LGBTQ+ RESOURCES //

Get Started

This a subject guide for finding materials on LGBTQ+ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and other) research in the UArts Libraries. Reference materials (encyclopedias and dictionaries) are listed first, since that's a great way to start, followed by a few selected circulating books. The next tab is a list of subject headings you can use to search the library catalog, followed by a tab on finding articles and finally websites.

Completely Queer: The Gay and Lesbian Encyclopedia.
Steve Hogan. Henry Holt, 1998.
REF HQ75 .H63 1998
Nominated for the 1998 American Library Association Gay and Lesbian Book Award.
Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia.
George E. Haggerty, ed. NY: Garland, 2000.
REF HQ75 .H63 1998
Nominated for the 1998 American Library Association Gay and Lesbian Book Award.
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society.
Jodi A. O'Brien, ed. London: Sage, 2009.
ebook
Nominated for the 1998 American Library Association Gay and Lesbian Book Award.

Circulating Books and Ebooks

After the Party: A Manifesto for Queer of Color Life
Joshua Takano Chambers-Letson. NYU Press, 2018.
HQ 76.25 .C425 2018
Long Road to Freedom: The Advocate History of the Gay and Lesbian Movement
Mark Thompson, ed. NY: St. Martin's Press, 1994.
HQ 76.8 .U5 L65 1994
Queer
David J. Getsy, ed. MIT Press, 2016.
NX 180 .H6 Q44 2016
Documents of Contemoporary Art Series
Queer Studies: A Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Anthology
Brett Beemyn and Mickey Eliason, eds. NYU Press, 1996.
HQ 76.25 .Q383 1996
The Transgender Handbook: A Guide for Transgender People, Their Families, and Professionals
Walter Pierre Bouman and Jon Arcelus, eds. Nova Science Publishers, 2017.
ebook
Trap Door: Trans Cultural Production and the Politifcs of Visibility
Reina Gossett et al., eds. MIT Press, 2017.
NX 650 .G44 T73 2017

Find Articles

Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.

Go to the library's Article Databases and Indexes page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases. Not sure which one to try? Contact Sara MacDonald, UArts Public Services Librarian. Design is a very broad area, and there are likely several databases that would be useful.

I've found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:

  • See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself.
  • Click the FindIt@UArts icon to see if our library holds the journal title. FindIt@UArts will also tell you if the full-text article is available in a different database.
  • Use the interlibrary loan search tool, WorldCat, to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries or to see what other libraries have the title you need.

Style Manuals

Style Manuals: Citing Your Sources

When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.

Websites

Searching the Web can be overwhelming. If you are using the Internet for research you want to choose sites that meet the standards of accuracy, currency and authority.

ACLU icon ACLU: Issues: LGBT Rights
"The ACLU [American Civil Liberties Union] works to ensure that lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people can live openly without discrimination and enjoy equal rights, personal autonomy, and freedom of expression and association."
your image description ACT UP Philadelphia
"ACT UP stands for the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power. We are a diverse, non-partisan group, united in anger, and committed to ending the AIDS crisis through direct action."--from "About Us"
your image description City of Philadelphia: Office of LGBT Affairs
"The Office of LGBT Affairs works to foster equal working and living conditions for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) people and to advocate for LGBTQ issues in all areas of City government. Created in 2008 by mayoral executive order, the Office of LGBT Affairs became a permanent part of the City’s charter in 2015." See their Resources page.
your image description Healthy Minds Philly: LGBTQIA Resources
From the City of Philadelphia's Division of Behavioral Health and Intellectual disAbility Services, this roundup of local resources is quite comprehensive.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.