This is a guide to reference material on music education in the Music Library of the University of the Arts. If you have questions about this guide or about library materials on music education, please contact Mark Germer, UArts Music Librarian.
- Music Education: Source Book. [Vols. 1-3.]
Chicago/Washington, D.C.: Music Educators National Conference, 2002.
- Compendia of a wide variety of readings relevant to the
history of elementary and secondary school music in American public
REF MT3 .U58M78 v.1-3
- Music Education: Source Readings from Ancient Greece to
Today. 2nd ed. Edited by Michael Mark. New York: Routledge, 2002.
- Modest but unique collection in English, testifying to the
centrality of music education within the humanistic traditions of
Western civilization. Readings are excerpted from a wide variety of
sources, from Aristotle to Dewey. A practical distillate of required
REF MT2 .M37S68 2002
- Source Readings in Music History. Revised ed. Edited
by Oliver Strunk and Leo Treitler. New York: Norton, 1998.
- One of the essential tools of modern music study.
originating in various contexts from antiquity to the present,
including many excerpts from treatises that reveal the origins of
modern theory in pedagogical concerns. The standard anthology known to
REF ML160 .S927S6 1998
- New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning.
Edited by Richard Colwell and Carol Richardson. Oxford: Oxford
University Press, 2002.
- An attempt to assess the state of the profession from many
vantage points. Sixty-one essays reflect the expansion of activities
subsumed under the rubric "music education" in the last fifty years.
Attention is paid methods of evaluation, curriculum development,
philosophy and public policy, learning-styles analysis, cognition
studies and neuroscience, and music in general education. Generous
REF MT1 .N48 2002
- The Eclectic Curriculum in American Music Education.
2nd ed. Edited by Polly Carder. Reston, VA.: Music Educators National
- Although monograph-length studies exist, the literature
little in the way of critical reference material on the legacies of
Dalcroze, Kod‡ly, and Orff in North American curricula. For the moment
the lacuna must be bridged by the essays here.
REF MT3 .U5E3 1990
- Campbell, Patricia Shehan. Songs in Their Heads: Music
and its Meaning in Children's lives. New York: Oxford University
- Borrows from ethnographic methodology and includes
from numerous interviews with children in various school settings.
Profound lessons lurk there, but the authors' analyses are also
inspired. A wellspring of ideas.
REF MT1 .C22S6 1998
- Music Therapy Research. 2nd ed. Ed. Barbara Wheeler.
Gilsum, N.H.: Barcelona, 2005.
- Systematic and weighted toward quantitative methods of
investigation and analysis. Primarily directed toward clinical music
therapists and academicians, there are nonetheless literature reviews
and methodological surveys of great potential interest to those
interested in the social constructions of musical meaning.
REF ML3920 .M885 2005
- Schafer, R. Murray. The Thinking Ear. Toronto:
- Collects under one title the music education writings of a
creative and challenging voice in the field. The essays and aphorisms
never prescribe a philosophy of pedagogy--that would violate one of the
maxims advanced in the author's much admired Rhinoceros in the
Classroom--but suggest a wealth of innovative approaches through
metaphor and example. At once brilliant and practical.
REF M1 .S3T4 1986
- Upitis, Rena. This Too Is Music; and Can I Play You My
Song? Portsmouth, N.H.: Heinemann, 1990 and 1992.
- The extraordinary field notes of a music teacher of
reflective gifts. Her program is simply to wean children away from
mimicry and entice them with the rewards of improvisation and
composition--and using communicative methods of their own devising.
REF MT1 .U65 1990 and MT742 .U65 1992
- Why and How to Teach Music Composition: A New Horizon
for Music Education. Edited by Maud Hickey. Reston, Va.: The
National Association for Music Education, 2003.
- Eleven contributions on the teaching of music composition
REF MT1 .w59 2003
- Benchmarks in Action: A Guide to Standards-Based
Assessment in Music. Ed. Carolynn Lindeman. Reston, Va.: National
Association for Music Education, 2003.
- Achievement standards and assessment tasks along with the
strategies for designing and reaching them. Includes bibliography.
REF MT3 .U58B26 2003
- Koch, Karen, et al. What did Students Learn? And How do
we Know? New York: Carnegie Hall Education Department, 1999.
- Presents worksheet exercise and evaluative documents
in the New York City Program LiahUP (1990s). A tool for clarifying the
rationales and goals of classroom assessment projects.
REF MT3 .U58K64 1999
- Performance Standards for Music. Reston, Va.: The
National Association for Music Education, 1996.
- Following on the National Standards for Arts Education
examines the roles and assumptions underlying the concepts of
achievement standards for school music programs K-12.
REF MT3 .U58P46 1996
- Phelps, Roger [et al.]. A Guide to Research in Music
Education. 5th ed. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2005.
- A survey of qualitative, quantitative, philosophical and
historical approaches to research in the field.
REF MT1 .P541G8 2005
- Rudolph, Thomas [et al.]. Technology Strategies for
Music Education. 2nd ed. Edited by Floyd Richmond. Wyncote, Pa.:
Technology Institute for Music Educators, 2005.
- Standards for implementation of technology and evaluation
of results in music teaching K-12.
REF MT1 .R846T4 2005
- International Directory of Music and Music Education
Institutions. 3rd ed. Edited by Graham Bartle. Nedlands, Western
Australia: CIRCME, 2000.
- Educational objectives and expected qualifications for all
types of post-secondary schools of music in 157 countries, including
certificate and non-degree-granting institutions.
REF ML12 .I57 2000
- Jazz Education Guide: Directory of Jazz Education
Programs Worldwide Annual. Silver Spring, Md.: JazzTimes, 2000-
- Contact information for programs of all sizes and
orientations--including international listings--if you can find them
amidst all the hyperbolic advertising.
