Popular Music Studies
Following are selected studies and reference works in the UArts Music Library on popular musics and the means by which they are marketed and consumed. The list suggests the various ways in which authors haveapproached the subject, and does not aim to address the field comprehensively.
DICTIONARIES,
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
|| SOCIOLOGY OF POPULAR MUSIC
|| POPULAR MUSIC ANALYSIS
|| GLOBAL
MUSIC INDUSTRY || U.S.
POPULAR SONG || NATIONAL CASE STUDIES
||
DICTIONARIES, ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World. Ed. John Shepherd [et al.]. 7 vols. New York: Continuum, 2003-05.
REF ML102 .P831C6 2003
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Ed. Colin Larkin. 8 vols. London: Muze, 1998.
REF ML102 .P831E6 1998
Moskowitz, David. Caribbean Popular Music: An Encyclopedia of Reggae, Mento, Ska, Rock Steady, and Dancehall. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2006.
REF ML102 .P831M67 2006
Shuker, Roy. Key Concepts in Popular Music. London: Routledge, 1998.
REF ML102 .P831S4 1998
Stambler, Irwin. The Encyclopedia of Pop, Rock, & Soul. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 1989.
REF ML 102 .P831S7 1989
SOCIOLOGY OF POPULAR MUSIC
Berger, Harris. Metal, Rock and Jazz: Perception and the Phenomenology of Musical Experience. Hanover, N.H.: Wesleyan University Press, 1999.
ML3838 .B475 1999
DeNora, Tia. Music in Everyday Life. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
ML3795 .D45M8 2000
Fischlin, Daniel. Rebel Musics: Human Rights, Resistant Sounds, and the Politics of Music Making. Montreal: Black Rose Books, 2003.
ML3916 .R43 2003
Keil, Charles and Steven Feld. Music Grooves: Essays and Dialogues. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1994.
ML60 .K45M8 1994
Music Scenes: Local, Translocal, and Virtual. Ed. Andy Bennett and Richard Peterson. Nashville: Vanderbilt University Press, 2004.
ML3470 .M87B4 2004
Popular Music: Critical Concepts in Media and Cultural Studies. Ed. Simon Frith. 4 vols. London: Routledge, 2004.
ML3470 .P634F7 2004
POPULAR MUSIC ANALYSIS
Analyzing Popular Music. Ed. Allan Moore. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2003.
MT146 .A52M6 2003
Concert Music, Rock, and Jazz Since 1945: Essays and Analytical Studies. Ed. Betsy Marvin and Richard Hermann. Rochester: University of Rochester Press, 1995.
ML197 .C66 1995
Forte, Allen. Listening to Classic American Popular Songs. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2001.
ML3477 .F67L5 2001
Van der Merwe, Peter. Origins of the Popular Style: The Antecedents of Twentieth-Century Popular Music. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1989.
ML3470 .V36O6 1989
THE GLOBAL POPULAR MUSIC INDUSTRY
Brooks, Tim. Lost Sounds: Blacks and the Birth of the Recording Industry, 1890-1919. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2004.
ML3479 .B76L6 2004
Burnett, Robert. The Global Jukebox: The International Music Industry. London: Routledge, 1996.
ML3790 .B87G5 1996
Global Noise: Rap and Hip-Hop Outside the USA. Ed. Tony Mitchell. Middleton, Conn.: Wesleyan University Press, 2001.
ML3531 .G562 2001
Kennedy, Rick. Little Labels, Big Sound: Small Record Companies and the Rise of American Music. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1999.
ML3792 .K46L5 1999
Taylor, Timothy. Global Pop: World Music, World Markets. New York: Routledge, 1997.
ML3470 .T39G5 1997
Wallis, Roger. Big Sounds from Small Peoples: The Music Industry in Small Countries. London: Constable, 1984.
REF ML3790 .W254 1984
UNITED STATES POPULAR SONG--REFERENCE SOURCES (SELECTED)
Abbott, Lynn & Doug Seroff. Out of Sight: The Rise of African-American Popular Music 1889-1895. Jackson: University of Mississippi Press, [2003].
REF ML3479 .A23 2003x
Cohen-Stratyner, Barbara. Popular Music 1900-1919: An Annotated Guide to American Popular Song. Detroit: Gale Research, 1988.
REF ML120 .U58S3 1900-19
Facts Behind the Songs: A Handbook of American Popular Music from the Nineties to the ‘90s. Ed. Marvin Paymer. New York: Garland, 1993.
REF ML102 .P831F2 1993
REF ML3534 .G755 2006
Jasen, David. Tin Pan Alley: An Encyclopedia of the Golden Age of American Song. New York: Routledge, 2003.
REF ML102 .P831J3 2003
Martin, Deac. Deac Martin’s Book of Musical Americana. Englewood Cliffs, N.J.: Prentice Hall, 1970.
REF ML3551 .M36D4 1970
Shapiro, Nat & Bruce Pollack. Popular Music 1920-1979: A Revised Cumulation. 3 vols. Detroit: Gale Research, 1985.
REF ML120 .U58S3 1920-79
Vaché, Warren. The Unsung Songwriters: America’s Masters of Melodies. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2000.
REF ML390 .V33U5 2000
Wilder, Alec. American Popular Song: The Great Innovators 1900-1950. New York: Oxford University Press, 1972.
REF ML3477 .W5A6 1972
NATIONAL CASE STUDIES (SELECTED)
ML3477 .A54 1992
Aoyagi, Hiroshi. Island of Eight Million Smiles: Idol Performance and Symbolic Production in Contemporary Japan. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 2005.
ML3501 .A59I8 2005
Crook, Larry. Brazilian Music: Northeastern Traditions and the Heartbeat of a Modern Nation. Santa Barbara: ABC-CLIO, 2005.
ML3487 .B7C76 2005
Danielson, Virginia. The Voice of Egypt: Umm Kulthum, Arabic Song, and Egyptian Society in the Twentieth Century. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1997.
ML420 .U56 1997
Hawkins, Peter. Chanson: The French Singer-Songwriter from Aristide Bruant to the Present Day. Aldershot: Ashgate, 2000.
ML3489 .H39C4 2000
Kun, Josh. Audtiotopia: Music, Race, and America. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2005.
ML 3470 .K85A9 2005
Mack, Beverly. Muslim Women Sing: Hausa Popular Song. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2004.
ML3503 .N6M33 2004
From Pop to Punk to Postmodernism: Popular Music and Australian Culture from the 1960s to the 1990s. Ed. Philip Hayward. Sydney: Allen & Unwin, 1992.
ML3504 .F7H3 1992
Nott, James. Music for the People: Popular Music and Dance in Interwar Britain. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2002.
ML3650.5 .N67 2002
Retuning Culture: Musical Changes in Central and Eastern Europe. Ed. Mark Slobin. Durham, N.C.: Duke University Press, 1996.
ML240.5 .R47S6 1996
Shade-Poulsen, Marc. Men and Popular Music in Algeria: The Social Significance of Raï. Austin: University of Texas Press, 1999.
ML3503 .A43S3 1999
Wade, Peter. Music, Race, & Nation: Música Tropical in Columbia. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2000.
ML3487 .C7W3 2000


