CONSUMER CULTURE GUIDE //
Not sure where to begin? Ask a librarian, or do some work on your own in the reference section. Reference includes materials such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, collections of criticism, and more. A reference source might give you a great bibliography of sources as well.
The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising.
Editors, John McDonough and the Museum of Broadcast Communications, Karen Egolf. Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003
Greenfield REF HF5803 .A38 2003
Great place to start for background of particular ad campaigns.
Erik Barnouw, editor-in-chief. Oxford University Press, c1989.
Greenfield REF P87.5 .I5 1989
A very broad and interesting view of communication. This would be useful for advertising and marketing.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture.
St. James Press, 2000.
Greenfield REF E169.1 .S764 2000 v. 1-5
Also available online.
Start here for any popular culture topic; also includes a good essay on consumerism.
Although our default catalog search is a keyword search, subject headings can help you to quickly find books in the UArts Libraries catalog. If you prefer more of a browse search for the topic of consumer culture, try this keyword search:
(consumer** or consumption) and cultur**
This search retrieves a lot of results. For a more controlled search, try the subject headings below.
Many of your search results from the UArts Libraries catalog will be in ebrary, one of our ebook subscriptions. You can create your own account in ebrary and add books of interest to your personal ebrary bookshelf. Watch this ebrary video tutorial to learn more.
ADVERTISING--SOCIAL ASPECTS
ARTS--MARKETING
CAPITALISM--SOCIAL ASPECTS
CELEBRITIES IN MASS MEDIA
CHILD CONSUMERS
CONSUMER BEHAVIOR
CONSUMER BEHAVIOR--SOCIAL ASPECTS
CONSUMER BEHAVIOR--UNITED STATES
CONSUMPTION--ECONOMICS
CONSUMPTION--ECONOMICS--POLITICAL ASPECTS
CONSUMPTION--ECONOMICS--SOCIAL ASPECTS
CULTURE--ECONOMIC ASPECTS
MASS MEDIA--AUDIENCES
MASS MEDIA--INFLUENCE
MASS MEDIA--SOCIAL ASPECTS
MASS MEDIA AND CULTURE
MASS MEDIA AND CULTURE
MASS MEDIA AND CULTURE
MASS MEDIA AND CULTURE
MASS MEDIA AND MUSIC
MUSIC IN ADVERTISING
POPULAR CULTURE--ECONOMIC ASPECTS
POPULAR CULTURE--UNITED STATES
YOUNG ADULT CONSUMERS
Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers. Which index you should search depends on your topic. In general, we recommend starting with EBSCOhost, and for the most current material you'll want to try Nexis Uni. You can also try the UArts Libraries' OneSearch, which searches many databases for books, articles, videos, recordings, and more. See the complete list of article databases at https://library.uarts.edu/eresources/articledb.html.
Remember: start with a simple search of one phrase ("consumer culture") or just a couple of words (consumers and culture). If you get a lot of results, you'll know that you can add terms to narrow your results.
When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.
"The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment 'Library 2000' Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955."
"We are a global network of culture jammers and creatives working to change the way information flows, the way corporations wield power, and the way meaning is produced in our society."
This brief essay is part of an "American Experience" program on Tupperware. Note the links on the left to other historical articles, including Related Books and Websites.