All quoted material in the annotations is from American Reference Book Annual (ARBA) series, Greenfield REFERENCE 011.02 Am35, unless otherwise stated.
Industrial design is a very broad-ranging topic. We cannot list here all the material that could be relevant to a researcher. Please be sure to speak to a reference librarian about your research needs.
REFERENCE MATERIALS: THE PLACE TO STARTBiographical and Background Information on Design and Designers
Directories of Design Firms, Design Information, etc.
Reference Materials for Materials and Processes
The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic) that you can use to find other materials.
- The A-Z of Modern Design / Bernd Polster, Claudia Neumann, Markus Schuler, Frederick Leven. London: Merrell, 2006.
Greenfield REF 745.403 A99p
- "This encyclopedia is the most comprehensive guide available to international product design of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries... Each entry includes an informative profile, a biography or company history, and a product chronology, and is accompanied by colour photographs."--quoted from the front cover inside flap.
- Byars, Mel. The Design Encyclopedia. NY: Museum of Modern Art, 2004.
Greenfield REF 745.403 B99d 2004
- Campbell, Alastair. The Designer's Lexicon: The Illustrated Dictionary of Design, Printing, and Computer Terms. Revised and enlarged edition. San Francisco, CA: Chronicle Books, 2000.
Greenfield REF 741.603 C152d
- Contemporary Designers. 3rd ed. St. James Press, 1997. See also 1984 and 1990 edition.
Greenfield REF 745.4492 C767 1997
- Look here first for contemporary designers! Biographical and bibliographical information on designers. Some designers submit artist's statements or design philosophies.
- Pile, John. Dictionary of 20th-Century Design. Facts on File, 1990.
Greenfield REF 745.444203 P642d
- "In the twentieth century, design has come to be regarded as a discipline with its own identity that should ultimately elevate taste and production standards for everybody... This work covers designers, styles and periods, manufacturers, technical terms, materials, schools and other design institutions, and notable periodicals that focus squarely on design as their central theme... The writing style is highly readable while packed with facts." ARBA 1992
- Julier, Guy. The Thames and Hudson Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Design and Designers. Thames & Hudson, 1993.
Greenfield REF 745.4442 J944t
- General information on design history and designers.
- Lidwell, William. Universal Principles of Design: 100 Ways to Enhance Usability, Influence Perception, Increase Appeal, Make Better Design Decisions, and Teach through Design. Rockport, 2003.
Greenfield REF 745.403 L619u
- Definitions, with illustrations and sources cited, of broad principles of design. What, for example, is meant by "form follows function"? What is face-ism? What is iteration and how does it relate to design? Find out here.
- Marcus, George H., and Kathryn B. Hiesinger. Landmarks of Twentieth-Century Design: An Illustrated Handbook. Abbeville Press, 1993.
Greenfield REF 745.4442 H533L 1993
- "This book is a much-needed addition to the design field. It provides a visual and narrative overview of major international design movements of the twentieth century... It is arranged in chapters divided chronologically by decades. Each chapter begins with an excellent overview and analysis of the major design events, movements, and designers that existed during that period. The overview is followed by entries of the major objects created during that decade... The work also includes a section of designer biographies with bibliographies, a general bibliography, and an excellent index." ARBA 1995
- Webb, Pauline, and Mark Suggitt. Gadgets and Necessities: An Encyclopedia of Household Innovations. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, c2000.
Greenfield REF 683.803 W383g
- "This entertaining and thought-provoking A-to-Z encyclopedia examines modern domestic technology and innovations during the twentieth century, exploring the social and cultural conditions that produced such devices as the electronic iron and the vacuum cleaner. The encyclopedia covers innovations and objects, inventors, organizations, institutions, manufacturers, and themes. ... [this book] includes an introduction, bibliography, extensive illustrations, references to websites, end-of-entry suggestions for further reading, and a general index." from the back cover
Directories of Design Firms, Design Information, etc.
- For a directory of design firms, see Core77's Design Directory.
