DECADE RESEARCH: TWENTIETH CENTURY //

 

This is a guide on how to browse 20th century national/world art events by the decade in which they appeared, using selected resources in the Greenfield Library at the University of the Arts. Use it as a jumping-off point in your research. Once you have found names, places, titles, etc., you can consult many additional sources not listed in this guide. Send any questions about this topic to Mary Louise Castaldi, Reference Librarian, MCastaldi@uarts.edu.

Searching by Decade

If you want to do a BROAD SEARCH to find the many books, exhibition catalogs, and dvds that focus on one or more decades, do any of the following KEYWORD SEARCHES in the library catalog:

LIMIT the above searches by ANDing a term:

  • SEARCH (for example) DRAMA AND (FIFTIES OR 50S OR 1950S)
REF before the call number indicates location in the Reference Section and library in-use only.


Timelines of the Arts & General Events

The following books contain information organized by year. Most cover the 20th century up to the mid-1990s.

Chronology of Science and Discovery.
Isaac Asimov. HarperCollins, 1994.
REF 509 As42a 1994



Timelines of the Arts and Literature.
David M. Brownstone. HarperCollins, c1994.
REF 700.202 B825t 1994



Black Saga: the African American Experience: a Chronology.
Charles Melvin Christian. Civitas/Counterpoint, c1999.
REF 973.04960730202 C462b 1999



Chronicle of the 20th Century.
John W. Kirshon, editor. Dorling Kindersley, c1995.
REF 909.82 C468



American Chronicle: Seven Decades in American Life, 1920-1989.
Lois G. Gordon. Crown, c1990.
REF 973.9 G656a 1990



The Timetables of History: a Horizontal Linkage of People and Events.
Bernard Grun. Simon & Schuster, c1991.
REF 902 G92 1991



History of the Internet: a Chronology, 1843 to the Present.
Christos J.P. Moschovitis, et al. ABC-CLIO, 1999.
REF 004.67809 H626m



The New York Times Guide to the Arts of the 20th Century.
Fitzroy Dearborn, 2002.
CONTENTS v.1. 1900-1929 --v.2. 1930-1959 --v.3. 1960-1979 --v.4. 1980-1999.
REF 700.904 N42
The Wilson Chronology of the Arts.
George Ochoa and Melinda Corey. H.W. Wilson Co., 1998.
REF 700.202 Oc3w



Our Times: the Illustrated History of the 20th Century.
Lorraine Glennon., editor in chief. Turner Pub., c1995.
REF 908.82 Ou7g 1995



St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture.
Tom Pendergast, Sara Pendergast, editors. St. James Press, c2000.
REF 973.9 St1e



ARTS--CHRONOLOGY
ARTS,MODERN--20TH CENTURY
HISTORY,MODERN--20TH CENTURY--CHRONOLOGY
HISTORY,MODERN--20TH CENTURY--PICTORIAL WORKS
CHRONOLOGY,HISTORICAL--TABLES
POPULAR CULTURE--UNITED STATES--HISTORY--20TH CENTURY
UNITED STATES--CIVILIZATION--20TH CENTURY

Plays / Playwrights

THE FOLLOWING DATABASE ALLOWS YOU TO FIND PLAYS BY YEAR:
North American Theater Online    select years under Tables of Contents


THE FOLLOWING BOOKS ALLOW YOU TO FIND PLAYS BY YEAR:
Best American Plays.
Crown Publishers.
812.008 B464    [plays from 1918-1992]



The Best Plays.
various Publishers.
812.005 B464    [plays from 1909-present]



Show Time: a Chronology of Broadway and the Theatre from its Beginnings to the Present.
Gene Brown. Macmillan USA, c1997.
REF 792.097471 B813s


American Theatre: a Chronicle of Comedy and Drama.
Oxford University Press.
REF 792.0973 B644a    [in 4 books: 1869-1914; 1914-1930; 1930-1969; 1969-2000]



THE FOLLOWING BOOKS CONTAIN CHRONOLOGIES:

American Feminist Playwrights: a Critical History.
Sally Burke. Twayne Publishers, c1996.
812.009 B917a    [pp. 213-227]



Modern British Drama: the Twentieth Century.
C. D. Innes. Cambridge University Press, 2002.
Vault 822.009 In6m    [pp. xiii-xxvii]



