts, CRT technology, PostScript, letter fitting, and applications of digital type. The distinct British style of writing and spelling is obvious but should not deter American readers. Specimens in the book are composed in size 18 type and are accompanied by basic information about designer, company initiating the font, and year of issue." ARBA 1992, entry 630, p. 246
- Who's who in graphic design : profiles of more than 300 leading graphic designers from 46 countries, including 1500 illustrations. Zurich : Benteli-Werd Verlags, c1994.
REF NC999.2 .W56 1994
- Art of the printed book, 1455-1955 : masterpieces of typography through five centuries from the collections of the Pierpont Morgan Library. [Pierpont Morgan Library], 1973.
Z121 .P58 1973
- Carter, Rob. American typography today. Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1989.
Z208 .C37 1989
- "A presentation of the work of twenty-four American Type designers, with biographic information, their philosophies, and a critical assessment of their achievements. In addition the 'Major Resources' section identifies significant companies, individual designers, styles, and publications. 'Chronology: The American Pioneers,' covers the years 1900 to 1990 in the careers of typographers born before 1940." quoted from American graphic design : a guide to the literature, entry F32, page 60.
- Dowding, Geoffrey. An introduction to the history of printing types. London : British Library ; New Castle, DE : Oak Knoll Press, 1998.
Z250.A2 D6 1997
- Spencer, Herbert. Pioneers of modern typography. MIT Press, 2004.
Z116.A3 S6 2004
- Morison, Stanley. A tally of types Cambridge University Press, 1973.
Z232.C17 M6 1973
- McLean, Ruari. The Thames and Hudson manual of typography Thames and Hudson, 1980.
- Morison, Stanley. Type designs of the past and present [Printed by W. Lewis at the Cambridge university press] 1926.
- Haley, Allan. Typographic milestones Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1992.
Z250.A2 H18 1992
The University Libraries combine their holdings in one online catalog. Use the University Libraries catalog to find books, videos, CDs, scores, journal titles, etc. To locate all of the materials the library holds on a topic, it is most efficient to search by Subject. The subject headings below are linked to take you right to a subject search in the UArts catalog. These subject headings are standard and are used in most libraries.
Notice that the word TYPOGRAPHY is not a term used as a subject heading. Use TYPE AND TYPE-FOUNDING to search library catalogs for typography.ALPHABETS
ILLUMINATION OF BOOKS AND MANUSCRIPTS
NEWSPAPER LAYOUT AND TYPOGRAPHY
TYPE AND TYPE-FOUNDING
TYPE AND TYPE-FOUNDING-- DIGITAL TECHNIQUES
TYPE AND TYPE-FOUNDING--EXHIBITIONS
TYPE AND TYPE-FOUNDING--HISTORY
WOOD TYPES (PRINTING)
Are you looking for articles on current topics or people? Use the periodical indexes and databases!
Be aware that there are different ways to find an article once you pull up a citation in the index:
- See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article or PDF online and download it or e-mail it to yourself.
- Check to see if our library holds the journal title. Look up the journal title in the catalog and look at the holdings. Open a new window in your browser for searching the catalog so you don't have to leave your search results in the index.
- See what other libraries in the area hold the journal.
- Use interlibrary loan to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries.
On the Web:
Go to the library's Electronic Indexes and Databases page for descriptions of Web-based periodical index subscriptions. NOTE: To access them from off-campus, you will need to log in with your UArts email name and password. Do NOT go through the UArts portal.
When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.
Below are just a few typography-related sites that may be of interest to the University of the Arts community.
American Printing History Association: Links to Online Resources and Other Organizations
Art Director' Club of Philadelphia
Be sure to look at their Resources.
The Design Encyclopedia
A wiki, self-described as "A growing, collaborative resource that describes, tracks and explains culture, commerce, politics, media, sports, brands ? everything possible, really ? through design." Wikis are great, but it's best to verify information found in wikis in another source (hey, maybe even through a book).
Design Web Links from Professor Nancy Stock-Allen
Nice set of links from someone who's been teaching the history of graphic design for many years.
Linotype.com: Font Lounge: Font Designers
Primarily a place to buy fonts, this site also has the "Font Designers" section with brief biographies and font examples. Most biographies cite the source used for the information provided.
Thinking with Type
A companion Web site to Ellen Lupton's book, Thinking with Type. Note that the Web site clearly states that the book contains material not on the Web site.
"The Typographer.com website provides an almost weekly digest and commentary on the typography and design industry, written by David Earls." from About Typographer.com
Contains timeline, glossary, bibliography, and more. Hard to say where the information comes from, though.