AHST 398: DECOLONIZING ART //
Getting Started
We recommend getting started with reference sources: specialized encyclopedias and dictionaries that will introduce you to a topic and cover the most important concepts.
Oxford Art Online.
This has an excellent article on colonialism as it relates to the visual arts. For more general or more political topics, try Credo Reference below.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference contains more than 700 different encyclopedias and dictionaries. In addition to the printed content, you can often find interactive mind maps. Try searching colonialism, imperialism, or postcolonialism.
The Greenfield Library has a number of titles such as Cultural Atlas of Africa, Cultural Atlas of Islam, Cultural Atlas of India, Cultural Atlas of Spain and Portugal, etc., that can be good starting points for learning about a country.
C. Scribner's Sons, 1996.
REF F 1406 .E53 1996 v. 1-5
In addition to these, there are many resources available as ebooks through OneSearch.
Find Books
The subject headings listed below are linked to run those terms in the UArts library catalog. The words used for these subject headings are standard and are used in most American libraries.
Remember: searching the catalog will find books, ebooks, videos, and music materials, but it will NOT find articles. Start with OneSearch on the UArts Libraries home page to include articles.
COLONIALISM--HISTORYDECOLONIZATION
DECOLONIZATION IN ART
DECOLONIZATION IN LITERATURE
IMPERIALISM--HISTORY
POSTCOLONIALISM POSTCOLONIALISM AND THE ARTS
POSTCOLONIALISM IN LITERATURE
POSTCOLONIALISM IN MOTION PICTURES
Find Articles
Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.
Go to the library's Article Databases and Indexes page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases. Not sure which one to try? Contact Sara MacDonald, UArts Public Services Librarian.
Before you begin searching, think carefully about your topic. What will you do if you don't find enough, or if you find too much? Are there synonyms or variant spellings for your terms?
We recommend starting with a simple search and then narrowing it down.For example, try decoloniz* and art* and see what you get, then narrow it down from there.
I've found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:
- See if there's a PDF or full-text HMTL of the article and download it or e-mail it to yourself.
- Click the Full Text Finder icon to retrieve the article from another database.
Style Manuals
Style Manuals: Citing Your Sources
When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.