MUSIC & DANCE REFERENCE SOURCES //

 

This is a guide to reference material on music and dance in the Music Library of the University of the Arts. For related materials available in the Greenfield Library, see also the Resources in Dance subject guide (with contact information there). If you have questions about this guide or about library materials on music and dance contact Mark Germer, Music Librarian.

BIBLIOGRAPHY || PRIMARY DOCUMENTS || CHRONOLOGY, HISTORY || ADDITIONAL SOURCES || REFERENCE VIDEOS


ENCYCLOPEDIAS, DICTIONARIES

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. 2nd ed. Edited by Stanley Sadie and John Tyrrell. London: Macmillan, 2001. 29 vols.
Easily one of the two most thorough and authoritative encyclopedic dictionaries for music study in any language. Includes general historical essays, with chronologically organized bibliographies, on ballet, dance, and ethnochoreology, as well as shorter entries on social dance forms of court and province. See also subarticles under geographical names (e.g., "England" II.4 'Music and Dance') and genres of folk and contemporary youth cultures.
REF ML100 .N48 2001

Ganzl, Kurt. The Encyclopedia of Musical Theatre. 2nd ed. New York: Schirmer Books, 2001. 3 vols.
Focuses on composers, lyricists, performers, choreographers, and directors of the staged book musical (no vaudeville, revues, or films) ca. 1840-1990s, in the chief centers of Britain, France, Austria, Hungary, the United States, and Australia. Brief performance histories included under show titles; plot summaries provided for more widely performed works. Works lists under major composer entries. Biographies of early performers offer much information published for the first time.
REF ML102 .M88G3 2001

The New Harvard Dictionary of Music. Edited by Don Michael Randel. Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1986.
Concise and clear, the best first stop for Western music terminology. Various articles on style and instrumental forms (e.g., Suite) contain many references to dance. Does not wholly supersede the Harvard of generations previous, edited by Willi Apel, which may also be consulted on REF.
REF ML100 .R3N4 1986

Craine, Debra and Judith Mackrell. The Oxford Dictionary of Dance. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
An eclectic range of entries focusing on history and practice. Strong on choreographers (including works lists in some cases), composers, visual artists, and authors known for their collaborations in the theater. The best first stop for choreographic titles of the modern era and related performance data.
REF GV1585 .C78 2000

Dictionnaire de la musique en France aux XVlle et XVllle siecles. Edited by Marcelle Benoit. Paris: Fayard, 1992.
Recommended for articles such as that on ballet de cours, and for attention paid to theatrical dance composers such as Lalande, Destouches, Campra.
REF ML101 .F74D5 1992

Jarrie, Henri. Dictionnaire des danses de la Renaissance. Arles: Harmonia Mundi, 1970. 3 sound discs, with accompanying dictionary text.
The sort of project undertaken altogether too infrequently, given the interdisciplinary essence of the subject. Matches terminological definitions to recorded sound examples.
REF LP3975

Mara, Thalia. The Language of Ballet. Princeton: Dance Horizons, 1987.
Documents the effort to standardize international dance terminology in the 1960s by the National Academy of Ballet.
REF GV1787 .M37 1987

Cohen-Stratyner, Barbara. Biographical Dictionary of Dance. New York: Schirmer, 1982.
Nearly 3,000 entries, many with selected bibliography and lists of major works.
REF GV1785 .A2C65 1982

Bremser, Martha. Fifty Contemporary Choreographers. London: Routledge, 1999.
Fills many lacunae among shorter works of reference. Includes critical analysis, works lists, and relatively generous bibliographies.
REF GV1785 .B74 1999

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Bopp, Mary. Research in Dance: A Guide to Resources. New York: G.K. Hall, 1994.
In two sections, the first covering archives and other collections with primary materials worldwide, the second a (chiefly English-language) bibliography of secondary literature.
REF GV1594 .B66 1994

Marrocco, W. Thomas. Inventory of 15th-century Bassedanze, Balli, & Balletti. New York: CORD, 1981.
Though the central role of dance at court is known second-hand from the early 14th century, the first extant choreographies date from more than one hundred years later. The manuscript manuals inventoried here record steps and movements with music of specific Italian Renaissance dances. The cradle of what would become ballet. (For addenda see now Ingrid Brainard, "Italian Dance Documents of the Fifteenth Century," Dance Chronicle 21 [1998], 285-97.).
REF ML128 .D3M27 1981

Schwartz, Judith and Christena Schlundt. French Court Dance and Dance Music: A Guide to Primary Source Writings, 1643-1789. Stuyvesant, N.Y.: Pendragon, 1987.
Printed sources issued during the well-documented reigns of Louis XIV-XVI. Part of a larger project to reconstruct and interpret French theatrical dance of the 17th and 18th centuries, from the evidence in technical manuals, musical sources, theatrical design, and contempora-neous descriptive accounts. Extensively indexed.
REF ML3427 .S39F7 1987

Emerson, Isabelle. Twentieth-Century American Music for the Dance: A Bibliography. Westport: Greenwood, 1996.
Works created by American (or long-term resident) composers specifically for the purpose of concert dance. An accomplishment of no small proportions, since the majority of such sources remained unpublished or saw print very briefly. Arrangement is alphabetical by composer; includes as much performance information as could be corroborated.
REF ML128 .D3E4 1996

Choreography by George Balanchine: A Catalogue of Works. 2nd ed. Edited by Harvey Simmonds. New York: Viking, 1984.
A chronological list of premieres from 1920 to 1982. Includes also extensive notes on the sources and on roles performed, and a bibliography that includes reviews.
REF GV1785 .B35 1984