AMERICAN DRAMA--20TH CENTURY
DRAMA--20TH CENTURY
THEATER--UNITED STATES--PERIODICALS
AMERICAN DRAMA--WOMEN AUTHORS--HISTORY & CRITICISM
FEMINISM & THEATER
WOMEN & LITERATURE--UNITED STATES
ENGLISH DRAMA--20TH CENTURY

Novels / Short Stories / Novelists

THE FOLLOWING BOOKS ALLOW YOU TO FIND STORIES BY YEAR:
The Best American Short Stories ...
Houghton Mifflin company, [1916-
Vault 813.0105 B464



The Best American Short Stories of the Century.
John Updike, editor. Houghton Mifflin, 1999.
813.0108 B464u    [Contents p. v]



Calling the Wind: Twentieth Century African-American Short Stories.
Clarence Major, editor. HarperPerennial, c1993.
813.0080896 C134m    [Contents]



The Norton Anthology of American Literature.
Nina Baym, general editor. 7th ed. W.W. Norton, c2007.
810.8 N821 2007    [vol.C: 1865-1914; vol.D: 1914-1945; vol.E: 1945-]



THE FOLLOWING BOOKS CONTAIN CHRONOLOGIES:

Reference Guide to Short Fiction.
Noelle Watson, editor. St. James Press, c1994.
REF 808.831 R259w    [pp. xxix-xxxii]



The Schomburg Center Guide to Black Literature from the Eighteenth Century to the Present.
Roger M. Valade III, editor. Gale Research, c1996.
REF 809.8896 V23s    [pp. xvii-xxvi]



AMERICAN LITERATURE--20TH CENTURY
LITERATURE--BLACK AUTHORS
LITERATURE--MODERN--20TH CENTURY
BLACKS IN LITERATURE
FICTION--20TH CENTURY
AMERICAN FICTION--20TH CENTURY
SHORT STORIES, AMERICAN

Poetry / Poets

THE FOLLOWING BOOKS ALLOW YOU TO FIND POEMS BY YEAR:
Every Shut Eye Ain't Asleep: an Anthology of Poetry by African Americans since 1945.
Michael S. Harper, editor. Little, Brown, c1994.
811.0080896 Ev27h 1994    [poems are dated in Index pp. 317-322]


The Norton Anthology of Modern and Contemporary Poetry.
Jahan Ramazani, editors. 3rd ed. W.W. Norton, c2003.
821.008 N821m 2003 2 vol.



Sixty Years of American Poetry: Celebrating the Anniversary of the Academy of American Poets.
Harry N. Abrams, Publishers, 1996.
811.008 Si99a 1996    [poems are dated in Contents]


Twentieth-Century American Poetry.
Dana Gioia, editors. McGraw Hill, c2004.
811.008 T918g    [poems are dated in text]



AMERICAN POETRY--20TH CENTURY
POETS, AMERICAN--20TH CENTURY
ENGLISH POETRY--20TH CENTURY
AMERICAN POETRY--AFRICAN AMERICAN AUTHORS
POSTMODERNISM (LITERATURE)--UNITED STATES

Film / Filmmakers

THE FOLLOWING BOOKS ALLOW YOU TO FIND FILMS BY YEAR:
75 Years of the Oscar: the Official History of the Academy Awards.
Robert Osborne. Abbeville Press, c2003.
REF 791.43079 Os1s


A History of Narrative Film.
David A. Cook. 3rd ed. W.W. Norton, c1996.
791.4309 C771h 1996



Film Review Index.
Patricia K. Hanson, Stephen L. Hanson, editors. Oryx Press, 1986-
REF 791.0155 F487 2 vols.



Flashback: a Brief History of Film.
Louis Giannetti, Scott Eyman. 5th ed. Pearson/Prentice Hall, c2006.
791.4309 G348f 2006



History of the American Cinema.
Maxwell Macmillan International, c1990-2003.
791.0973 H629 10 vols.



