ILLUSTRATION GUIDE //

This is a selective list of books on 20th c. & 21st c. illustration in the Greenfield Library.

Books on Mid-20th Century to Contemporary Illustration

Illustration Next: Contemporary Creative Collaboration.
Ana Benaroya. Thames & Hudson, 2013.
NC960 .I458 2013
Examples of the 'Illustration Renaissance' in the last decade through the works of 50 contemporary illustrators.
Beyond Illustration: The Finest in Contemporary International Art & Illustration.
Patrick Hartl, editor. Publikat, 2009.
NC45 .B49 2009
Features the work of 24 contemporary international illustrators.
Illusive: Contemporary Illustration. Part 4.
Robert Klanten and John O'Reilly, editors. Gestalten Verlag, c2015.
NC485 .I47 2015
Overview of current developments in the international field.
Also look at Illusive and Illusive 2 in this library.

Look Inside: Cutaway Illustrations and Visual Storytelling.
Juan Velasco and Samuel Velasco. Gestalten, 2016.
T11.8 .V85 2016
A beautiful well-illustrated book that "reveals the internal anatomy of buildings, objects & ideas" through historical and contemporary examples.

Masters of Science Fiction and Fantasy Art: A Collection of the Most Inspiring Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Gaming Illustrators in the World
Karen Haber. Rockport Publishers, 2011.
NC961.7.S34 H33 2011
Also available as an E-Book.

Spectrum 20: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art
edited by Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner. Underwood Books, 2013.
NC825 .S34 S64 2013 v.20
A juried selection published annually.


Spectrum 21: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art
edited by John Fleskes. Flesk Publications, 2014.
NC825 .S34 S64 2014 v.21
A juried selection published annually.


Anthologies

Fifty Years of Illustration.
Lawrence Zeegen and Caroline Roberts. Laurence King Publishing, 2014.
NC960 .Z425 2014
Pick this book up just to experience the amazing color and quality of the illustrations!
Graphic Style: from Victorian to New Century.
Steven Heller, Seymour Chwast. Abrams, c2011.
NC998.2 .H448 2011
A more recent Steven Heller history of illustration form and style not to be missed.
The Poster: 1,000 Posters from Toulouse-Lautrec to Sagmeister.
edited by Cees V. de Jong, Alston W. Purvis, Martijn F. Le Coultre. Abrams, c2010.
NC1810 .P67 2010
A beautifully illustrated book of international poster art over the past 130 years.
Sci-Fi Art: A Graphic History.
Steve Holland. HarperCollins, 2009.
NC825.S34 H64 2009
This history traces the evolution of a popular art form from Verne to current media.
Illustration: A Visual History.
Steven Heller, Seymour Chwast. Abrams, 2008.
NC998 .H66 2008
Noted art director, Steven Heller, discusses illustration form and style over the past 200 years.
The Illustrator in America, 1860-2000.
Walt Reed. The Society of Illustrators, 2001.
NC975 .R4 2001
14 decades of illustration are covered through superb color images and accompanying text.
101 Great Illustrators from the Golden Age, 1890-1925.
Jeff A. Menges. Dover Publications, 2016.
NC961.6 .M46 2016
Great color illustrations, biographies, and the inclusion of female illustrators make this a must-see work.

Illustration for Children

Children's Picturebooks: the Art of Visual Storytelling.
Martin Salisbury w/ Morag Styles. Laurence King Pub., 2012.
PN1009.A1 S255 2012
An introduction that includes the background, as well as key concepts and practices that go into the creation of children's books.
Show & Tell: Exploring the Fine Art of Children's Book Illustration.
Dilys Evans. Chronicle Books, 2008.
NC975 .E93 2008
A selective look at 12 contemporary illustrators of children's books.
Play Pen: New Children's Book Illustration.
Martin Salisbury. Laurence King, 2007.
NC965 .S235 2007
This book highlights the careers and work of 36 international illustrators of children's books.
Once Upon a Time: Illustrations from Fairytales, Fables, Primers, Pop-ups, and Other Children's Books.
Amy Weinstein. Princeton Architectural Press, 2005.
NC975 .W45 2005
This book focuses on Victorian-era illustrations in childrens' books published by the McLoughlin Brothers.
A Treasury of the Great Children's Book Illustrators.
Susan E. Meyer. H.N. Abrams, 1987.
NC965 .M49 1987
This book highlights the careers and work of 13 English-language illustrators of children's books in the era prior to WWI.
A Treasury of Illustrated Children's Books: Early Nineteenth Century Classics from the Osborne Collection.
Leonard de Vries. New York: Abbeville Press, [1989].
Z1037 .V75 1989
30 British children's books from the years 1800 to 1825 covered in depth.

