LITERATURE REFERENCE //

The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, and look up definitions of unknown terms. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials, usually considered by the author to be the best on that topic).

DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS, GLOSSARIES AND HANDBOOKS

Abrams, M. H. A glossary of literary terms. 9th ed. Thomson/Wadsworth, c2009.
REF PN41 .A184 2009

Baldick, Chris. The Oxford dictionary of literary terms. 3rd ed. Oxford University Press, 2008.
REF PN41 .C67 2008

Brewer, Ebenezer Cobham. Brewer's dictionary of phrase and fable. 14th ed. Harper & Row, c1989.
REF PN43 .B65 1989

Ferber, Michael. A dictionary of literary symbols. 2nd ed. Cambridge University Press, 2007.
REF PN56.S9 F47 2007

The Oxford dictionary of phrase and fable. Oxford University Press, 2000.
REF PN43 .O94 2000


Benet's reader's encyclopedia. 3rd ed. Harper & Row, c1987. REF PN41 .B4 1987

Benet's reader's encyclopedia of American literature. 1st ed. HarperCollinsPublishers, c1991.
REF PS21 .B46 1991

Blain, Virginia. The Feminist companion to literature in English: women writers from the Middle Ages to the present. Yale University Press, 1990.
REF PR111 .B57 1990

Encyclopedia of world literature in the 20th century. Rev. ed. Ungar, c1981-c1984.
REF PN771 .E5 1981 v.1-4

Harmon, William. A handbook to literature. 11th ed. Pearson Prentice Hall, c2009.
REF PN41 .H355 2009

Merriam-Webster's encyclopedia of literature. Merriam-Webster, c1995.
REF PN41 .M42 1995

The Oxford companion to African American literature. Oxford University Press, 1997.
REF PS153.N5 O96 1997

Oxford companion to American literature. 6th ed. Oxford University Press, 1995.
REF PS21 .H3 1995

Oxford companion to English literature. 6th ed. Oxford University Press, 2000.
REF PR19 .D73 2000

Ruud, Jay. Encyclopedia of medieval literature. Facts On File, c2006.
REF PN669 .R88 2006


The Princeton encyclopedia of poetry and poetics. Princeton University Press, 2012.
Available online

The Oxford companion to twentieth-century poetry in English. Oxford University Press, 1994.
REF PR601 .O9 1994

Packard, William. The poet's dictionary: a handbook of prosody and poetic devices. 1st ed. Harper & Row, c1989.
REF PN44.5 .P3 1989


BIOGRAPHICAL INFORMATION

LITERARY CRITICISM
multivolume collection in Greenfield Library on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, etc. that contains full-text critical essays as well as biographical information and suggestions for further reading.
NCLC Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism REF PN761 .N56 v.1-95
TCLC Twentieth Century Literary Criticism Available Online
CLC Contemporary Literary Criticism Available Online


CONTEMPORARY DRAMATISTS (6 books):
Contemporary dramatists. REF PR737 .V5 [5 seperate editions]
1973, 1977, 1988, 1993, 1999
Contemporary American dramatists. REF PS352 .C65 1994
Contemporary British dramatists. REF PR736 .C577 1994
Contemporary Black American playwrights and their plays: a biographical directory and dramatic index. REF PS153.N5 P43 1988
Contemporary women dramatists. REF PR736 .C58 1994

Contemporary novelists. 5th ed. St. James Press, c1991. [also 1976, 1972 editions]
REF PN3503 .C761 1991

Contemporary poets. 4th ed. St. Martin's Press, 1985. [also 1975, 1970 edition]
REF PR603 .C6 1985

Current biography. Monthly, with annual cumulations.
Biographies of all types of people: authors, artists, scientists, politicians, athletes, musicians, actors, etc.
REF CT100 .C8

Kamm, Antony. Biographical companion to literature in English. Scarecrow Press, 1997.
REF PR106 .K35 1997

Larousse dictionary of writers. Larousse, 1994.
REF PN451 .L37 1994

Modern black writers. 2nd ed. St. James Press, c2000.
REF PN841 .M58 2000

The University Libraries combine their holdings in one ONLINE CATALOG. Use it to find books, videos, CDs, DVDs, scores, journal titles, etc. To locate all of the materials the library holds on a topic, it is most efficient to search by subject. Use the following SUBJECT HEADINGS to find materials in addition to the Reference Books listed above. These subject headings are standard and are used in most libraries.

AMERICAN DRAMA -- 20TH CENTURY -- BIO-BIBLIOGRAPHY
AMERICAN DRAMA -- 20TH CENTURY -- DICTIONARIES
AMERICAN LITERATURE -- BIO-BIBLIOGRAPHY
AMERICAN LITERATURE -- DICTIONARIES
AUTHORS, AMERICAN -- BIOGRAPHY -- DICTIONARIES
AUTHORS -- BIOGRAPHY -- DICTIONARIES
CRITICISM -- TERMINOLOGY
ENGLISH DRAMA -- 20TH CENTURY -- BIO-BIBLIOGRAPHY
ENGLISH LANGUAGE -- TERMS AND PHRASES
ENGLISH LITERATURE -- DICTIONARIES
LITERATURE -- DICTIONARIES
LITERATURE -- TERMINOLOGY
LITERATURE, MODERN -- 20TH CENTURY -- BIO-BIBLIOGRAPHY
REPORT WRITING -- HANDBOOKS, MANUALS, ETC.

Style Manuals: Citing Your Sources

When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are STYLE MANUALS to show you the correct way to give credit to the author in your paper or project. The following are located in the reference section:

Ballenger, Bruce P. The curious researcher: a guide to writing research papers. 5th ed. Pearson Longman, c2007.
Greenfield REF 808.02 B212c 2007

Chicago manual of style. 16th ed.
Music REF LB 2369 .C45 2010

Hacker, Diana. A writer's reference. 6th ed. Bedford/St. Martin's, c2009.
Greenfield REF 808.02 H115w 2009
ONLINE VERSION: http://www.dianahacker.com/writersref

How to write about music: the RILM manual of style. 2nd ed.
New York : Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale,c2006.
Music REF ML63 .H785 2006

MLA handbook for writers of research papers. 7th ed.
Greenfield REF 808.02 M699 2009
Music REF LB2369 .M52 2009

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association. 6th ed.
Greenfield REF 808.02 P96 2010
Music REF LB2369 .P82 2009x

Strunk, William. The Elements of style. Penguin Press, 2005.
Greenfield REF 808 St89e

Walker, Janice R. The Columbia guide to online style.
Music REF LB2369 .W25C6 2006

Walliman, Nicholas. Your research project: a step-by-step guide for the first-time researcher. Sage Publications, 2001.
Music REF LB2369 .W26 2001

Winkler, Anthony C. Writing the research paper: a handbook. 7th ed. Thomson Wadsworth, c2008.
Greenfield REF 808.02 W729w 2008


MORE INFORMATION ON CITATION STYLES
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.