International Film Guide. REF 791.43 In83    [1964-1989 some issues missing]




Variety International Film Guide. REF 791.43 In83v    [1990-2006]




International Film Guide: the Definitive Annual Review of World Cinema. REF 791.43 In83t    [2008-2012]




International Motion Picture Almanac.
Quigley Publications.
REF 791.43 In85    [1958-2001]



The New York Times Film Reviews.
New York Times.
REF 791.0155 N42    [1913-1998]



ACCESS online ALL NYT FILM REVIEWS: search by year, genre, title or country

MOTION PICTURES--UNITED STATES--HISTORY
MOTION PICTURES--HISTORY
MOTION PICTURES--REVIEWS

Visual Arts / Artists

THE FOLLOWING BOOKS ALLOW YOU TO FIND VISUAL MATERIAL BY YEAR:
All-American Ads.
Taschen.
741.670973 Al51h    [separate editions for every decade except 40s & 90s]



History of Modern Art: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Photography.
H. Harvard Arnason. 6th ed. Pearson Prentice Hall, 2010.
709.04 Ar615h 2010



Art Since 1900: Modernism, Antimodernism, Postmodernism.
Hal Foster et al. Thames & Hudson, c2004.
709.04 Ar75fo



A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art.
Ian Chilvers. Oxford University Press, 1998.
REF 709.04003 C439d



Art in the Modern Era: a Guide to Styles, Schools & Movements: 1860 to the Present.
Amy Dempsey. Harry N. Abrams, 2002.
REF 709.04003 D399a



Twentieth-Century Pattern Design: Textile & Wallpaper Pioneers.
Lesley Jackson.. Princeton Architectural Press, 2002.
746.0904 J135t



The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Design since 1900.
Guy Julier. 2nd ed. Thames and Hudson, 2005.
REF 745.403 J944t    [chronology p. 216]



The Prestel Dictionary of Art and Artists of the 20th Century.
Prestel, c2000.
REF 709.04003 P926d



Twentieth Century Artists on Art: an Index to Writings, Statements, and Interviews by Artists, Architects, and Designers.
Jack Robertson. 2nd enl. ed. G.K. Hall, c1996.
REF 709.22016 R547t 1996



ART,MODERN--20TH CENTURY
ARTS,AMERICAN--20TH CENTURY
ART,AMERICAN--20TH CENTURY
ART,EUROPEAN--20TH CENTURY
DESIGN HISTORY--20TH CENTURY
PAINTING,AMERICAN--20TH CENTURY
PAINTING,MODERN--20TH CENTURY
AVANT-GARDE--HISTORY--20TH CENTURY
SCULPTURE,MODERN--20TH CENTURY

Dance / Dancers

Ballet and Modern Dance.
Susan Au. Thames & Hudson, c2002.
792.809 Au1b 2002



International Dictionary of Ballet.
Martha Bremser, editor. St. James Press, c1993.
REF 792.803 In8 2 vols.



No Fixed Points: Dance in the Twentieth Century.
Nancy Reynolds. Yale University Press, c2003.
793.30904 R336n
MUSIC REF GV1619 .R49 2003


MODERN DANCE--HISTORY
MODERN DANCE--UNITED STATES
BALLET--HISTORY

Music

THE FOLLOWING BOOKS ALLOW YOU TO FIND MUSIC MATERIAL BY YEAR:
Broadway Musicals Show by Show.
Hal Leonard Publishing, c1991 [2006].
CONTENTS v.1. 1891-1916 --v.2. 1917-1929 --v.3. 1930-1939 --v.4. 1940-1949 --v.5. 1950-1959 --v.6. 1960-1971 --v.7. 1972-1988 --v.8. 1989-2005.
MUSIC REF M1507 .B77 1991 8 vols.
Chronology of Western Classical Music [1751-2000].
Charles J. Hall. Routledge, c2002.
MUSIC REF ML161 .H35C4 2002 2 vols



A Chronicle of American Music, 1700-1995.
Charles J. Hall. Schirmer Books, c1996.
MUSIC REF ML200 .H35C4 1996



Hollywood Song: the Complete Film & Musical Companion.
Ken Bloom. Facts on File, c1995.
MUSIC REF ML128 .M7B6 1995 3 vols


Music Since 1900.
Nicolas Slonimsky. 5th ed. Maxwell Macmillan International, c1994.
MUSIC REF ML197 .S634M8 1994



Lissauer's Encyclopedia of Popular Music in America: 1888 to the Present.
Robert Lissauer. Paragon House, 1991.
MUSIC REF ML128 .P63L5 1991



A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Composers (1911-1971).
Kenneth Thompson. St. Martin's Press [1973].
MUSIC REF ML118 .T473D4



MUSIC--20TH CENTURY
POPULAR MUSIC--20TH CENTURY

Last updated: 8/20/12




Site Search


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.