- Noonan, Patrick and Timothy Warner. Product Design Management: An Annotated Bibliography. Aldershot; Brookfield, USA: Avebury, c1988.
Greenfield REF 016.7452 N737p
- American Art Directory. R. R. Bowker, 1952- .
Greenfield REF 709.73 Am3 1999-2000
- Directory of art organizations, art schools, museums, libraries, and professional associations, state arts councils, magazines, newspaper art editors and critics, scholarships and fellowships.
- Kliment, Stephen A. Writing for Design Professionals: A Guide to Writing Successful
Proposals, Letters, Brochures, Portfolios, Reports, Presentations, and Job Applications for Architects, Engineers, and Interior Designers. W.W. Norton, c1998.
Greenfield Open Stacks 808.0667 K683w 1998
- Woodson, Wesley E. Human Factors Design Handbook: Information and Guidelines for the Design of Systems, Facilities, Equipment, and Products for Human Use. McGraw-Hill, 1981.
Greenfield REF 620.82 W868h 1981
Reference Materials for Materials and Processes
- Coffel, Steve. Encyclopedia of Garbage. NY Facts On File, c1996.
Greenfield REF 628.44 C654e
- Good for information on recycling, in a dictionary format. List of sources and index. Use the index and then look for cross-references within each entry. If you look at the entry for CARDBOARD, for example, you will be directed to separate entries for PAPER. The entry on PAPER will direct you to entries on PACKAGING, BUILDING MATERIALS, DISPOSABLE DIAPERS, LANDFILL, PAPER RECYCLING, WASTEWATER, WATER POLLUTION, etc. There are several paragraphs on making paper. The entry for PAPER is followed by PAPER OR PLASTIC? and addresses which shopping bag choice is more environmentally sound and why. Interesting!
- Encyclopedia of Smart Materials. Edited by Mel Schwartz. NY: J. Wiley, c2002.
Greenfield REF 620.1103 En19s v.1-2
- "The Encyclopedia of Smart Materials (ESM) contains the writings, thoughts, and work of many of the world's foremost people ... who work in the field of smart materials. The authors discuss theory, fundamentals, fabrication, processing, application, applications and uses of these very special, and in some instances rare, materials." --Preface, page v.
- The McGraw-Hill Recycling Handbook. Herbert F. Lund, editor in chief. 2nd ed. NY: McGraw-Hill, 2001.
Greenfield REF 363.7282 M459Lu 2001
- Contains sections on the basics of recycling, recycling materials (paper, cans, glass, textiles, etc.), recycling facilities and equipment, recycling operations, case histories, and recyling in other countries; appendices include a glossary and list of recycling information and sources.
- Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers. 11th ed. Edited by Eugene A. Avallone, Theodore Baumeister III, Ali M. Sadegh. NY: McGraw-Hill, 2007.
Greenfield REF 621 M342s 2007
- Chapters include strength of materials, materials of engineering, materials handling, manufacturing processes, and emerging technologies.
- Todd, Robert H. et al. Manufacturing Processes Reference Guide. 1st ed. NY: Industrial Press, 1994.
Greenfield REF 671.023 T566m 1994
- "This is a reference book that fills a real need: it describes more than 130 manufacturing processes used in industry today. Some of the processes described are sputtering, sandblasting, extrusion molding, and vertical boring. While not exhaustive, this work does describe the most common processes. Each entry is heavily illustrated and includes process characteristics, process schematics, and workpiece geometry. Where relevant, time calculations, cost elements, and safety factors are also provided. Illustrations are clear with parts well-marked, and the text is well-laid out." ARBA 1996, entry 1670.
- Brady, George S., Henry R. Clauser and John A. Vaccari. Materials Handbook: An Encyclopedia for Managers, Technical Professionals, Purchasing and Production Managers, Technicians and Supervisors. 14th ed. NY: McGraw-Hill, c1997.
Greenfield REF 620.1103 B729m
See also the newer edition available through ebrary.
