LACR 210: TEXTS & CONTEXTS //

 

This is a research guide created specifically for Professor Baker's Texts & Contexts class and the assignment on 19th-century poets Matthew Arnold ("Dover Beach"), Charles Baudelaire ("The Swan/Le Cygne"), Emily Dickinson ("I Felt a Funeral in My Brain"), John Keats ("Ode on a Grecian Urn"), and William Wordsworth ("Daffodils"). If you have questions about this topic please contact Sara MacDonald, Public Services Librarian, smacdonald@uarts.edu.

Please note for Wordsworth that "Daffodils" is also known by its first line, "I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud."

The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to find the basic background information you'll need to begin, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. Reference materials often include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic) that you can use to find other materials.

Call numbers are for the Greenfield Library unless otherwise indicated.

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1981- .
REF 809.034 N6225
Many-volume set! Use the cumulating index or the cumulating title index to find the volume with your author/work. Each author entry begins with a biography, a list of principal works, and is followed by excerpts from critical writings about that author.

The Oxford Companion to English Literature / edited by Margaret Drabble. Oxford; NY: Oxford University Press, 2000.
REF 820.3 H3o6 2000
In spite of the title, this book contains American authors as well as some non-English-speaking authors such as Baudelaire. Provides very brief biography, brief discussion of major works, and many cross-references to other entries. In addition to individual authors, some titles of specific works can be found, as well as terminology such as ode and Romanticism (p. 872).

The Oxford Companion to American Literature / James D. Hart ; with revisions and additions by Phillip W. Leininger. NY: Oxford University Press, 1995.
REF 810.9 H251o6 1995

Leiter, Sharon. Critical Companion to Emily Dickinson: A Literary Reference to Her Life and Work. NY: Facts on File, c2007.
REF 811.4 D56z7

The Feminist Companion to Literature in English: Women Writers from the Middle Ages to the Present / Virginia Blain, Patricia Clements, Isobel Grundy. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1990.
REF 820.90003 B573f

The Oxford Companion to French Literature. Compiled and edited by Sir Paul Harvey and J.E. Heseltine. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1959.
REF 840.3 H26

Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism / edited by Chris Murray. London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, c1999.
REF 801.9503 En19m 1999 v. 1-2
Covers a wide scope of Western literary theory and criticism, as well as entries on individuals (Dickinson not included). Individuals' entries include biography and their influence in literary criticism and theory, plus bibliographies of principal criticism, other major works, and suggested further reading.

Find material about your author by searching them by subject in the UArts Libraries catalog. Since you're looking for criticism of these authors, be sure to look for the subheading Criticism and Interpretation.

The links below will run a subject search.

Arnold, Matthew

Baudelaire, Charles

Dickinson, Emily

Keats, John

Wordsworth, William

Want to find other books with criticism? In addition to searching for your author by subject, try these subject headings.

AMERICAN POETRY--19TH CENTURY--HISTORY AND CRITICISM

ENGLISH LITERATURE--19TH CENTURY--HISTORY AND CRITICISM

ENGLISH POETRY--19TH CENTURY--HISTORY AND CRITICISM

ROMANTICISM

Books on Course Reserve

You will see when you search the catalog that some books about each author are on course reserve in the Greenfield Library. An option to searching the catalog would be to look under Professor Baker's course reserves record for Texts & Contexts. In the library catalog, select the "Search Course Reserves By" instructor option and enter baker j and then select the course.

Course reserve materials are kept behind the library's circulation desk. Make sure you have your valid UArts ID with you to use these materials.

For some of the books on course reserve, you can't tell from the title who's covered. Here are some tips to assist you:

Poetry: A Modern Guide to Its Understanding and Enjoyment. 808.1 D82p
See p. 87-92 for Wordsworth.

The Starlit Dome. 821.009 K74s
See p. 294-96 for Keats.

The Well-Wrought Urn. 821.009 B79w
See p. 139-52 for Keats.

Norton Anthology of English Literature, 7th ed. 820.8 N821el7 v. 2
Check index for Arnold, Keats and Wordsworth. Please note for Wordsworth that "Daffodils" is also known by its first line, "I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud."

Magazine and journal articles will always be the best place to look for current information on your topic. Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in journals and magazines.

Go to the library's Research Tools and Resources page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases, indexes, and reference works.

Again, to find criticism about your author's work, look up your author as a SUBJECT.

I've found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:

  • See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself.

  • Check to see if our library holds the journal title. Look up the journal title or the ISSN*** in the catalog and look at the holdings.

    • ***What is an ISSN? ISSN stands for International Standard Serial Number and is a unique number for a magazine or journal (not individual articles, but the magazine/journal title itself). You can use it in the UArts Libraries catalog and in many periodical indexes and databases. Searching with a number is much more precise than typing out a long title.

  • Use interlibrary loan to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries.

  • See what other libraries in the area hold the journal.

Style Manuals: Citing Your Sources

When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.




Site Search


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.