LASS 934: 1968: The Year that Defined a Generation //

 

This is a guide on how to begin research related to 1968, using selected resources in the Greenfield Library and Music Library at the University of the Arts. Use it as a jumping-off point in your research. Once you have found names, places, titles, etc., you can consult many additional sources not listed in this guide. Send any questions about this topic to Sara MacDonald, Reference Librarian, SMacDonald@uarts.edu.

You may also be interested in our subject guide on African American History.

Timelines and Reference Materials

The following books contain information organized by year. Most cover the 20th century up to the mid-1990s.

REF before the call number indicates location in the reference section and library in-use only.

The Sixties: Day by Day.
Parker and Nelson. Facts on File, 1983.
REF 090.826 P228d v. 1-2
Just what it says: a day-by-day listing of events from 1960-1969 from around the world. Interesting introduction in volume 1.
Chronology of Science and Discovery.
Isaac Asimov. HarperCollins, 1994.
REF 509 As42a 1994



Timelines of the Arts and Literature.
David M. Brownstone. HarperCollins, c1994.
REF 700.202 B825t 1994



Black Saga: the African American Experience: a Chronology.
Charles Melvin Christian. Civitas/Counterpoint, c1999.
REF 973.04960730202 C462b 1999

Need to find a topic that happened in 1968? Check this as well as Chronology of African American History.
Chronicle of the 20th Century.
John W. Kirshon, editor. Dorling Kindersley, c1995.
REF 909.82 C468



American Chronicle: Seven Decades in American Life, 1920-1989.
Lois G. Gordon. Crown, c1990.
REF 973.9 G656a 1990



The New York Times Guide to the Arts of the 20th Century.
Fitzroy Dearborn, 2002.
CONTENTS v.1. 1900-1929 --v.2. 1930-1959 --v.3. 1960-1979 --v.4. 1980-1999.
REF 700.904 N42
Contains full-text reprints of reviews and articles from the New York Times. Use the index in volume 4 to look for your topic.
The Wilson Chronology of the Arts.
George Ochoa and Melinda Corey. H.W. Wilson Co., 1998.
REF 700.202 Oc3w



Our Times: the Illustrated History of the 20th Century.
Lorraine Glennon., editor in chief. Turner Pub., c1995.
REF 908.82 Ou7g 1995



The following titles are reference books and are a great place to get started.

Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties.
Paul Finkelman, editor. Routledge, c2006.
REF 342.7308503 En19f v. 1-3
Great for issues such as censorship and privacy.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture.
Tom Pendergast, Sara Pendergast, editors. St. James Press, c2000.
REF 973.9 St1e
A good starting point for topics such as hippies, yippies, and Woodstock.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-First Century.
Paul Finkelman, editor in chief. Oxford University Press, 2009.
REF 973.0496073 En192f 1896- . V. 1-5.
Use encyclopedias like this to get a bibliography of books and articles on your topic.
Encyclopedia of the American Left.
Buhle et al. Oxford University Press, 1998.
REF 335.00973 En19 1998
Covers diverse areas such as folk music, the disability rights movement, labor, radio, psychology, and more.

Magazine and journal articles will always be the best place to look for current information on your topic. Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in journals and magazines.

Go to the library's Article Databases and Indexes page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases.

I've found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:

  • See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself.

  • Check to see if our library holds the journal title. Look up the journal title or the ISSN*** in the catalog and look at the holdings.

    • ***What is an ISSN? ISSN stands for International Standard Serial Number and is a unique number for a magazine or journal (not individual articles, but the magazine/journal title itself). You can use it in the UArts Libraries catalog and in many periodical indexes and databases. Searching with a number is much more precise than typing out a long title.

  • Use WorldCat to make interlibrary loan requests for materials not owned by the UArts Libraries. Please ask staff if you have questions.

Photos, Films, and Artwork: Primary Sources

Would photos, artwork, or films enhance your research and studies? Check out the following sources.

  • Academic Video Online. More than 23,000 complete streaming videos. We recommend using Advanced Search.

  • AP Images. AP Images is a database of news photos dating back to 1826 and is updated constantly. Access is limited to on-campus only. We recommend using Advanced Search.

  • ARTstor. ARTstor is a huge database of art images, including photography, city planning, architecture, and archaeology. Check out the features in Advanced Search.

Last updated: 18 November 2013 sjm




Site Search


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.