- "First published in 1929, this handbook has been a standard for many years. During this time it has served libraries well; it covers a variety of materials from molybdenum steels and statuary bronze to gutta-percha and ginger. Its strength has always been that it has covered not only engineering materials but pharmaceuticals, foodstuffs, and historical materials such as bath metals. ... Each material is described in prose with related products or subdivisions in boldface type. ... This is the place to look first for the specific gravity of ivory, to learn where menhaden oil comes from, and to find the properties of oncology."--ARBA 1992, entry 1617. Use the index to find your material.
- Handbook of Plastics, Elastomers, and Composites. Charles A. Harper, editor in chief. 3rd ed. NY: McGraw-Hill, c1996.
Greenfield REF 668.4 H191h 1996
- "This ... has been prepared as a thorough sourcebook of practical data for all ranges of interests. It contains an extensive array of property and performance data, presented as a function of the most important product variables. Further, it presents all important aspects of application guidelines, fabrication-method trade-offs, design finishing, performance limits, and other basic polymer properties. The handbook's other major features include thorough lists of standards and specifications sources, a completely referenced and easy-to-use index, a comprehensive glossary, useful end-of-chapter reference lists, and several appendixes containing invaluable data and information for product engineers."--from the preface, p. xi.
- Oberg, Erik et al. Machinery's Handbook: A Reference Book for the Mechanical Engineer, Designer, Manufacturing Engineer, Draftsman, Toolmaker, and Machinist. 7th ed. NY: McGraw-Hill, c1992.
Greenfield REF 621.80212 Ob2m
- "This engineering handbook covers machine shop practice and other aspects of practical mechanical engineering in an exemplary manner, and has done so for seventy-five years. It is another example of a 'mature' reference tool that remains dependable and predictable."--ARBA 1989, entry 1503.
- McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. 9th ed. NY: McGraw-Hill, c2002.
Greenfield REF 503 M17 volumes 1-20 [see volume 20 for index]
- Always a good place to start for materials or processes. Use the index, Volume 20, to find your material.
- Weingartner, C., with Jim Effner. Machinists' Ready Reference. 8th ed. Ann Arbor, Mich: Prakken Publications, c1994.
Greenfield REF 621.80212 W431m 1994
- "This book compacts a large amount of useful information in a very small package. ... The information applies mainly to conventional metalworking tools and techniques (lathes, drill presses, milling machines, and so forth). Numerical control, CAD/CAM, and other more modern approaches are not treated."--ARBA 1996, entry 1675.
- The Cutting Edge: An Encyclopedia of Advanced Technologies. Oxford University Press, 2000.
Greenfield REF 603 C982t
COLOR IN DESIGN
COMMUNICATION IN DESIGN
ERGONOMICS--see HUMAN ENGINEERING
MODELS AND MODELMAKING
Go to the library's Article Databases and Indexes page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases. Not sure which one to try? Give us a call (215-717-6280) or contact Sara MacDonald, UArts Public Services Librarian.
I've found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:
- See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself.
- Click the FindIt@UArts icon to see if our library holds the journal title. FindIt@UArts will also tell you if the full-text article is available in a different database.
- Use the interlibrary loan search tool, WorldCat, to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries or to see what other libraries have the title you need.
When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.
Searching the Web can be overwhelming. If you are using the Internet for research you want to choose sites that meet the standards of accuracy, currency and authority.
With just a few good Web sites, you should be able to find many other web sites by looking for links and resources lists within the sites listed below. The sites included here were chosen not only for their relevance and reliability, but for their links to many other authoritative sites.
"AnthroSources is a collection of databases, visual access resouces and other resource material for anthropometry (the science of human measurement) professionals and standards developers in the anthropometry community. The primary resources are AnthroKids a freely available data collection of the only survey of anthropometric measurements of children ever taken in the United States and AnthroGloss (head and body) a VRML based 3D access mechanism for anthropometric landmark names." quoted from the Web page
Consortium on Green Design and Manufacturing, University of California, Berkeley
"A Multi-Disciplinary Research and Educational Partnership Between Academia, Industry and Government."
A message to the webmaster of this site did not go through, but the links are pretty good.
