BOOK ARTS //
This is a subject guide for finding materials on book arts in the Greenfield Library at the University of the Arts. Book Arts is a broad term that encompasses the crafts of bookbinding, papermaking, and marbling, the techniques of conservation and restoration, book design, the history of the book, rare books and artists' books.
Please also see information on our Book Arts Collection in Visual Resources & Special Collections, mezzanine of Anderson Hall.
The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material:specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, and look up definitions of unknown terms. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials, usually considered by the author to be the best on that topic).
The following is a list of relevant books in the Greenfield Library. REF before a call number indicates the books location in the Reference Stacks.
The bookman's glossary. 5th ed. R. R. Bowker, 1975.
REF Z118 .B75 1975
Glaister, Geoffrey Ashall. Encyclopedia of the book. 2nd ed. Oak Knoll Press, 1996.
REF Z118 .G55 1996
Greenfield, Jane. ABC of bookbinding: a unique glossary with over 700 illustrations for collectors & librarians. Lyons Press,1998.
REF Z266.7 .G74 1998
Roberts, Matt T. Bookbinding and the conservation of books: a dictionary of descriptive terminology. Library of Congress, 1982.
REF Z266.7 .R62 1982
The Artist and the book in twentieth-century Italy. Umberto Allemandi, 1992.
NE892.I8 A78 1992
Bury, Stephen. Artists' books: the book as a work of art, 1963-1995. Scolar Press, c1995.
N7433.3 .B87 1995
Castleman, Riva. A century of artists books. Museum of Modern Art, c1994.
N7433.3 .C38 1994
De Hamel, Christopher. A history of illuminated manuscripts. 2. ed. rev., enl. and with new ill. Phaidon, 1994.
N2900 .D36 1994
Hiebert, Helen. The papermaker's companion: the ultimate guide to making and using handmade paper. Storey Books, c2000
TS1124.5 .H53 2000
Hubert, Renee Riese. The cutting edge of reading: artists' books. Granary Books, 1999.
N7433.3 .H83 1999
Johnson, Arthur W. The Thames and Hudson manual of bookbinding: with 270 illustrations, in color and black and white. Thames and Hudson, 1981, c1978.
Z271 .J66 1981
Lhotka, Edward R. ABC of leather bookbinding: an illustrated manual on traditional bookbinding. 1st ed. Oak Knoll Press, 2000.
Z266 .L64 2000
A millennium of the book: production, design & illustration in manuscript & print, 900-1900. Oak Knoll Press, 1994.
Z4 .M58 1994
Needham, Paul. William Morris and the art of the book: with essays on William Morris, as book collector by Paul Needham, as calligrapher by Joseph Dunlap, and as typographer by John Dreyfus. Pierpont Morgan Library, c1976.
The Penland book of handmade books: master classes in bookmaking techniques.Lark Books, c2004.
Z271 .P45 2008
Peyre, Yves. Art Deco bookbindings: the work of Pierre Legrain and Rose Adler. Princeton Architectural, 2004
Z269.3.F55 P49 2004
Rosenbach, A. S. W. (Abraham Simon Wolf). Early American children's books. The Southworth Press, 1933.
VRSC REF 028.5 R72e
Smith, Margaret M. The title-page, its early development, 1460-1510. Oak Knoll Press, 2000.
Z242.T6 S55 2000
Wolfe, Richard J. Marbled paper: its history, techniques, and patterns: with special reference to the relationship of marbling to bookbinding in Europe and the Western world. University of Pennsylvania Press, c1990.
Z271 .W638 1990
Young, Laura S. Bookbinding & conservation by hand: a working guide. Rev. ed. Oak Knoll Press, 1995.
Z271 .Y68 1995
Basic book repair with Jane Greenfield.
written and directed by Mark Schaeffer
Jane Greenfield demonstrates the repair of a torn page, a cut page, a broken hinge, a shaken hinge, and a flapping spine.
Beyond words: the marriage of art and literature in bookmaking.
produced and directed by Anita Saewitz
Video Planning, Inc. : Carob Video, c1994.
Discusses the art form of "livres d'artistes", or, books with graphic works that are hand made creations produced in limited editions and are collaborations between writers and artists.
GREENFIELD BOOK ARTS COLLECTION: a growing collection of handmade, one-of-a kind and limited edition artists books. These must be used in the library.
The University Libraries combine their holdings in one ONLINE CATALOG. Use it to find books, videos, CDs, scores, journal titles, etc. To locate all of the materials the library holds on a topic, it is most efficient to search by subject. Use the following SUBJECT HEADINGS to find materials in addition to the Reference Books listed above. These subject headings are standard and are used in most libraries.ARTISTS' BOOKS
ARTISTS' ILLUSTRATED BOOKS
BOOK INDUSTRIES AND TRADE
BOOK CONSERVATION AND RESTORATION
ILLUMINATION OF BOOKS & MANUSCRIPTS
ILLUSTRATION OF BOOKS
On the library home page you can enter a search in OneSearch, which will find books, articles, videos, etc. You may also choose to go the library's Article Databases page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases. Check out the following for this topic:
EBSCOhost has full-text and scholarly articles covering a wide range of subjects.
JSTOR is all full-text, scholarly articles.
When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.
There are different kinds of book arts web sites:
- SITES CREATED BY NON-PROFIT CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS AND UNIVERSITIES
- include workshop/course offerings, photos of works, profiles of artists, teachers, & designers, and lists of related links
- SITES EXPLAINING TECHNICAL INFORMATION
- in the form of tutorials, articles, or photographs
- SITES SPONSORED BY GUILDS
- good resource in support of book arts and include online exhibits, lists of publications, info on listservs, and online directories of educational opportunities
- COMMERCIAL SITES OF INTEREST
- advertise artists works, but also link to artist sites and forums
The Bonefolder: An E-Journal for the Bookbinder and Book Artist
Guild of Book Workers
Jones on Bookbinding
The Paper Project at Arizona State University
The San Francisco Center for the Book
Society of Bookbinders (United Kingdom)
Under the Covers: The Hidden Art of Endpapers