GRAPHIC DESIGN //

 

This is a research guide for finding materials on graphic design in the Greenfield Library at the University of the Arts. Reference materials are listed first, followed by a list of suggested subject headings for searching library catalogs. Periodical indexes to magazine articles and newspapers are next, followed by links to style manuals and finally Web sites. If you have questions about this topic please contact Sara MacDonald, Public Services Librarian.

You may also be interested in the Book Arts subject guide, the Communication subject guide, or the Typography subject guide.

REFERENCE MATERIALS

The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic, or the materials the author used to write their article) that you can use to find other materials.

Call numbers are for the Greenfield Library unless otherwise indicated. Reference books are indicated by REF before the call number.

Annotations in quotes are taken from the series, American Reference Books Annual (ARBA), Greenfield REF 011.02 Am35. The acronym ARBA is followed by the volume year, the entry number and the page number.

American Graphic Design: A Guide to the Literature. Compiled by Ellen Mazur Thomson. Greenwood Press, 1992.
REF 016.7416 T383a
"Graphic design sources usually are appended to comprehensive art or design bibliographies. When that occurs the selective listings do not represent the field adequately. Thomson, a printmaker, graphic designer, and librarian, has rectified this lack of focus with a thorough guide. She includes the art (e.g., color, theory, history) and the applied art (e.g., advertising, posters, illustration, photography) of graphic design. Under 20 chapter headings she lists the best dictionaries and encyclopedias, bibliographies, biographical references, creative and talent directories, directories of collections, auction catalogs and sales records, indexes, online databases and CD-ROMs, and special subject monographs on the topic." ARBA 1994, entry 1059, p. 431.

Ambrose, Gavin and Paul Harris. The Visual Dictionary of Graphic Design. Lausanne; Worthing: AVA Publishing; NY: Watson-Guptill [distributor], c2006.
REF 741.603 Am18v
Nice one-page definitions for each entry, usually with a large visual example. Brief timeline at the back.

Byars, Mel. The Design Encyclopedia. Wiley, 2004.
REF 745.403 B99d 2004
"This encyclopedia provides information on designers, design firms, movements, design manufacturers, artists' groups, and design materials of the past 125 years. Designers of furniture, textiles, glass, metalware, wallpaper, and interiors, as well as ceramicists, industrial designers, and interior architects are included. … Entries for designers include a general description, birth and death dates, education, biography, exhibition activities and awards, and a brief bibliography. The bibliography includes citations that support the information provided in the entry and in many cases leads to additional information." ARBA 1995

Campbell, Alastair. The Designer's Lexicon: The Illustrated Dictionary of Design, Printing, and Computer Terms. Chronicle Books, 2000.
REF 741.603 C152d

Contemporary Designers. 3rd ed. St. James Press, c1997.
REF 745.4492 C767 1997
Biographical, bibliographical, and critical information on designers. If your designer is in this book, you're off to an excellent start with your research. See page 962 for the list of graphic designers included.

Dictionary of 20th-Century Design. By John Pile. Facts on File, 1990.
REF 745.444203 P642d
"In the twentieth century, design has come to be regarded as a discipline with its own identity that should ultimately elevate taste and production standards for everybody. … This work covers designers, styles and periods, manufacturers, technical terms, materials, schools and other design institutions, and notable periodicals that focus squarely on design as their central theme. … The writing style is highly readable while packed with facts." ARBA 1992

The Facts on File Dictionary of Design and Designers. By Simon Jervis. Facts on File, 1984.
REF 745.403 J488f
"The emphasis of this dictionary is on historical design and designers, providing brief biographies of designers from 1450 to the present, including minor as well as major figures. The scope is broad, listing noted patrons and historians as well as designers; important exhibitions, especially those of the nineteenth century; schools and institutions; and major serial and periodical publications." ARBA 1985

Forms, Folds, Sizes: All the Details Graphic Designers Need to Know But Can Never Find. 2nd ed. By Poppy Evans. Beverly, MA: Rockport Publishers, c2008.
REF 686.2 Ev164f 2008
What a great little book! Contains chapters on: measurement conversion charts; copyright and trademark standards; proofreading and copywriting; imaging and color; type; paper; bindings and folds; envelopes and folders; packaging styles; postal standards; bar code standards; printing and finishing; plus a glossary, bibliography, and process color finder charts. A circulating copy of the previous edition is available.

