ANIMATION //
Animation: A Reference Guide.
Thomas W. Hoffer. Facts on File, c1985.
REF TR897.5 .H63
A short history of animation and a review of the literature and reference material on animation. Excellent resource.
The Animated Film Encyclopedia: A Complete Guide to American Shorts, Features, and Sequences, 1900-1979.
Graham Webb. McFarland, 2000.
REF NC1766.U5 W44 2000
Supposedly contains information on every U.S. theatrical cartoon release between 1900 and 1979.
The Anime Encyclopedia: A Guide to Japanese Animation Since 1917.
Jonathan Clements and Helen McCarthy. Stone Bridge Press, c2001.
REF NC1766.J3 C53 2001
Covers more than 2,000 titles. See the name index for animators, directors and writers.
Encyclopedia of Comic Books and Graphic Novels.
M. Keith Booker, ed. Greenwood, 2010.
REF PN6707 .E49 2010 v. 1-2
Historical Dictionary of Animation and Cartoons.
Nichola Dobson. Scarecrow Press, 2009.
REF PN1997.5 .D63 2009
Entries on animators, directors, studios, plus a chronology and bibliography.
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers.
4th ed. St. James Press, c2000.
REF PN1997.8 .I58 2000 v.1-4
Looking for an animator? See Volume 4, Writers and Production Artists.
Masters of Animation.
Watson-Guptill Publications, 2001.
REF TR897.5 .G73 2001
In addition to Walt Disney and Tex Avery, this book includes Ralph Bakshi, Terry Gilliam, Jim Henson, Hayao Miyazaki, and Jan Svankmajer.
Who's Who in Animated Cartoons.
Jeff Lenburg. Applause Theatre & Cinema Books, 2006.
REF NC1765 .L357 2006
"An international guide to film and television's award-winning and legendary animators."
Titles about Looking for Work in Animation
Becoming a Digital Designer: a Guide to Careers in Design.
Steven Heller + David Womack. John Wiley & Sons, [2008].
NC1001 .H45 2015
Interviews and case studies. See Motion Design Chapter 7 p. 156; Illustration Chapter 12 p. 272.
The Animation Business Handbook.
Karen Raugust. Focal Press, [2011].
PN1993.5.U6 R365 2004
In-depth look at projects, personnel, budgets, etc. in the U.S. animation industry.
Subject Headings about Animation
Try these out as a way to explore the library catalog.
ANIMATED FILMSANIMATED FILMS--HISTORY AND CRITICISM
ANIMATED FILMS--JAPAN
ANIMATED FILMS--TECHNIQUE Note: The subheading "technique" is used for materials on how to do something, e.g., PAINTING--TECHNIQUE will retrieve books on how to paint.
ANIMATED FILMS---UNITED STATES
ANIMATED FILMS--UNITED STATES--HISTORY
ANIMATED TELEVISION PROGRAMS
ANIMATION (CINEMATOGRAPHY)
ANIMATION (CINEMATOGRAPHY)--HANDBOOKS, MANUALS, ETC.
ANIMATION (CINEMATOGRAPHY)--HISTORY
ANIMATION (CINEMATOGRAPHY)--TECHNIQUE
ANIMATORS
ANIMATORS--BIOGRAPHY
CARICATURES AND CARTOONS
CINEMATOGRAPHY
COMEDY FILMS
COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC.
COMIC BOOKS, STRIPS, ETC.--JAPAN
COMPUTER ANIMATION
COMPUTER ART--TECHNIQUE
COMPUTER DRAWING
GRAPHIC NOVELS
MOTION PICTURE INDUSTRY
MOTION PICTURE MUSIC
MOTION PICTURES
WALT DISNEY PRODUCTIONS
Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.
Go to the library's Article Databases page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases. Check out the following for this topic:
EBSCOhost includes popular and scholarly articles covering a wide range of disciplines.
JSTOR is all full-text scholarly articles.
Nexis Uni is mostly newspaper articles. It is full-text and updated daily.
ProQuest: The Arts focuses on the visual and performing arts.
I found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:
See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself. Click the FindIt@UArts icon to see if our library holds the journal title. FindIt@UArts will also tell you if the full-text article is available in a different database.
Use interlibrary loan to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries.
Style Manuals: Citing Your Sources
When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.
ASIFA-Hollywood
"The International Animated Film Society, ASIFA-Hollywood is a California non profit organization established over thirty five years ago to promote and encourage the art and craft of animation."--from About Us. Follow them on their Tumblr page.
Part of Richard Llewellyn's overall site, Richard's Animated Divots, an excellent collection. See also his Animation on the World Wide Web.
