This is a
subject
guide to materials on music and music-related
careers, exclusive of education and therapy, in the Music
Library of
the University of the Arts. Vocational guidance is also plentiful in
the music periodical literature, for which see appropriate headings in Music Index
(REF ML118 .M987M8), located on the central Music REF shelves. For
related materials available in the Greenfield Library see the Careers
in the
Arts subject
guide (and
contact information there). Relevant subject
headings in the UArts Libraries Catalogue are included below. For
questions or assistance contact Mark Germer, Music Librarian. Consult
also the Career Services
Office of the University.
GUIDANCE, PROSPECTS
Baskerville, David. Music
Business Handbook and
Career Guide. 7th ed.
ML3795 .B3 2001
Exploring Careers
in Music. 2nd ed. Sponsored by
the MENC.
ML3795 .E95 2000
Field, Shelly. Career
Opportunities in the Music
Industry. 5th ed.
REF ML3795
.F54C3 2004
Highstein, Ellen. Making
Music in Looking Glass
Land. 2nd ed.
REF ML3790 .H54
1993
Levine, Mike. How
to Be a Working Musician.
ML3794 .L49 1997
Spellman, Peter. The
Self-Promoting Musician.
ML3794 .S745 2000
DIRECTORIES (see also PERIODICALS)
Artists'
Communities: A Directory of Residencies.
REF ML62 .A77
2000
Contemporary
Music Ensembles: A Directory. 4th
ed.
REF ML13 .c66
1998
Freed, Gwendolyn. Musician's
Resource.
REF ML13 .F74M8
1997
International
Directory of Music and Music Education
Institutions. Revised ed.
REF ML12 .I57
2000
International
Directory of Music Organizations.
4th ed.
REF ML12 .I58
1998
Leonardo Almanac:
International Resources in Art,
Science, and Technology.
REF ML13 .I59L4
1993
Music &
Entertainment Industry Internship Guide.
8th ed.
REF ML13 .M87
2000
Official Contact
Pages to the Music Industry.
REF ML18 .H53
2005
Zietz, Karyl Lynn. Opera
Companies and Houses of
the United States.
REF ML13 .Z54
1995
AUDITIONS, PREPARATION
Craig, David. A Performer Prepares.
ML892 .C7P4 1993
Emmons, Shirlee. Power Performance for Singers.
MT892 .E54P6 1998
Glymph, Joseph. The Art of Auditioning.
ML3830 .G59 1990
Harrington, Bob. The Cabaret Artist's Handbook.
MT956 .H27C3 2000
Hines, Jerome. The Four Voices of Man.
MT820 .H55F6 1997
Kayes, Gillyanne & Jeremy Fisher. Successful
Singing Auditions.
MT892 .K294 2002
Salmon, Paul. Notes from the Green Room.
ML3830 .S35N6 1992
Silver, Fred. Auditioning for the Musical Theater.
MT892 .S46 1985
BUSINESS, MANAGEMENT
Fishman, Stephen. Consultant & Independent
Contractor Agreements.
REF KF898 .F57 2004
Forest, Greg. The Complete Music Business Office.
REF ML3795 .F675 1999
Gaines, Pam. Financial Management for Musicians.
ML3795 .G255 1999
Halloran, Mark. The Musician's Business and Legal
Guide. 3rd ed.
REF ML3790 .M995H3 2001
Karmen, Steve. Through the Jingle Jungle.
MT67 .K36T5 1989
Khan, Marty. Straight Ahead: A Comprehensive Guide
to the Business of Jazz.
ML3790 .K525 2004
Northam, Mark and Lisa Anne Miller. Film and
Television Composer's Resource Guide to Organizing and Building your
Business.
REF ML3795 .N675 1998
Rapaport, Diane. A Music Business Primer.
ML3790 .R216M8 2003
Schulemberg, Richard. Legal Aspects of the Music
Industry.2nd ed.
REF KF4291 .S28 2005
PERIODICALS
Indie Bible: [Directory of Review Publications and
Radio Stations].
Annual.
REF ML13 .I63 (Current issue in Music
Reference.)
Musical America: International Directory of the
Performing Arts.
Annual.
REF ML12 .M985 (Current issue in Music
Reference.)
Musician's Atlas.
Annual.
REF ML18 .M89 (Current issue in Music
Reference.)
Recording Industry Sourcebook.
Annual.
REF ML18 .R42 (Current issue in Music
Reference.)
WEB RESOURCES WITH MUSIC CAREER INFORMATION
American Federation of Musicians, AFL-CIO (New York)
www.afm.org
American Music Conference (Carlsbad, Calif.)
www.amc-music.com
American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers
(New York)
www.ascap.com
Audio Engineering Society (New York)
www.aes.org
Broadcast Music Incorporated (New York)
www.bmi.com
College Music Society (Missoula, Mon.)
www.music.org
International Association of Jazz Educators
(Manhattan, Kan.)
www.iaje.org
MENC, The National Association for Music Education;
and Music Industry Conference (Reston, Va.)
www.menc.org
Music Library Association (McLean, Va.)
www.musiclibraryassoc.org
Music Publisher's Association (New York)
www.mpa.org
Music Teachers National Association (Cincinnati, Oh.)
www.mtna.org
National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (Santa
Monica, Calif.)
www.grammy.com
National Association of Composers (Los Angeles,
Calif.)
www.music-usa.org/nacusa
National Association for Music Therapy (Silver Spring,
Md.)
www.musictherapy.org
National Association of Schools of Music (Reston, Va.)
www.arts-accredit.org
Recording Industry Association of America (Washington,
D.C.)
www.riaa.com