Nature

Human Anatomy: a Visual History from the Renaissance to the Digital Age.
Benjamin A. Rifkin; Michael J. Ackerman. Abrams, [2011].
NC760 .R54 2011
A generously illustrated book covering over 400 years in the history of anatomical illustration.
The Art of Botanical Illustration.
Wilfrid Blunt and William P. Stearn. ACC Art Books, 2015.
QK98.2 .B58 2015
Produced by the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, this beautiful book provides a general survey of plant portraits from the 15th c. onwards.
Cosmigraphics: Picturing Space Through Time
Michael Benson. Abrams, 2014.
N8217.C62 B46 2014

A colorful record beginning in the 10th c. of the paper trail left by Astonomy. This book is full of amazing inspirational illustrations.
Animal Anatomy for Artists: The Elements of Form
Eliot Goldfinger. Oxford University Press, 2004.
NC780 .G65 2004
Clear, detailed drawings, photos, & schematics of a variety of animals & birds aimed at students
Masterpieces of Bird Art: 700 Years of Ornithological Illustration.
Roger F. Pasquier and John Farrand, Jr.. Abbeville Press, 1991.
QL674.4 .P37 1991
Detailed studies w/ accompanying text presenting the most important contributions to this field up to the end of the 20th century.

Career

Artist's & Graphic Designer's Market: How to Sell your Art and Make a Living.
Mary Burzlaff Bostic, editor. Writer's Digest Books, 2018.
REF N8600 .A76 2018
Children's Writer's & Illustrator's Market.
Cris Freese, editor. Writer's Digest Books, 2018.
PN147.5 .C48 2018
Art, Inc.: the Essential Guide for Building your Career as an Artist.
Lisa Congdon. Chronicle Books, [2014].
N8350 .C58 2014
The Business Side of Creativity: the Comprehensive Guide to Starting and Running a Small Graphic Design or Communications Business.
Cameron S. Foote. W.W. Norton & Company, Inc., [2014].
NC998.5.A1 F66 2014
How to be an Illustrator.
Darrel Rees. Laurence King Publishing, Ltd., 2014.
NC960 .R44 2014
The Fundamentals of Illustration.
Lawrence Zeegen. AVA Pub., 2012.
E-BOOK
The Successful Artist's Career Guide: Finding your Way in the Business of Art.
Margaret Peot. North Light Books, [2012].
N8350 .P46 2012
Things I have Learned in my Life So Far.
Stefan Sagmeister. [Abrams], [2008].
VR&SC 741.6092 Sa18t    library-use only

Searching the Catalog by Subject

The University Libraries combine their holdings in one ONLINE CATALOG. To locate all of the materials the library holds on a topic, it is most efficient to search by subject. Enter the SUBJECT HEADINGS following the exact spelling and form. These subject headings are standard and are used in most libraries.
The links below include E-Books:
ANATOMY, ARTISTIC
ART - VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE
BOTANICAL ILLUSTRATION
FANTASY IN ART
ILLUSTRATED BOOKS
ILLUSTRATED CHILDREN'S BOOKS
ILLUSTRATION OF BOOKS
ILLUSTRATORS
MAGAZINE ILLUSTRATION
MEDICAL ILLUSTRATION
POSTERS
SCIENTIFIC ILLUSTRATION
ZOOLOGICAL ILLUSTRATION

Finding Images

Go to the library's Image Databases page to find online collections of digital images.

Finding Articles

Go to the library's Article Databases and Indexes page
Check out the following for this topic:

ProQuest: The Arts
EBSCOhost

There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:

  • See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself.
  • Click the FindIt@UArts icon to see if our library holds the journal title. FindIt@UArts will also tell you if the full-text article is available in a different database.
  • Use the interlibrary loan search tool, WorldCat, to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries or to see what other libraries have the title you need.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.