POETRY GUIDE //

 

The following is a selected list of reference books related to poetry located in the Greenfield Library

The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics.
edited by Roland Greene. 4th rev. ed. Princeton University Press, 2012.
E_BOOK
Adonis to Zorro: Oxford Dictionary of Reference and Allusion.
edited by Andrew Delahunty and Sheila Dignen. 3rd ed. Oxford University Press, 2010.
REF 422.03 Ad74ox 2010
A Glossary of Literary Terms.
M. H. Abrams, Geoffrey Galt Harpham. 9th ed. Wadsworth Cengage Learning, 2009.
REF 803 Ab83g 2009
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms.
Chris Baldick. 3rd ed. Oxford University Press, 2008.
REF 803 Ox25 2008
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols.
Michael Ferber. 2nd ed. Cambridge University Press, 2007.
REF 809.91503 F373d 2007
The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English.
edited by Ian Hamilton. Oxford University Press, 1994.
REF 821.910903 Ox2h
The Poet's Dictionary: a Handbook of Prosody and Poetic Devices.
William Packard. 1st ed. Harper & Row, c1989.
REF 809.1 P125p

On the library's Homepage, under ONLINE RESOURCES, select ARTICLES.
Look at the following databases:
  • EBSCOhost: Academic Search Elite
  • JSTOR

Be aware that there are different ways to access the full-text article once you pull up a citation in the index:

  • Check to see if our library owns the journal. Search for the journal title in the CATALOG.
  • See if there is a link to a full-text article online and e-mail it to yourself.
  • Use the INTERLIBRARY LOAN search tool, WorldCat to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries or to see which local libraries have the journal.

You can also use the E-JOURNAL FINDER to see which journals are available online.

Below are just a few poetry-related Web sites that may be of interest to the University of the Arts community.

Last updated: 10/14/13




Site Search


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.