FAIRY TALES & FOLKLORE //

 

This is a guide to materials on fairy tales and folklore in the Greenfield Library and Music Library at The University of the Arts. If you have questions or comments about this topic please contact Sara MacDonald, Public Services Librarian, at smacdonald@uarts.edu.

If you're interested in fairy tales or folklore you may also want to see our subject guide on signs and symbols, or the Music Library's World Music/Oral Traditions guide.


Reference Materials

The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies that you can use to find other materials.

Call numbers are for the Greenfield Library unless otherwise indicated.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Folklore and Folklife. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2006.
REF 398.03 G856c v. 1-4

Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales. Edited by Jack Zipes. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
REF 398.21 Ox2z

Encyclopedia of Folklore and Literature. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1998.
REF 803 En19fl

Green, Thomas A., ed. Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1997.
REF 398.03 F719e v. 1-2

Searching the Catalog by Subject

Below are a few suggested subject headings to try in the library catalog. Click the links to run the search. These subject headings are standard in just about every American library.

FAIRIES
FAIRY TALES
FAIRY TALES--HISTORY AND CRITICISM
SYMBOLISM IN FAIRY TALES SYMBOLISM (PSYCHOLOGY)


GRIMM, JACOB, 1785-1863 as author
GRIMM, JACOB, 1785-1863 as subject
GRIMM, WILHELM, 1786-1859 as author
GRIMM, WILHELM, 1786-1859 as subject

FOLKLORE
FOLKLORE--ENCYCLOPEDIAS
FOLKLORE AND CHILDREN
FOLK LITERATURE
FOLK MUSIC
FOLK SONGS
PSYCHOANALYSIS AND FOLKLORE

Periodical Indexes: Finding Magazine Articles

Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in journals and magazines. ALWAYS use magazines and journals to find the most up-to-date information on your topic.

On the Web:
Go to the library's
Articles page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases, indexes, and reference works. You can always ask a librarian which ones to try. WilsonWeb is usually your best place to start. JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive is good for scholarly journal articles on fairy tales and folklore.

Style Manuals: Citing Your Sources

When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.

Web Sites

Searching the Web can be overwhelming. Be sure to look at Web results with a critical eye.

American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress
http://www.loc.gov/folklife/
Read "About the American Folklife Center" They're on Facebook, too.

Fairy Tales: Reading and Research, from the Internet Public Library
http://www.ipl.org/div/pf/entry/48473
ipl2, the Internet Public Library, is always a great place to start to find recommended Web sites.

Russian Fairy Tales, Part I: The Fantastic Traditions of the East and West by Helen Pilinovsky
http://www.endicott-studio.com/rdrm/rrrussian.html

American Folklore Society
http://www.afsnet.org/
"The American Folklore Society is an association of people who study and communicate knowledge about folklore throughout the world. Our more than 2,200 members and subscribers are scholars, teachers, and libraries at colleges and universities; professionals in arts and cultural organizations; and community members involved in folklore work."--from "About the American Folklore Society

SurLaLune
http://www.surlalunefairytales.com/index.html
Extensive site maintained by librarian Heidi Anne Heiner.




Site Search


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.