CORE77 Design Magazine and Resource
So much great stuff, how do you even describe it?
Design Management Institute (DMI)
"The Design Management Institute (DMI) is an international nonprofit organization that seeks to heighten awareness of design as an essential part of business strategy. Founded in 1975, DMI has become the leading resource and international authority on design management. DMI has earned a reputation worldwide as a multifaceted resource, providing invaluable know-how, tools and training through its conferences, seminars, membership program, and publications." (Source: About DMI, 1/23/2012) The UArts Greenfield Library subscribes DMI's Design Management Review.
Environmental Design Research Association
"The Environmental Design Research Association (EDRA) is an international, interdisciplinary organization founded in 1968 by design professionals, social scientists, students, educators, and facility managers. The purpose of EDRA is the advancement and dissemination of environmental design research, thereby improving understanding of the interrelationships between people, their built and natural surroundings, and helping to create environments responsive to human needs. "--from About edra. edra offers a Student Awards and holds an annual conference. Check out their Student Resources and Industry Links
"With Google Patents, you can now search the full text of the U.S. patent corpus and find patents that interest you. ‚Ä¶ All patents available through Google Patents come from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). Patents issued in the United States are public domain documents, and images of the entire database of U.S. patents are readily available online via the USPTO website." Source: About Google Patents. See USPTO Office of Patent Classificationfor the US patents classification system. Questions? Contact Josh Roberts, UArts Digital Initiatives & Systems Librarian.
How Stuff Works
The title says it all. A commercial site with a good bit of advertising, but still a great place for basic information on anything technical.
IDSA: Industrial Designers Society of America
The leading American professional organization for industrial design.
"Material ConneXion (A Sandow Company) is the leading global platform for material solutions and innovations. Built on the belief that Every Idea has a Material Solution(TM), we are the trusted advisor for Fortune 500's, smaller forward-thinking companies, and government agencies seeking a creative or competitive edge through strategic material selections." source: About Us, 21 Nov. 2011. The UArts Libraries subscribe to Material Connexion. To access it, use the link from the Reference Sources Online page.
Materials Research Society
"The Materials Research Society (MRS) is an organization of materials researchers from academia, industry, and government that promotes communication for the advancement of interdisciplinary materials research to improve the quality of life. "--from MRS Mission Vision Values. MRS has partnered with NOVA on a series called Making Stuff. Watch it on PBS. See also the MRS online interactive exhibit, Strange Matter.
Material Safety Data Sheets
A free archive of safety and toxicity data for thousands of materials and chemicals, provided by manufacturers.
Materials Science Portal
From the National Institute of Standards and Technology, this is an extensive site that includes information and properties on many classes of materials, including ceramics, metals, polymers/plastics, and hybrid materials.
"What is MatWeb? MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials."source: MatWeb home page, 21 Nov. 2011.
Product Development and Management Association
"The Product Development and Management Association (PDMA) is the premier global advocate for product development and management professionals. Our mission is to improve the effectiveness of individuals and organizations in product development and management." source: About PDMA, 21 Nov. 2011
Universal Design Education Online
"This web site supports the teaching and study of universal design. It also provides a place where educators can interact with each other. Our goal is to develop a community of learners who exchange information for the benefit of all." Quoted from About. Includes instructional materials, universal design articles, a bibliography, and links to related resources.
U.S. Green Building Council
"The U.S. Green Building Council is the nation's foremost coalition of leaders from across the building industry working to promote buildings that are environmentally responsible, profitable and healthy places to live and work." Extensive set of resources, including the Delaware Valley Green Building Council, the Philadelphia-area chapter.
Usability Professionals' Association
"The UPA was established in 1991 and continues to be the organization of choice for usability professionals worldwide. The UPA holds a yearly international conference, publishes new findings through both the Journal of Usability Studies (JUS) and through User Experience Magazine, and has 50 chapters around the world. In 2004, the UPA established World Usability Day, which in 2009 was celebrated in over 40 countries." Be sure to check out Delaware Valley UPA, the Philadelphia-area chapter.