Teaching & Learning Resources //

The World of Learning.
Routledge, c2005-.
REF AS2 .W6 2015 v.1-2
Psychology of Classroom Learning: An Encyclopedia.
Eric M. Anderman, editor-in-chief; Lynley H. Anderman, co-editor. Gale Cengage Learning, c2009.
REF LB1060 .P89 2009 v.1-2
The Praeger Handbook of Learning and the Brain.
Edited by Sheryl Feinstein. Praeger, 2006.
REF LB1060 .P683 2006 v.1-2
Learning Theories, A to Z.
David C. Leonard. Oryx Press, 2002.
REF LB15 .L4695 2002

Teaching Resources

The following are selected books on college teaching in the University Libraries.

Teaching Artist Handbook. Volume 1, Tools, Techniques and Ideas to Help any Artist Teach.
by Nick Jaffe, Becca Barniskis, and Barbara Hackett Cox. Columbia College Chicago Press, 2013.
N85 .J34 2013
McKeachie's Teaching Tips: Strategies, Research, and Theory for College and University Teachers.
Marilla Svinicki and Wilbert J. McKeachie. Wadsworth, Cengage Learning, 2011.
LB2331 .S99 2011
The Art of Teaching: Best Practices from a Master Educator.
Patrick N. Allitt. The Teaching Company, c2010.
MD646 [4 DVDs & a guidebook]
Optimizing Teaching and Learning: Practicing Pedagogical Research.
Regan A. R. Gurung and Beth M. Schwartz. Wiley-Blackwell, 2009.
LB2331 G797 2009
Exploring Signature Pedagogies: Approaches to Teaching Disciplinary Habits of Mind.
edited by Regan A. R. Gurung, Nancy L. Chick, and Aeron Haynie. Stylus Pub., 2009.
LB2331 .E95 2009
Developing Learner-Centered Teaching: A Practical Guide for Faculty.
Phyllis Blumberg. Jossey-Bass, 2009.
LB2331 .B55 2009
Tools for Teaching.
Barbara Gross Davis. 2nd ed. Jossey-Bass, 2009.
LB2331 .D37 2009
When Teaching Becomes Learning: A Theory and Practice of Teaching.
Eric Sotto. Continuum International, 2007.
LB1025.3 .S68 2007
Teaching First-Year College Students.
Bette LaSere Erickson, et al. Jossey-Bass, 2006.
LB2331 .E76 2006
10 Best Teaching Practices: How Brain Research, Learning Styles, and Standards Define Teaching Competencies.
Donna Walker Tileston. 2nd ed. Corwin Press, c2005.
LB1775.2 .T54 2005
What the Best College Teachers Do.
Ken Bain. Harvard University Press, 2004.
LB2331 .B34 2004

Learning Resources

The following are selected books on college learning in the University Libraries.

Academically Adrift: Limited Learning on College Campuses.
Richard Arum and Josipa Roksa. University of Chicago Press, c2011.
LA227.4 .A78 2011
Different Brains, Different Learners: How to Reach the Hard to Reach.
Eric P. Jensen. 2nd ed. Corwin Press, c2010.
LC4704 .J46 2010
Visual Impact, Visual Teaching: Using Images to Strengthen Learning.
Timothy Gangwer. Corwin Press, c2009.
LB1067.5 .G36 2009
Designing & Teaching Learning Goals & Objectives.
Robert J. Marzano. Marzano Research Laboratory, c2009.
LB1060 .M3385 2009
The Course Syllabus: A Learning-Centered Approach.
Judith Grunert O'Brien, et al. 2nd ed. Jossey-Bass, c2008.
LB2361 .G78 2008
Brain-Based Learning: The New Paradigm of Teaching.
Eric Jensen. 2nd ed. Corwin Press, c2008.
LB1060 .J45 2008

Journals

The following is a list of journal titles about college teaching/learning that the University Libraries subscribes to.
The American Music Teacher.
Cincinnati, Ohio, etc. : Music Teachers' National Association, 1951-.
check for issues library owns
Art Education.
[Reston, Va., etc.] National Art Education Association.
check for issues library owns
College English.
[Urbana, Ill.] National Council of Teachers of English.
check for issues library owns
Hellenic Journal of Music, Education and Culture: HeJMEC.
Athens: Greek Association of Primary Music Education Teachers, 2010-.
E-JOURNAL
International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning.
Statesboro, Ga.: Center for Excellence in Teaching, Georgia Southern University, [2007]-.
E-JOURNAL
Journal for Learning through the Arts: a Research Journal on Arts Integration in Schools and Communities.
Irvine, CA: Center for Learning Through the Arts, University of California, Irvine 2005-.
E-JOURNAL
Journal of Teacher Education.
[Washington: American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education], 1950-.
check for issues library owns/both print + E-JOURNAL
Studies in Art Education.
[Reston, Va., etc.]: National Art Education Association, 1959-.
check for issues library owns
Teaching Artist Journal.
Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2003-.
check for issues library owns/both print + E-JOURNAL
Teaching Music.
Reston, VA: Music Educators National Conference, 1993-.
check for issues library owns

Periodical Indexes: Finding Articles

Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.

Go to the library's Article Databases and Indexes page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases.
For teaching and learning, search EBSCOhost and ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center).

I've found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:

  • See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself.

  • Click the FindIt@UArts icon to see if our library holds the journal title. FindIt@UArts will also tell you if the full-text article is available in a different database.

  • Use the interlibrary loan search tool, WorldCat, to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries or to see what other libraries have the title you need.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.