CRAFTS //

The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic) that you can use to find other materials.

It is important also to search journals and magazines when looking for information on an artist. Use the Article Databases to find articles on artists, exhibitions or current techniques.


Online Reference Sources for Crafts


Arts: Search includes:
  • Design Abstracts Retrospective (DAR): index of select international 20th C. design journals
  • Art+Architecture Profiles (AAP): profiles of contemporary designers, architects & craftspeople covered in DAR
  • ReView: scanned images of select 19th & 20th C. design journals.

Material Connexion is a database of over 1400 new raw materials, processes and products.

Oxford Art Online contains Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.

Reference Books about Crafts

This is a selective list of dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books on craft in general and the history of craft. REF before the call number indicates location in the Reference Section and library in-use only.

The Dictionary of Art.
Jane Turner, editor. Grove's Dictionaries, 1996.
REF N31 .D5 1996 v.1-34 (v.34 has an index)
Also as an online subscription
A great source for the history of crafts, read the online entry on craft for an overview.
Handtools of Arts and Crafts: The Encyclopedia of the Fine, Decorative, and Applied Arts.
St. Martin's Press, c1981
REF TT153.7 .H36
Nicely illustrated, this reference describes over 2,000 tools used in the arts and crafts.
Materials & Techniques in the Decorative Arts: An Illustrated Dictionary.
Lucy Trench, editor. University of Chicago Press, 2000.
REF NK30 .M38 2000
Offering concise entries on many topics in the decorative arts and crafts, this reference is very helpful in clarifying terminology.
The Encyclopedia of Crafts.
Laura Torbet, editor. Scribner, c1980.
REF TT9 .E5 v.1-3
This encyclopedia covers nearly fifty types of crafts with extensive cross-references for further research.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts.
Gordon Campbell, editor. Oxford University Press, 2006.
REF NK28 .G76 2006 v.1-2
Well-researched essays on all of the crafts disciplines, including domestic arts and folk art, are included.
Encyclopedia of American Folk Art.
Gerard C. Wertkin, editor. Routledge, 2004.
REF NK805 .E6 2004
This terrific reference covers three centuries of folk art, with entries on artists, institutions, and general subjects. Bibliographies follow each entry.

Subject Headings about Crafts

These broad subject headings are subdivided by country, history, art movement, and time period. Especially check the subdivision Related Subjects for the following:

Artisans
Arts and Crafts Movement
Decoration and Ornament
Decorative Arts
Handicraft
Industrial Arts
Interior Decoration

Circulating Books about Crafts

A Theory of Craft.
Howard Risatti. University of North Carolina Press, c2007.
NK1110 .R57 2007
Risatti covers all of the craft discplines in regard to both aesthetics and functionality.
Thinking through Craft.
Glenn Adamson. Berg Publishers, 2007.
N8510 .A33 2007
Adamson focuses on the discipline of craftsmenship and the supposed "inferiority" of craft to fine arts.
The Culture of Craft.
Peter Dormer, editor. St. Martin's Press, 1997.
TT145 .C84 1997
This book provides good overview of current craft technologies and how they may impact the history and culture of craft.
The Craft Reader.
Glenn Adamson, editor. Berg Publishers, 2010.
TT149 .C733 2010
Written by artistans and crafters, this collection of essays on modern craft covers history, theory, and practice from a global perspective.

Reference Books about Ceramics

REF before the call number indicates location in the Reference Section and library in-use only.

The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic) that you can use to find other materials.


The Dictionary of Art.
Jane Turner, editor. Grove's Dictionaries, 1996.
REF N31 .D5 1996 v.1-34 (v.34 has an index)
Also as an online subscription
A great source for the history of ceramics, read the online entry on ceramics.
Illustrated Dictionary of Pottery Decoration.
Robert Fournier. 1st ed. Prentice-Hall, c1986.
REF TT920 .F677 1986

This dictionary includes entries on various subjects concerning the history, styles, and techniques of ceramics.

Subject Headings about Ceramics

These broad subject headings are subdivided by country, history, art movement, and time period. Especially check the subdivision Related Subjects for the following:

Art Pottery
Ceramics
Ceramic Sculpture
Glazes
Kilns
Majolica
Porcelain
Potters
Pottery
Pottery, American -check also Chinese, English, Japanese, etc.
Pottery Craft
Pottery Marks
Raku Pottery
Slipware
Stoneware
Teapots
Tiles
Vases

Circulating Books about Ceramics

New Ceramic Design.
Edmund de Waal. Northlight Books, c1999.
TT920 .D49 1999

De Waal showcases over 70 contemporary ceramic artists.

