COSTUME
RESOURCES //

This is a guide to costume-related materials in the Greenfield Library at The University of the Arts. If you have questions about this topic please contact Sara MacDonald, Public Services Librarian, at smacdonald@uarts.edu.

If you're interested in this topic, you should also consult the more general Theater Research subject guide.

The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic) that you can use to find other materials.

Call numbers are for the Greenfield Library unless otherwise indicated.

Callan, Georgina O'Hara. The Encyclopaedia of Fashion. Introduction by Carrie Donovan. New York: H.N. Abrams, 1986.
REF GT507 .O53 1986

Callan, Georgina O'Hara. The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Fashion and Fashion Designers 2nd ed.
REF GT507 .O53 2008

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion / Valerie Steele, editor in chief. Detroit: Thomson/Gale, c2005.
REF GT507 .E53 2005 v. 1-3

Racinet, Auguste. The Historical Encyclopedia of Costumes. Introduction by Dr. Aileen Ribeiro. New York: Facts on File, 1988.
REF GT510 .R3313 1988

Yarwood, Doreen. Encyclopedia of World Costume. New York: Scribner, c1978.
REF GT507 .Y37

The Fashion Book. London: Phaidon, 1998.
REF TT503 .F37 1998
What do the Beatles, Oscar Wilde, Manolo Blahnik, Lily Pulitzer, and Richard Avedon have in common? They're all in this book, which takes a wide-ranging look at "the fashion world and the people who created and inspired it". Entries consist of a large photo plus brief bio/description of that person's impact on fashion. Great for browsing through.

Seiler-Baldinger, Annemarie. Textiles: A Classification of Techniques. Washington, DC: Smithsonian Institution Press, c1994.
REF TS1449 .S4613 1995

Wilcox, R. Turner. Dictionary of Costume. New York: Scribner, c1969.
REF GT507 .W5 1986

Once you have gotten everything you can get from the reference books, use the University Libraries catalog to find books, videos, CDs, scores, journal titles, etc. To locate all of the materials the library holds on a topic, it is most efficient to search by subject. Use the following subject headings in the online catalog. Be careful to follow the exact spelling and form. These subject headings are standard and are used in most libraries.

BODY, HUMAN--SOCIAL ASPECTS
CLOTHING AND DRESS
CLOTHING AND DRESS--PSYCHOLOGY
CLOTHING AND DRESS--SOCIAL ASPECTS
CLOTHING AND DRESS--SYMBOLIC ASPECTS
CLOTHING AND DRESS IN ART
CLOTHING AND DRESS IN LITERATURE
COSTUME--PICTORIAL WORKS
COSTUME--PSYCHOLOGICAL ASPECTS

COSTUME--HISTORY--20TH CENTURY
COSTUME--SEX DIFFERENCES
COSTUME DESIGN
COSTUME DESIGN--HISTORY
COSTUME DESIGN--HISTORY--SOURCES
COSTUME DESIGNERS
ETHNIC COSTUME
FASHION--SOCIAL ASPECTS
FASHION--SOCIAL ASPECTS--20TH CENTURY
MEN'S CLOTHING
TEXTILE CRAFTS
TEXTILE FABRICS
TEXTILE FABRICS--SOCIAL ASPECTS
TEXTILE FABRICS IN ART
WOMEN'S CLOTHING

Periodical Indexes: Finding Articles

Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.

Go to the library's Article Databases and Indexes page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases. Not sure which one to try? Give us a call (215-717-6280) or contact Sara MacDonald, UArts Public Services Librarian.

I've found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:

  • See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself.

  • Click the FindIt@UArts icon to see if our library holds the journal title. FindIt@UArts will also tell you if the full-text article is available in a different database.

  • Use the interlibrary loan search tool, WorldCat, to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries or to see what other libraries have the title you need.

Style Manuals: Citing Your Sources

When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.