WOMEN IN THE ARTS //

 

These broad subject headings are subdivided by country, history, art movement, and time period. Especially check the subdivision Related Subjects for the following:

Feminism and Art
Feminism in Art
Sex Role in Art
Women
Women Artists
Women Authors
Women Composers
Women Dancers
Women -- Drama
Women in Art
Women in the Theater
Women Musicians
Also search for individual women artists by last name as subjects. For example: Kahlo, Frida.

This is a selective list of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other books on women in the arts. REF before the call number indicates location in the Reference Section and library in-use only.

It is important also to search journals and magazines when looking for information on women in the arts or a specific artist. To find articles on these topics, use the Article Databases.


Women Artists in the 20th and 21st Century.
Uta Grosenick, editor. Taschen, c2001.
REF 700.88042 W842g
Grosenick has selected an international group of contemporary women artists and written lengthy essays on their lives and artwork.
Contemporary Women Artists.
Laurie Collier Hillstrom and Kevin Hillstrom, editors. St. James Press, c1999.
REF 704.042 C767h
This reference provides biographical information on more than 350 twentieth-century women artists.
A to Z of American Women in the Visual Arts.
Carol Kort and Liz Sonneborn. Facts on File, c2002.
REF 704.0420973 K845a
Covering the 19th through mid-20th centuries, more than 130 women artists’ biographies are included.
Dictionary of Women Artists.
Delia Gaze, editor. Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997.
REF 709.22 D561g 2 volumes
Over 500 women artists are profiled. Each entry provides images, a biography, and a critical essay on the artist’s work.
Women Artists in the Modern Era: A Documentary History.
Susan Waller. Scarecrow Press, 1991.
REF 709.22 W156w
Primary source documents including letters and journals highlight international women artists from the 1750s through 1950s.
A to Z of American Women in the Performing Arts.
Liz Sonneborn. Facts on File, c2002.
REF 791.0820973 So59a
Covering the 19th through mid-20th centuries, more than 150 women performers’ biographies are included.
Women in Music: An Encyclopedic Biobibliography.
Don L. Hixon. Scarecrow Press, 1993
REF ML105 .H6W6 1993 2 volumes
An international selection of women musicians from all time periods are included. Biographical information and references to resources on the artist make up each entry.
The Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers.
Julie Anne Sadie and Rhian Samuel, editors. W.W. Norton, 1994.
REF ML105 .S34 1994
The biographies of 875 Western classical composers are included.
This is a selective list of circulating books and videos on women in the arts.

It is important also to search journals and magazines when looking for information on women in the arts or a specific artist. To find articles on these topics, use the Article Databases.

The Voices of Women Artists.
Wendy Slatkin.Prentice Hall, 1993.
700.88042 Sl15v
This text is full letters, journals, and interviews by artists such as Berthe Morisot, Mary Cassatt, Kathy Kollwitz, Georgia O’Keefe, Alice Neel, Judy Chicago, and many, many more.
Women, Art, and Society.
Whitney Chadwick. Thames & Hudson, 2007.
704.042 C346w 2007
Examining issues of race, class, and sexuality, Chadwick’s text investigates women’s art from the Middle Ages to the present.
Women Artists: An Illustrated History.
Nancy G Heller. Abbeville, 2003.
704.042 H367w 2003
Much of the book focuses on contemporary women artists (1960 through present) with full-color images and well-written biographies.
Women Making Art: History, Subjectivity, Aesthetics.
Marsha Meskimmon. Routledge, 2003.
704.042 M561w
In a series of essays, Meskimmon examines the marginality of women in the visual and performing arts.
A Museum of their Own: National Museum of Women in the Arts.
Wilhelmina Cole Holladay. Abbeville Press, c2008.
704.042074 H718m 2008
Holladay founded the NMWA in 1981. This book looks at the museum’s development and the education and preservation of women’s arts that lie at the center of the museum mission.
After the Revolution: Women Who Transformed Contemporary Art.
Eleanor Heartney. Prestel, c2007.
709.040082 Af89h
Individual chapters on influential women artists, such as Nancy Spero, Ann Hamilton, Marina Abramovic, and Kiki Smith, make up this full-color book.
Seductive Subversion: Women Pop Artists 1958-1968.
Sid Sachs and Kalliopi Minioudaki.Abbeville Press, c2010.
709.046 S449
This catalog from the University of the Arts' Rosenwald-Wolf Gallery's nationally touring exhibition highlights female artists of the Pop movement. Also watch the DVD.
Women in American Theatre.
Helen Krich Chinoy and Linda Walsh Jenkins, editors. Theatre Communications Group, 2006.
792.0820973 W842cj 2006
Through interviews and essays examining their careers, the text explores women’s contributions to American theatre.
Dancing Women: Female Bodies on Stage.
Sally Banes. Routledge, 1998.
792.8082 B221d
Banes reviews dance from the early 19th century through the present, questioning the representations and interpretations of women in dance.
Rediscovering the Muses: Women’s Musical Traditions.
Kimberly Marshall, editor. Northeastern University Press, c1993.
ML82 .R43 1993
This compilation of essays focuses on the musical cultures of women in Western and non-Western societies.
Women in Theatre: Dialogues with Notable Women in American Theatre.
League of Professional Theatre Women. Theatre Communications Group, 2006.
GD486 3 volumes
This series of interviews focuses on American women who have made great contributions to theatre.
Plenty of Good Women Dancers: African American Women Hoofers from Philadelphia.
Philadelphia Folklore Project, 2004.
GD969
Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.

Go to the library's Article Databases page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases. Check out the following for this topic:
EBSCOhost has a lot of full-text and scholarly articles covering a wide range of subjects.
JSTOR is all full-text, scholarly articles.
LexisNexis Academic is mostly newspaper articles. It is full-text and updated daily.

I found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:

See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself. Click the FindIt@UArts icon to see if our library holds the journal title. FindIt@UArts will also tell you if the full-text article is available in a different database.
Use interlibrary loan to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries.

Style Manuals: Citing Your Sources

When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.

There are many excellent craft-related websites for musuems, organizations, and digital collections. They provide access to images, articles, videos, and other scholarship. Also see UArts Libraries Diigo items tagged women for related online material.

Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art
Part of the Brooklyn Museum, the Center holds exhibitions focused on feminist arts.
Institute for Women and Art
Out of Rutgers University (NJ), the Institute's mission is to raise awareness of women's contributions to the arts.
National Museum of Women in the Arts
This Washington, D.C. museum is dedicated to the education and preservation of artwork by women.
National Women's History Museum
Founded in 1996, the museum highlights women's contributions in all areas of culture and society.
Visual Culture and Gender
This freely accessible e-journal explores "how visual culture constructs gender."
Voices from the Gaps: Women Writers and Artists of Color
This academic database focusing on minority women in the arts and literature includes interviews, essays, and critical reviews.
!W.A.R.: Voices of a Movement
This is a collection over interviews with over 40 women artists, curators, and historians that are part of the film !Women Art Revolution. Watch the video interview or read the transcript; information about each artists is also included.

Last updated: 5/9/12




Site Search


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.