This is a guide to Dada and surrealism-related materials in the Greenfield Library at The University of the Arts and was created with UArts course LAAH935, "Dada and Surrealism", in mind. If you have questions about this topic or would like to make an appointment to discuss your research please see the librarian's e-mail address at the end of this document.
The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic) that you can use to find other materials.
Call numbers are for the Greenfield Library unless otherwise indicated.
Kostelanetz, Richard. A Dictionary of the Avant-Gardes. 2nd ed. New York: Routledge, 2001.
REF 700.904 K848d 2001
Atkins, Robert. Artspeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1945 to the Present. 2nd ed. Abbeville Press, 1997.
-*-Short definitions of art movements, art forms, and critical terms. Most entries are broken into who, when, where and what. Compare time coverage with Artspoke below. Both Artspeak and Artspoke have timelines in the front-*-
REF 700.904 At53a 1997
Atkins, Robert. Artspoke: A Guide to Modern Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1848-1944. Abbeville Press, 1993. REF 703 At53a 1993
The Dictionary of Art. Jane Turner, editor. New York: Grove's Dictionaries, 1996.
REF 703 D561t v. 1-34.
Often referred to as the Grove Dictionary of Art, this encyclopedia is a great place to start for any art-related topic. Use the index in volume 34 to find your topic. Use the bibliographies that accompany each article to find additional material. This resource is also available as an online subscription. Go to the UArts Libraries' Electronic Indexes and Databases page and select Grove Art Online. Be sure to read the directions about on- and off-campus access.
Encyclopedia of World Art. McGraw-Hill, 1959-1987. REF 703 En2 v. 1-17
Langmuir, Erika. The Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists. Yale University Press, c2000. REF 703 L267y
Passeron, Rene. Phaidon Encyclopedia of Surrealism. Oxford : Phaidon, 1978.
REF 700.904 P267p
Lucie-Smith, Edward. The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms. Thames and Hudson, 2004. REF 703 L963t 2004
The Oxford Dictionary of Art. 2nd ed. Oxford University Press, 2001. REF 703 Ox2c 2001
Oxford Illustrated Encyclopedia of the Arts. Oxford University Press, 1990. REF 700.3 Ox2n
Pierce, James Smith. From Abacus to Zeus: A Handbook of Art History. 7th ed. Prentice Hall, c2004. REF 703 P611f 2004
Chilvers, Ian. A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art. Oxford University Press, 1998.
REF 709.04003 C439d
Roberston, Jack. Twentieth Century Artists on Art: An Index to Writings, Statements, and Interviews by Artists, Architects, and Designers. New York: G. K. Hall, c1996.
REF 709.22016 R547t 1996
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. Tom Pendergast and Sara Pendergast, editors. Detroit, MI: St. James Press, c2000. REF 791.4303 In85 2000 v. 1-4
Interested in film? Check Volume I for individual films and Volume II for directors. If your film or director is included, you'll find basic information, a bibliography, and a brief scholarly essay.
The New York Times Guide to the Arts of the 20th Century. Chicago, IL: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2002. REF 700.904 N42 v. 1-4
This very useful item contains selected reprints of New York Times articles related to art, architecture, literature, music, dance, theater, film and television, from 1900 through 1999. Use the index in Volume 4 to locate your topic.
Use the University Libraries catalog to find books, videos, CDs, scores, journal titles, etc. To locate all of the materials the library holds on a topic, it is most efficient to search by Subject. Use the following subject headings in the online catalog. Be careful to follow the exact spelling and form. These subject headings are standard and are used in most libraries.ASSEMBLAGE (ART)
DADAISM IN MOTION PICTURES
MAGIC REALSIM (ART)
MAGIC REALISM (LITERATURE)
SURREALISM IN MOTION PICTURES
Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in journals and magazines.
Be aware that there are different ways to find an article once you pull up a citation in the index:
- Check to see if our library holds the journal title. Look in the library's printed list or look up the journal title in the catalog and look at the holdings.
- See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself.
- See what other libraries in the area hold the journal.
- Use interlibrary loan to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries.
On the Web:
Go to the library's Research Tools and Resources page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases, indexes, and reference works. You can select "View Databases by Type" or "View Databases by Subject" to see which is best for your topic, or you can always ask a librarian which ones to try.
When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.
Searching the Web can be overwhelming. If you are using the Internet for research you want to choose sites that meet the standards of accuracy, currency and authority.
Below are just a few Dada and Surrealism sites that may be of interest to the University of the Arts community.
Librarians' Index to the Internet
This is always a good place to start any kind of Internet research.
Art History Resources on the Web
Excellent starting point for any art history sort of topic. Follow the menus to your topic.
International Dada Archive at the University of Iowa Libraries
Salvador Dali Museum