NORTHERN IRELAND AND THE TROUBLES //

This subject guide is written for UArts course PICT-316, Northern Ireland and The Troubles.

The University Libraries combine their holdings in one online catalog. Use the University Libraries catalog to find books, e-books, videos, CDs, scores, etc.

To locate all of the materials the library holds on a topic, it is most efficient to search by subject. These subject headings are standard and are used in most libraries.

GREAT BRITAIN--FOREIGN RELATIONS--IRELAND
HISTORIOGRAPHY--IRELAND
IRELAND--HISTORY--20TH CENTURY
IRISH REPUBLICAN ARMY--HISTORY
NATIONALISM--IRELAND
NORTHERN IRELAND
NORTHERN IRELAND--HISTORY
NORTHERN IRELAND--POLITICS AND GOVERNMENT--1969-1994
NORTHERN IRELAND--POLITICS AND GOVERNMENT--1994-
NORTHERN IRELAND--SOCIAL CONDITIONS--1969-
SINN FEIN

Periodical Indexes: Finding Articles

Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.

Go to the library's Article Databases and Indexes page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases. Not sure which one to try? Contact Sara MacDonald, UArts Public Services Librarian.

For this assignment, try the following article databases:

  • OneSearch: EBSCOhost. OneSearch searches the library catalog (books, ebooks, videos), article databases, video databases, and more. Search results can be limited to a type of source (article, book, video, etc.).

  • JSTOR. JSTOR contains ONLY scholarly journals, most of which are at least 3-5 years old.

  • LexisNexis Academic. Primarily newspapers, LexisNexis Academic is useful for finding recent articles on a given topic. Completely full-text and international.

I've found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:

  • See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself.

  • Click the FindIt@UArts icon to see if our library holds the journal title. FindIt@UArts will also tell you if the full-text article is available in a different database.

  • Use the interlibrary loan search tool, WorldCat, to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries or to see what other libraries have the title you need.

Style Manuals: Citing Your Sources

When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.

Searching the Web can be overwhelming. If you are using the Internet for research you want to choose sites that meet the standards of accuracy, currency and authority.

Troubles Archive
"The Northern Ireland Troubles Archive is a web-based resource about the ways in which the Arts reflected the Troubles in Northern Ireland."
Insight on Conflict: Northern Ireland
"Insight on Conflict is published by Peace Direct as a resource on local peacebuilding around the world."
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.