Protest & Propaganda //

The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic or at least the material that author used) that you can use to find other materials.

Reference Materials

The Encyclopedia of Propaganda.
Robert Cole. Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, 1998
REF 303.37503 En19c

Circulating Books

Art and Propaganda in the Twentieth Century: the Political Image in the Age of Mass Culture.
Toby Clark. New York: Harry N. Abrams, 1997.
Greenfield Open Stacks 700.904 C549a
Cultural Activism: Practices, Dilemmas, and Possibilities.
Begüm Özden Firat and Aylin Kuryel. New York, NY, USA: Editions Rodopi, 2011.
E-Book
Graphic Agitation 2: Social and Political Graphics in the Digital Age.
Liz McQuiston. New York: Phaidon, 2004.
Greenfield Open Stacks 741.609045 G459g2
Graphic Agitation: Social and Political Graphics Since the Sixties.
Liz McQuiston. London: Phaidon, 1993.
Greenfield Open Stacks 741.609045 M459g
Beyond Recognition: Representation, Power, and Culture.
Craig Owens. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1992.
Greenfield Open Stacks 700.19 Ow2b
The Critical Vision: A History of Social and Political Art in the U.S.
Blum Paul Von. Boston, MA: South End, 1982.
Greenfield Open Stacks 709.73 V891c

Periodicals

The Journal of Decorative and Propaganda Arts. The Wolfsonian Collection. Miami Beach, FL: Wolfsonian - Florida International University, 2002. INDEXED IN JSTOR

Videos

Dowling, Susan, and Susan Sollins. "Protest." Art:21: Art in the Twenty-First Century. Art21, Inc.; distributed by PBS Home Video, 2007. GD553

Try a search in OneSearch for the keyword protest or propaganda, then limit your results to video. This will search the UArts Libraries streaming video databases as well as the catalog.

Subject Headings

Searching the Catalog by Subject

Use the University Libraries catalog to find books, videos, CDs, scores, journal titles, etc. To locate all of the materials the library holds on a topic, it can be most efficient to search by subject. Use the following subject headings in the online catalog. These subject headings are standard and are used in most libraries.



Article Databases

Article databases are research tools that allow you to search for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.

Go to the library's Article Databases page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases. Check out the following for this topic:


EBSCOhost has a lot of full-text, scholarly and popular articles covering a wide range of subjects.


ProQuest: The Arts is focused on visual and performing arts, and has many full-text, scholarly and popular articles.


JSTOR is all full-text, scholarly articles.


LexisNexis Academic is mostly newspaper articles. It is full-text and updated daily.



I found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:

See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself. Click the FindIt@UArts icon to see if our library holds the journal title. FindIt@UArts will also tell you if the full-text article is available in a different database.
Use interlibrary loan to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries.

Find Images

ARTstor

The ARTstor Digital Library provides more than one million images with tools for teaching and research. You can organize images into groups to share, or download them to use in presentations. Its collections comprise contributions from outstanding museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates from all over the world.

AP Images

AP (Associated Press) Images provides photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. It contains over one million photographs dating back to 1826 and as current as a few moments ago, tens of thousands of graphics, audio files dating from the 1920s, and news stories dating from 1997.

Style Manuals

Style Manuals: Citing Your Sources

When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.

Websites

Websites

http://culturalpolitics.net/social_movements/art

Many many links! CulturalPolitics.net is a not-for-profit matrix of sites written and managed by T.V. Reed. Reed is the Buchanan Distiguished Professor of American Studies and English at Washington State University, and currently Visiting Professor of English and American Studies at York University, Toronto.

If you are using the Internet for research you want to choose sites that meet the standards of accuracy, currency and authority.

Currency: The timeliness of the information.

  • When was the information published or posted?
  • Has the information been revised or updated?
  • Is the information current or too out-of-date for my topic?
  • Are all the links functional or are there dead links?

Relevance: The importance of the information for your needs.

  • Does the information relate to my topic or answer my question?
  • Who is the intended audience?
  • Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too simple or advanced) for my needs?
  • Did I look at a variety of sources before deciding to use this one?
  • Would I be comfortable using this source for my college research paper?

Authority: The source of the information.

  • Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
  • Are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations given?
  • What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations?
  • What are the author's qualifications to write on the topic?
  • Is there contact information, such as a publisher or e-mail address?
  • Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source? Examples: .com .edu .gov .org .net

Accuracy: The reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the information.

  • Where does the information come from?
  • Is the information supported by evidence?
  • Has the information been reviewed by anyone else?
  • Can I verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
  • Does the language or tone seem biased? Or is it free of emotion?
  • Are there spelling, grammar, typographical, or other errors?

Purpose: The reason the information exists.

  • What is the purpose of the information? to inform? teach? sell? entertain? persuade?
  • Do the authors/sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
  • Is the information fact? opinion? propaganda?
  • Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
  • Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional, or personal biases?

Adapted from: http://www.csuchico.edu/lins/handouts/eval_websites.pdf
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.