Glaister, Geoffrey Ashall. An Encyclopedia of the Book. 2nd ed. Oak Knoll Press, 1996.
REF 655 G45 1996
"Containing nearly 4,000 entries of defined terms, Glaister's encyclopedia remains the definitive source on the book as an object and on bookmaking as a trade. … Entries vary in length from a few to more than 3,000 words, with the average being about 80 words. There are four appendixes: a sample of different specimens of typeface, a listing of Latin names used in early imprints, British proof-correction symbols, adn a bibliography of further readings for the true bibliophile. For this printing of Glaister's standard work, retired librarian Donald Farren has changed the alphabetizing to a letter-by-letter arrangement, from the previous word-by-word system." ARBA 1997, entry 554, p. 250

International Encyclopedia of Communications. Oxford University Press, c1989.
REF 001.51 In8b v.1-4
Check the index (volume 4) for graphic design and other subjects. The index entry is Graphics (the main entry is 10 pages long with an 8-item bibliography) with subheadings for cartography, computer graphics, design, matrix theory, perception, semiology of graphics, and signage. Each article has a selected bibliography at the end. A great place to start!

Julier, Guy. The Thames and Hudson Encyclopedia of 20th century Design and Designers. Thames and Hudson, 1993.
745.4442 J944t
General information on design history and designers.

Livingston, Alan and Isabella.The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers. Revised ed. London: Thames and Hudson, 2003.
REF 741.603 L762t 2003
Really more of a dictionary, but a great little book to have. Lots of small black and white illustrations.

Pocket Pal: A Graphic Arts Production Handbook. International Paper Company, 1992.
REF 686.208 P751 1992
Provides a short history of printing, covers type and typesetting, copy preparation, graphic arts photography, proofreaders' marks, stripping and imposition, platemaking, paper, inks, etc. It's a classic.

Who's Who in Graphic Design: Profiles of More Than 300 Leading Graphic Designers from 46 Countries, including 1500 Illustrations. Zurich: Benteli-Werd Verlags, c1994.
REF 741.60922 W62h

Searching the Catalog by Subject

Use the University Libraries catalog to find books, videos, CDs, scores, journal titles, etc. To locate all of the materials the library holds on a topic, it is most efficient to search by Subject. The subject headings below are linked to take you right to a subject search in the UArts catalog. These subject headings are standard and are used in most U.S. libraries.

Notice that "graphic design" is not a subject heading except when used with the subheading "typography." Use GRAPHIC ARTS instead.

ADVERTISING
ADVERTISING LAYOUT AND TYPOGRAPHY
ADVERTISING, OUTDOOR
ADVERTISING PHOTOGRAPHY
ADVERTISING--SOCIAL ASPECTS
ADVERTISING--UNITED STATES
ARCHITECTURAL INSCRIPTIONS
ART AND INDUSTRY
ART PORTFOLIOS
BOOK DESIGN
COMMERCIAL ART
COMMERCIAL ART--EXHIBITIONS
COMMERCIAL ART--HISTORY
COMMERCIAL ART--TECHNIQUE
COMMERCIAL ART--UNITED STATES
COMMERCIAL ARTISTS
COMMUNICATION--GRAPHIC METHODS
COMMUNICATION IN DESIGN
COMPUTER GRAPHICS
COMPUTERIZED TYPESETTING
DESKTOP PUBLISHING
ELECTRONIC PUBLISHING
GRAPHIC ARTS
GRAPHIC ARTS-20TH CENTURY
GRAPHIC ARTS-HISTORY
GRAPHIC ARTS-HISTORY-19TH CENTURY
GRAPHIC ARTS-HISTORY-20TH CENTURY
GRAPHIC ARTS--TECHNIQUE
GRAPHIC ARTS-UNITED STATES
GRAPHIC ARTS-UNITED STATES-20TH CENTURY
GRAPHIC ARTS-UNITED STATES--EXHIBITIONS
GRAPHIC ARTS--UNITED STATES--HISTORY
GRAPHIC ARTS-VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE
GRAPHIC DESIGN (TYPOGRAPHY)
PACKAGING
PACKAGING--DESIGN
PERSUASION (PSYCHOLOGY)
POSTERS
PROPAGANDA
SIGNS AND SIGNBOARDS
SIGNS AND SYMBOLS
VISUAL COMMUNICATION

Periodical Indexes: Finding Articles

Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.