Southern, Eileen and Josephine Wright. African-American Traditions in Song, Sermon, Tale, and Dance, 1600s-1920. New York: Garland, 1990.
An annotated guide to collections of primary documents as well as to the secondary literature on African-American oral traditions.
REF ML128 .B45S6 1990

Banerji, Sures Chandra. A Companion to Indian Music and Dance. Delhi: Indian Books Centre, 1990.
Brief survey of important works on Indian performing arts, especially as accounted for in the Sanskrit monuments of Hindu literature. Some chapters function as dictionaries or chronologies; occurrences of technical terms in primary sources are indexed in Chapter 9. Entries for literary works are annotated.
REF ML120 .I53B3 1990

McLean, Mervyn. An Annotated Bibliography of Oceanic Music and Dance. Warren, Mich.: Harmonie Park Press, 1995.
Historic and modern literature covering the Pacific islands, including New Guinea, but exclusive of the Indonesian and Malaysian archipelagos. Nearly 3700 entries, some briefly annotated. Includes archival manuscript material.
REF ML120 .I84M3 1995

PRIMARY DOCUMENTS

Arbeau, Thoinot [pseud.] Orchesography [2nd ed. 1589] Translated by Mary Stewart Evans. New York: Dover, 1967.
The Orchesography was the only dance manual published in France during the second half of the 16th century, and remains one of the chief testaments to dance and dance music north of Italy. Its contents hold many clues to the performance practice of Renaissance instruments, as well as unique step and tempo indications for specific dances.
REF ML3427 .T11407 1967

Playford's English Dancing Master, 1651. Facsimile ed. annotated by Margaret Dean-Smith. London: Schott, 1957.
Tunes for every country dance (contredanse) compiled by the publisher John Playford. The largest single source of ballad airs, its popularity was attested by numerous amended editions to 1728--and two centuries later it played a conspicuous role in the English revival of social dancing after WWII.
REF M1450 .P52 1957

Blasis, Carlo. The Code of Terpsichore. Translated by R. Barton. Reprint ed. Brooklyn: Dance Horizons, [1976].
A reprint of the first English edition, and incorporating material published as The Art of Dancing. Blasis (d. 1878) was the first to codify the methods on which the teaching of theatrical ballet continues to be based. Also useful for the collection of plot programs typically encountered at court.
REF GV1590 .B53 1976x

Kirsten, Lincoln. Four Centuries of Ballet: Fifty Masterworks. New York: Dover, 1984.
Alongside production details and historical sketches are reproduced relevant theatrical sketches, engravings illustrative of costume and gestural rhetoric, and contemporaneous photographs. Weighted toward ca. 1700-1920, that is, not toward the 20th century.
REF GV1787 .K57 1984

CHRONOLOGY, HISTORY

Sachs, Curt. World History of the Dance. Translated by Bessie Schonberg. New York: Norton, 1965.
Originally pulished in 1933 (English 1937), a synthesis inevitably reflecting its author's training in turn-of-the-century Berlin schools of thought. But the rhetoric and biases of a previous time cannot obscure the feat of building a framework where none had existed while accounting for a wealth of detail at the same time. A landmark text by a founder of the fields of musicology and ethnochoreology.
REF GV1621 .S121W4 1965

Searle, Humphrey. Ballet Music: An Introduction. 2nd ed. New York: Dover, 1973.
Survey and chronology, weighted towards the 20th century. Separate chapters on Diaghilev and on post-War dance to ca. 1972.
REF ML3460 .S437 1973

Wiley, Roland John. Tchaikovsky's Ballets. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1985.
A documentary study combining musical analysis with accounts of first productions and their reception history. Production materials consulted include the original rehearsal scores and choreographic notations. Attempts to sort out the details distinguishing what the composer wrote as opposed to what the producers made of it. Unique in the literatue.
REF ML410 .C435W5 1985

Garafola, Lynn. Diaghilev's Ballets Russes. New York: Oxford University Press, 1989.
In existence for only 20 years, the crucible of modernism known as the Ballets Russes attracted the most celebrated musical and visual artists, bringing to life the 20th centuryÕs most enduring masterworks of theatrical dance. If there are heros, it is hard to tell whether they are Fokine and Diaghilev or the musical works themselves. Extensive documentation on the productions.
REF GV1786 .B35G3 1989

Stearns, Marshall and Jean Stearns. Jazz Dance: The Story of American Vernacular Dance. New York: Da Capo Press, 1994. Reprint ed.
Stylistic and cultural history of American dancing that evolved alongside jazz, to ca. 1950. Written by the enthusiast whose library of jazz materials became the core of the Rutgers Jazz Institute collections.
REF GV1623 .S74 1994

ADDITIONAL SOURCES

Schlundt, Christena. Dance in the Musical Theatre: Jerome Robbins and his Peers, 1934-1965. New York: Garland, 1989.
Chiefly a compilation of data arranged alphabetically by show title and indexed by names of collaborators. Despite the title, dance is no more emphasized than anything else.
REF GV1781 .S35D3 1989

Robinson, Doris. Music and Dance Periodicals: An International Directory and Guidebook. Voorheesville, N.Y.: Peri Press, 1989.
In part a checklist of some 1,800 periodical titles active to 1987, and not therefore indicative of the totality or variety of music and dance periodical publishing of the last decades. Includes also brief content characterizations and commercial data.
REF ML128 .P44R6 1989

REFERENCE VIDEOS

The JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance. 1990. 30 vols.
REF Music V/T JVC

The JVC Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of Music and Dance of the Americas. 1995. 6 vols.

REF Music V/T JVC2

The JVC Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of Music and Dance of Africa. 1996. 3 vols.
REF Music V/T JVC3

The JVC Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of Music and Dance of Europe. 1996. 2 vols.
REF Music V/T JVC4

Top of page




Site Search


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.