LAPI 935: SPAIN AFTER FRANCO //

 

This is a guide to library materials that will help students in LAPI 935, Spain After Franco, complete their research assignments. If you have questions about this topic please contact Sara MacDonald in the Greenfield Library or Mark Germer in the Music Library.

The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic) that you can use to find other materials.

Call numbers are for the Greenfield Library unless otherwise indicated.

Encyclopaedia Judaica. Jerusalem : Encyclopaedia Judaica, c1972 (1978 printing)
Greenfield REF 296.03 En195 1972 v. 1-16. Index is in volume 1.

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Popular Culture. Gary Hoppenstand, general editor. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, c2007.
Greenfield REF 306.03 G856e v. 1-6

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife. Edited by William M. Clements ; Thomas A. Green, advisory editor. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2006.
Greenfield REF 398.03 G856c v. 1-4

The Dictionary of Art. Jane Turner, editor. NY: Grove's Dictionaries, 1996.
Greenfield REF 703 D561t v. 1-34
Check the index in volume 34 for your topic. This title is also available as an online subscription on the library's Online Reference Sources page. If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your UArts email name and password.

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. Editors, Tom Pendergast, Sara Pendergast. Detroit, MI: St. James Press, c2000.
Greenfield REF 791.4303 In85 2000 v. 1-4
Volume 1: Films; Volume 2: Directors; Volume 3: Actors and Actresses; Volume 4: Writers and Production Artists.

International Encyclopedia of Dance: A Project of Dance Perspectives Foundation, Inc.. Editor, Selma Jeanne Cohen; area editors, George Dorris ... [et al.]: consultants, Thomas F. Kelly ... [et al.]. NY: Oxford University Press, 1998.
Greenfield REF 793.303 In8d v. 1-6
Check the index in volume 6 for your topic. This title is also available as an online subscription on the library's Research Tools and Resources page. If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your UArts email name and password.

The Encyclopaedia of Sport and Games. Edited by the Earl of Suffolk and Berkshire. Philadelphia: J. B. Lippincott company; [etc., etc.] 1911.
Greenfield REF 796.03 En19 v. 1-4

Encyclopedia of World Sport. Editors, David Levinson and Karen Christensen. NY: Oxford University Press, 1999.
Greenfield REF 796.03 En19ws

Menke, Frank G. The Encyclopedia of Sports. New York: Barnes, 1963.
Greenfield REF 796.03 M52

Webster's Sports Dictionary. Springfield, MA: G. & C. Merriam, c1976.
Greenfield REF 796 W39

Chronicle of the 20th Century. London; NY: Dorling Kindersley, 1995.
Greenfield REF 909.82 C468
Check the index for Spain, Basque, Franco, etc.

Our Times: The Illustrated History of the 20th Century. Editor in chief, Lorraine Glennon. Atlanta: Turner Pub. ; Kansas City, MO: Distributed by Andrews and McMeel, c1995.
Greenfield REF 909.82 Ou7g 1995
Check the index for Spain, Basque, Franco, etc.

For reference books related to Spanish music and zarzuela, get started in the UArts Music Library by using these guides to General Music Reference and World Music Reference.

Use the University Libraries catalog to find books, videos, CDs, scores, journal titles, etc. To locate all of the materials the library holds on a topic, it is most efficient to search by Subject. Use the following subject headings in the online catalog. Be careful to follow the exact spelling and form. These subject headings are standard and are used in most libraries.

MOTION PICTURE PRODUCERS AND DIRECTORS--SPAIN
MOTION PICTURES--POLITICAL ASPECTS--SPAIN
MOTION PICTURES--SPAIN
PICASSO, PABLO, 1881-1973. GUERNICA
SPAIN--CIVILIZATION
SPAIN--DESCRIPTION AND TRAVEL
SPAIN--FESTIVALS
SPAIN--HISTORY
SPAIN--INQUISITION
SPAIN--SOCIAL CONDITIONS
ZARZUELA

Magazine and journal articles will always be the best place to look for current information on your topic. Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in journals and magazines.

Go to the library's Research Tools and Resources page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases, indexes, and reference works.

I've found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:

  • See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself.

  • Check to see if our library holds the journal title. Look up the journal title or the ISSN*** in the catalog and look at the holdings.

    • ***What is an ISSN? ISSN stands for International Standard Serial Number and is a unique number for a magazine or journal (not individual articles, but the magazine/journal title itself). You can use it in the UArts Libraries catalog and in many periodical indexes and databases. Searching with a number is much more precise than typing out a long title.

  • Use interlibrary loan to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries.

  • See what other libraries in the area hold the journal.

Style Manuals: Citing Your Sources

When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.




Site Search


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.