Go to the library's Article Databases and Indexes page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases. Not sure which one to try? Give us a call (215-717-6280) or contact Sara MacDonald, UArts Public Services Librarian.

I've found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:

  • See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself.

  • Click the FindIt@UArts icon to see if our library holds the journal title. FindIt@UArts will also tell you if the full-text article is available in a different database.

  • Use the interlibrary loan search tool, WorldCat, to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries or to see what other libraries have the title you need.

Below is a list of design annuals held by the Greenfield Library. These annuals are a great way to see current and past trends in design. They are housed in the periodicals area on the lower level of the library. Note that no closing date in the "LIB. HAS" statement in the library catalog means that the annual is still received every year.

Thanks to UArts reference librarian Mary Louise Castaldi for compiling this section.

AIGA graphic design USA : the annual of the American Institute of Graphic Arts.
Greenfield has no. 1 (1979), no. 3-5 (1981-1983).
Continued by Graphic Design USA

Graphic Design USA
Greenfield has no. 7 (1986) - no. 20 (2000). [no. 14 missing]
Continued by 365: AIGA Year in Design

365: AIGA Year in Design
Greenfield has no. 21, 2001 -

Graphis Annual
appears under the titles GRAPHIS ANNUAL, GRAPHIS DESIGN ANNUAL, DESIGN ANNUAL
Greenfield has 1952/53 -

Penrose Annual
Greenfield has v. 38 (1936) - v. 74 (1982).

Publication Design Annual
Greenfield has no. 20 (1986) - .

Typography: The Annual of the Type Directors Club. (Type Directors Club, U.S.)
Greenfield has v. 1 (1980) - . vol. 2, 4 missing.

Style Manuals: Citing Your Sources

When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.

Searching the Web can be overwhelming. If you are using the Internet for research you want to choose sites that meet the standards of accuracy, currency and authority.

Below are just a few graphic design-related sites that may be of interest to the University of the Arts community.

Searching for graphic design on the Internet always retrieves numerous commercial pages about fonts. If you know of any good sites that cover the history or more academic side of graphic design, please send them to me at the e-mail address at the very top of this document. Thank you.

AIGA: American Institute of Graphic Arts
http://www.aiga.org/

AIGA: Artist Video Series
http://www.aiga.org/search.aspx?taxid=519&searchtext=
Hillman Curtis video interviews with David Carson, Milton Glaser, Stefan Sagmeister, Paula Scher, and James Victore.

AIGA Philadelphia Chapter
http://philadelphia.aiga.org/

American Memory from the Library of Congress
http://memory.loc.gov/
A huge image database from the Library of Congress. A bit daunting to search, but one way to find images is to click on Collection Finder then List All Collections. You'll/ see a list of collections such as The Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920. There are other collections such as Origins of American Animation, 1900-1921, complete with movies.

Art Directors Club
http://www.adcglobal.org/
"The Art Directors Club is one of the most concentrated groups of creative talent in the world, and is a gathering place for leaders in visual communication. ADC Members share the vision of our founder, Louis Pedlar, who brought his colleagues in advertising together in 1920 to dignify their profession and judge advertising art by the same stringent standards as fine art. For over ninety years ADC members have taken up Pedlara??A?A?s challenge by funding programs to Connect, Provoke and Elevate creative professionals around the world."--from About ADC, Nov. 21, 2011.

Art Directors Club of Philadelphia
http://www.adcp.org/

Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum
http://www.si.edu/ndm/

Graphis
http://www.graphis.com/
Links to Graphis magazine, books, etc. The UArts Greenfield Library subscribed to Graphis (no longer published in print form).

Print
http://www.printmag.com/
"Print - America's Graphic Design Magazine". The UArts Greenfield Library subscribes to Print.

The University of the Arts. Graphic Design Department.
http://www.uartsgd.com/
See in particular under "Students" where there are links to Essential Books and Design Resources.




Site Search


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.