REF ML12 .J289 2001-02
- The Music & Entertainment Internship Guide. 8th
ed. [S.I.]: Entertainment Media Consultants, 2000.
- Directory to arts councils and festivals, recording
and studios, music publishers, and other agencies that offer apprentice
REF ML13 .M87 2000
- Musician's Resource. Edited by Gwendolyn Freed. New
York: Watson-Guptill, 1997.
- Workshops, masterclasses, and residence programs. Intended
musicians and educators seeking to develop new skills or expand their
expertise into new areas.
REF ML13 .F74M8 1997
- Duckles, Vincent and Ida Reed. Music Reference and
Research Materials: An Annotated Bibliography. 5th ed. New York:
- The most comprehensive bibliography of music reference
in English. The first stop for identifying, among other things,
repertory lists, song indexes, practical dictionaries, and teaching
tools. Large, but basic.
REF ML113 .D846M8 1997
- Kantorski, Vincent. A Bibliography of Source Readings
in Music Education. Warren, Mich.: Harmonie Park, 1997.
- Not source readings as the phrase is usually meant (see
and Strunk above), but rather a selective bibliography of secondary
materials. All the same an ambitious project that reaches beyond its
title in situating the goals of music pedagogy within the more general
framework of arts education philosophy.
REF ML128 .I64K3 1997
- Heller, George. Historical Research in Music Education:
A Bibliography. 3rd ed. Lawrence: University of Kansas Division of
Music Education and Music Therapy, 1995.
- Almost exclusively concerned with the methods and history
school music pedagogy in the United States, despite the general title.
Arranged by geographical region.
REF ML128 .I64H4 1995
- Davis, Deta. Computer Applications in Music: A
Bibliography. Madison: A-R Editions, 1988-92.
- Though current now only to 1990, covers the development of
automated and computer-assisted music instruction, as well as that of
synthesizers, drum machines, controllers, and other applications in
REF ML128 .C62D4 1988 and Suppl.
- Kuzmich, John. An Annotated Survey of Teaching
Materials for Jazz Improvisation. 2nd ed. Manhattan, Kan.:
International Association of Jazz Educators, 1996.
- Brief annotations for pedagogical materials in printed,
recorded sound, video and interactive formats.
REF ML128 .J42K9 1996
- Havlice, Patricia. Popular Song Index. Metuchen:
Scarecrow, 1975-89. 4 vols.
- Together the volumes record the song titles in more than
printed score anthologies, including many childrenÕs song
Useful therefore in locating supplementary classroom materials. At
present the best resource for this purpose.
REF ML128 .S3H3 and Suppl. 1-4
- Jarnow, Jill. All Ears: How to Choose and Use Recorded Music for Children. New York: Viking, 1991.
- Begins with laudable premises regarding the establishment
listening habits and strategies. Recordings are recommended for general
developmental, rather than musical, reasons; but there are few
resources with this level of detailed commentary.
REF ML156.4 C5J27 1991
- The Instrumentalist Anthology Series. Evanston,
III.: The Instrumentalist Co., 1991-95. 6 vols.
- Reprints selected articles on all aspects of instrumental
technique, maintenance, musicianship, and teaching. Separate volumes
for woodwinds, brass, percussion, and ensemble conducting.
REF MT170 A5 v.1-6
- The Norton Dictionary of Modern Thought. Edited by
Alan Bullock and Stephen Trombly. New York: Norton, 1999.
- Brief entries covering, among much else, psychological
movements in social and cultural theory, and similar matters bearing on
education functions in contemporary society: 'mind-body problem',
'feminism', 'family values', 'creationism', 'modernism'.........
REF B804 N67 1999
- A Companion to American Thought. Edited by R.W. Fox
and James Kloppenberg. Oxford: Blackwell, 1995.
- In addition to terminology of particular American interest
(individualism, pragmatism), includes also proper-name articles, unlike
the Norton volume (above). Thus summaries--albeit of uneven length and
utility--of the educational ideology of, for instance, William James,
John Dewey, W.O. Quine, B.F. Skinner, Noam Chomsky.
REF E169.1 .C6 1995
- Ornstein, Allan and Francis Hunleins. Curriculum: Foundations, Principles, and Issues. Boston: Pearson and AB, 2004.
- The historical and theoretical underpinnings of curriculum
theory, development, and implementation.
REF LB2806 .076 2004
- Teaching Music with a Multicultural Approach. Edited
William Anderson. 4 videocassette tapes, with accompanying essays.
Reston, Va.: Music Educators National Conference, 1991.
- The byproduct of a symposium cosponsored by the Society for
Ethnomusicology and the Smithsonian Institution, with participants from
various subcultures. Sessions were led by eminent scholars, largely
responsible for the accompanying text, in dialogue with music
educators. One VHS tape each documenting American Indian,
African-American, Asian-American, and Hispanic-American musics.
Video MT3 .U5T4 1991 (Music Circ. Desk)
- American Music Teacher.
Bimonthly. Cincinnati: Music TeachersÕ National Association, 1951-
- ML1 .A52
- Bulletin of the Council for Research in Music Education.
Quarterly. Urbana: The Council, 1964-
- ML1 .C95
- Music Educators Journal. Monthly. Reston, Va.: Music
Educators National Conference, 1934-
- ML1 .M657
- Music K-8. Bimonthly. Wauwatusa, Wis.: Plank Road,
- ML1 .M692
- Philosophy of Music Education Review. Semiannual.
Bloomington: Indiana University School of Music, 1993-
- ML1 .P55
Of a large array of adjudicated periodicals in many languages, several in English are of primary interest: