ILUS251: History of Illustration Guide //

This is a research guide created specifically for the History Of Illustration survey class. It lists books on European and American illustration from the mid-1800s to the present available in the Greenfield Library. REF before the call number indicates location in the Reference Section and library in-use only.

AMERICAN

America's Great Illustrators.
Susan E. Meyer. Excalibur Books: Galahad Books, 1987, c1978.
NC975 .M49
Great book for research on 10 male illustrators from 1870-1960; good quality illustrations--about half in color.
The American Illustrated Book in the Nineteenth Century.
edited by Gerald W.R. Ward. Winterthur Museum c1987.
Z479 .N67 1982
Good when starting research; not many images.
Americans Abroad: J. C. Leyendecker and the European Academic Influence on American Illustration.
curated by Judy Francis Zankel and Terry Brown. Museum of American Illustration at the Society of Illustrators 2008.
NC975.5.L4 A4 2008
Interesting focus on a specific era in American illustration.
A Century of American Illustration.
Brooklyn Museum [1972].
NC975 .B76
This exhibition catalog contains mostly images (about 3 in color); it lists brief biographies of the artists and covers the years 1850-1972.
Famous American Illustrators.
Apri Ermoyan. Watson-Guptill Publications, c1997.
NC975 .E74 1997
87 American illustrators including 5 women inducted in the Society of Illustrators Hall of Fame from 1958-1996 are covered through superb color images and accompanying text.
The Illustrator in America, 1860-2000.
Walt Reed. The Society of Illustrators, 2001.
NC975 .R4 2001
14 decades of illustration are covered through superb color images and concise text.
The Illustrator in America, 1900-1960's.
Walt Reed. Reinhold Pub. Corp. [1967, c1966].
NC975 .R4 c.3
7 decades of illustration are covered. While image quality is not exceptional, notable for who wrote the chapter introductions.
Innovators of American Illustration.
Steven Heller. Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1986.
REF NC975 .I56 1986
21 illustrators including 2 women are covered by extensive text and numerous images. Time period from early 1950s to early 1980s.
Stories to Tell: Masterworks from the Kelly Collection of American Illustration.
Dahesh Museum of Art, 2006.
NC975 .S86 2006
Beautiful images and small bios of important American illustrators from 1890 to 1935.

EUROPEAN

Book Illustrators of the Twentieth Century.
Brigid Peppin; Lucy Micklethwait. Arco Pub., 1984.
REF NC978 .P46 1984
First reference book to attempt comprehensive coverage of British book illustrators published between 1900-1975. Concise entries with blk & wht images.
The Dictionary of British Book Illustrators and Caricaturists, 1800-1914.
Simon Houfe. Antique Collectors' Club, c1978.
REF NC978 .H65
Front half of book contains chapters on history; the remainder includes small entries and blk & wht images.
Expressionist Book Illustration in Germany, 1907-1927.
Lothar Lang. Boston: New York Graphic Society, 1976.
NC981 .L2513
The first attempt to focus & describe German Expressionist illustration in blk & wht images.
The Illustrators: the British Art of Illustration, 1800-2002.
Chris Beetles, 2002.
NC978 .I463 2002
Concise coverage of two centuries of British book illustrators.
Sing a Song for Sixpence: the English Picture Book Tradition and Randolph Caldecott.
Brian Alderson. Cambridge University Press in association with the British Library, 1986
Z1037 .A39 1986
To commemorate the centenary of Randolph Caldecott's death, this book gives a scholarly thesis of his influence on children's book illustration.

GENERAL

Fifty Years of Illustration.
Lawrence Zeegen and Caroline Roberts. Laurence King Publishing, 2014.
NC960 .Z425 2014
Pick this book up just to experience the amazing color and quality of the illustrations!
500 Years of Art & Illustration, from Albrecht Dürer to Rockwell Kent.
Howard Simon. World publishing [1942].
NC960 .S5
Older book covers 1440-1940 mainly through woodcuts. Emphasis on 23 selected past illustrators and chapters on international modern ones.
Graphic Style: from Victorian to New Century.
Steven Heller, Seymour Chwast. Abrams, c2011.
NC998.2 .H448 2011
Noted art director, Steven Heller creates a history of illustration the quality and breadth not to be missed.
Illustration: A Visual History.
Steven Heller, Seymour Chwast. Abrams, 2008.
NC998 .H66 2008
Noted art director, Steven Heller, discusses illustration form and style over the past 200 years.
The Poster: 1,000 Posters from Toulouse-Lautrec to Sagmeister.
edited by Cees V. de Jong, Alston W. Purvis, Martijn F. Le Coultre. Abrams, c2010.
NC1810 .P67 2010
A beautifully illustrated book of international poster art over the past 130 years.
Sci-Fi Art: A Graphic History.
Steve Holland. HarperCollins, 2009.
NC825.S34 H64 2009
This history traces the evolution of a popular art form from Verne to current media.
The Twentieth Century Book, its Illustration and Design.
John Lewis. Reinhold [1967].
NC95 .L4
Analysis of global trends makes this a great book for research. .

CHILDREN

Illustrated Children's Books.
Duncan McCorquodale, Sophie Hallam & Libby Waite, editors. Black Dog, [2009].
REF PN1009.A1 I35 2009
Covers the years 1659 to 2000 with a mainly British focus.
Illustrators of Children's Books. Horn Book.
This series compiles essays, biographies, bibliographies and industry news.
Myth, Magic, and Mystery: One Hundred Years of American Children's Book Illustration.
Roberts Rinehart Publishers, 1996.
NC975 .M98 1996
The first comprehensive exhibition to survey American children's illustration.

Searching the Catalog by Subject

The University Libraries combine their holdings in one ONLINE CATALOG. Use it to find books, videos, CDs, scores, journal titles, etc. To locate all of the materials the library holds on a topic, it is most efficient to search by subject. Enter the SUBJECT HEADINGS following the exact spelling and form. These subject headings are standard and are used in most libraries.
The links below include E-Books:
ILLUSTRATED BOOKS--HISTORY--20TH CENTURY
ILLUSTRATION OF BOOKS--GREAT BRITAIN
ILLUSTRATION OF BOOKS--UNITED STATES
ILLUSTRATION OF BOOKS--19TH CENTURY
ILLUSTRATION OF BOOKS--20TH CENTURY
ILLUSTRATORS--GREAT BRITAIN
ILLUSTRATORS--UNITED STATES
ILLUSTRATORS--BIOGRAPHY
ILLUSTRATORS--UNITED STATES--BIOGRAPHY
MAGAZINE ILLUSTRATION--UNITED STATES
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.