EDUCATION //

 

This is a guide to resources in education in the Greenfield Library and Music Library at the University of the Arts. If you have questions about this topic please see the librarian's e-mail address at the end of this document.

If you're interested in education, you may also be interested in our subject guides on Art Education, Dance, Museum Studies, and Music Education.

REFERENCE MATERIALS

The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic) that you can use to find other materials.

Call numbers are for the Greenfield Library unless otherwise indicated.

A Critical Dictionary of Educational Concepts: An Appraisal of Selected Ideas and Issues in Educational Theory and Practice. 2nd ed. Teachers College Press, 1990.
Greenfield REF 370.3 B279c 1990


Dance, Music, Theatre, Visual Arts : What Every Young American Should Know and BE Able to Do in the Arts : National Standards for Arts Education / developed by the Consortium of National Arts Education Association. Music Educators National Conference, 1994.
Greenfield REF 700.7073 D195c and Music REF MT 3 .U58 C6 1994


The Directory for Exceptional Children : A List of Educational and Training Facilities. 10th ed. Boston : Porter Sargent, 1984.
Greenfield REF 371.9 D62 1984-85


Encyclopedia of Aesthetics / editor in chief, Michael Kelly. New York : Oxford University Press, 1998.
Greenfield REF 111.8503 En19k


Encyclopedia of American Social History / Mary Kupiec Cayton, Elliott J. Gorn, Peter W. Williams, editors. New York : Scribner ; Toronto : Maxwell Macmillan Canada ; New York : Maxwell Macmillan International, c1993. 3 v.
Greenfield REF 301.0973 En19


Encyclopedia of Creativity / editors in chief, Mark A. Runco, Steven R. Pritzker. San Diego, CA : Academic Press, 1999. 2 v.
Greenfield REF 153.35 En19r


Encyclopedia of Education / James W. Guthrie, editor in chief. 2nd ed. New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2003.
Greenfield REF 370.3 En195 2003


Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration / Fenwick W. English, editor. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, c2006.
Greenfield REF 371.2003 En192e v.1-2


Freed, Melvyn N. The Educator's Desk Reference : A Sourcebook of Educational Information and Research. NY : American Council on Education ; Macmillan, 1989.
Greenfield REF 370.78 F875e


International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. David Sills, ed. NY : Macmillan, 17 vols.
Greenfield REF 370.3 In85


Learning Theories A to Z / David C. Leonard. Oryx Press, 2002.
Greenfield REF 370.3 L552L


Searching the Catalog by Subject

Use the University Libraries catalog to find books, videos, CDs, scores, journal titles, etc. To locate all of the materials the library holds on a topic, it is most efficient to search by Subject. Use the following subject headings in the online catalog. Be careful to follow the exact spelling and form. These subject headings are standard and are used in most libraries.

CHILD DEVELOPMENT
CHILD PSYCHOTHERAPY
CHILDREN WITH DISABILITIES
CREATIVE ABILITY
CURRICULUM PLANNING
EDUCATION
EDUCATION--BIBLIOGRAPHY
EDUCATION--CURRICULA
EDUCATION, ELEMENTARY--CURRICULA
EDUCATION--DICTIONARIES
EDUCATION--ENCYCLOPEDIAS
EDUCATION, HIGHER
EDUCATION--HISTORY
EDUCATION--PHILOSOPHY
EDUCATION, SECONDARY--CURRICULA
EDUCATION--UNITED STATES
EDUCATION--UNITED STATES--HISTORY
EDUCATIONAL PSYCHOLOGY
EDUCATORS
GIFTED CHILDREN--EDUCATION
LEARNING, PSYCHOLOGY OF
MULTICULTURAL EDUCATION
PROBLEM CHILDREN--EDUCATION

Magazine and journal articles will always be the best place to look for current information on your topic. Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in journals and magazines.

Access to the Periodical Indexes and Databases
Go to the library's Research Tools and Resources page for descriptions of Web-based periodical index subscriptions (you must be on the UArts campus network to use these). You can also link directly from the URLs below.

I've Found Articles I Want to Find. Now What?
There are different ways to find an article once you pull up a citation in the index:

  • Check to see if our library holds the journal title. Look up the journal title or the ISSN*** in the catalog and look at the holdings.
  • See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself.
  • See what other libraries in the area hold the journal.
  • Use interlibrary loan to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries.
    • ***What is an ISSN? ISSN stands for International Standard Serial Number and is a unique number for a magazine or journal (not individual articles, but the magazine/journal title itself). You can use it in the UArts Libraries catalog and in many periodical indexes and databases. Searching with a number is much more precise than typing out a long title.

Style Manuals: Citing Your Sources

When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.

Searching the Web can be overwhelming. If you are using the Internet for research you want to choose sites that meet the standards of accuracy, currency and authority.

Below are just a few education Web sites that may be of interest to the UArts community.

Librarians' Index to the Internet
http://lii.org/
A good place to start any research on the Web. Use the menus or type in a search such as "music education". The quotation marks specify a phrase.

Professional associations are great places to look for reliable information. Look for their collections of links.

National Art Education Association
http://www.naea-reston.org/

MENC: The National Association for Music Education
http://www.menc.org/

National Dance Association
http://www.aahperd.org/nda/
One of six national associations within the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance.

National Education Association
http://www.nea.org/index.html

General Sources

National Center for Education Statistics
"This is arguably the single best Web source for readily accessible data on schooling at all levels. It includes online versions of major print data sources, such as the Digest of Education Statistics, The Condition of Education, and Projections of Education Statistics, among others. Beyond that, there are tables of quick facts, as well as links to recent reports on major issues like school crime or the status of the education of African Americans. One can also find data from the Nation's Report Card, otherwise known as the NAEP (National Association of Educational Progress), as well as the School District Demographic page (http://nces.edu.gov/surveys/sdds/), which integrates school district and demographic data drawn from the Census and other sources. There is a wealth of data at this site that is potentially relevant to educational sociologists." Source: Stephen H. Aby's' review in American Reference Books Annual, 2005, entry 279. Greenfield REF 011.02 Am35
http://www.nces.ed.gov/

WSSLinks: Women, Girls, and Education
Maintained by Phyllis Holman Weisbard, Women's Studies Librarian, University of Wisconsin System, for the Association of College & Research Libraries' Women's Studies Section. "This University of Wisconsin site, actually a metasite, can connect researchers to hundreds of other women-related Websites through its collection of fully annotated hyperlinks covering topics like curriculum, pedagogy, research, funding, issues, periodicals, and discussion lists." Quote taken from Linda D. Tietjen's' review in American Reference Books Annual, 2005, entry 273. Greenfield REF 011.02 Am35
http://www.library.wisc.edu/libraries/WomensStudies/womened.htm




Site Search


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.