Encyclopedia of Pottery Techniques.
Peter Cosentino. Running Press, 1990.
TP807 .C63 1990

This is a practical and informative guide for basic and advanced ceramic techniques.
Ceramics of the World: From 4000 B.C. to the Present.
Lorenzo Camusso and Sandro Bortone, editors. H.N. Abrams, 1992.
NK3780 .C37 1992

This is an historical overview of form, techniques and functions.
 
20th Century Ceramics.
Edmund de Waal. Thames & Hudson, 2003.
NK3930 .D419 2003

An international perspective on styles and techniques is considered in this comprehensive overview.
Contemporary Ceramics.
Emmanuel Cooper. Thames & Hudson, 2009.
NK3930 .C667 2009

This full-color book highlights international artists using clay for traditional, functional forms as well as more conceptual work.
Functional Pottery: Form and Aesthetic in Pots of Purpose.
Robin Hopper. Krause Publications, c2000.
TT920 .H66 2000

This is an historical overview about ceramics made for household use.
The Craft And Art Of Clay : A Complete Potter's Handbook
Susan Peterson. Laurence King, 2012.
NK4225 .P48 2012

Search by time periods and artistic styles to view beautiful images of this ancient art form.
Ceramics: A World Guide to Traditional Techniques.
Bryan Sentance. Thames & Hudson, 2004.
TP807 .S46 2004

This is a comprehensive international survey of ceramic styles, techniques, and functions.
The Ceramic Glaze Handbook: Materials, Techniques, Formulas.
Mark Burleson. Lark Books, 2001.
TA430 .B87 2001

This resource covers glaze chemistry and firing techniques with images of sample glazes and firing temperatures.
The Ceramic Spectrum: A Simplified Approach to Glaze and Color Development.
Robin Hopper. Chilton Book Co., c1984.
TP823 .H66 1984

This is an excellent overview of glazing materials, techniques, and firing requirements.
1000 tiles: Ten Centuries of Decorative Ceramics.
Gordon Lang, editor. Chronicle Books, 2004.
NK4670 .A17 2004

Search by time periods and artistic styles to view beautiful images of this ancient art form.

Reference Books about Fibers

REF before the call number indicates location in the Reference Section and library in-use only.

The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic) that you can use to find other materials.


Fairchild's Dictionary of Textiles.
Isabel B. Wingate, ed. 6th ed. Fairchild Publications, 1979.
REF TS1309 .F34 1979

This is a popular and comprehensive source on textiles.

The Dictionary of Art.
Jane Turner, editor. Grove's Dictionaries, 1996.
REF N31 .D5 1996 v.1-34 (v.34 has an index)
Also as an online subscription
A great source for the history of fibers, read the online entries on textile and fibre art.
Textiles: A Classification of Techniques.
Annemarie Seiler-Baldinger. Smithsonian Institution Press, c1994.
REF TS1449 .S4613 1995

The various methods of manufacturing and decorating fabrics are covered here.

Subject Headings about Fibers

These broad subject headings are subdivided by country, history, art movement, and time period. Especially check the subdivision Related Subjects for the following:

Basket-Making
Baskets
Basketwork
Braid
Carpets
Dyes and Dyeing
Dyes and Dyeing - Textile Fibers
Embroidery
Fiberwork
Hand-Weaving
Lace and Lace-Making
Needlework
Quilting
Quilts
Resist-Dyed Textiles
Rugs
Tapestry
Textile Crafts
Textile Design
Textile Industry
Textile Fabrics
Textile Fibers
Textile Printing
Wall Hangings
Weaving

Circulating Books about Fibers

Women's Work: The First 20,000 Years: Women, Cloth, and Society in Early Times.
Elizabeth Wayland Barber. Norton, c1994.
GN799.T43 B37 1994

Wayland Barber provides a focused look at spinning and weaving as historically women's domestic work.
The Cambridge History of Western Textiles.
Cambridge University Press, 2003.
NK8906 .C36 2003 v.1 & 2

This two volume set introduces the social and cultural roles of textiles from ancient to present times.
String, Felt, Thread: The Hierarchy of Art and Craft in American Art.
Elissa Auther. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, c2010.
TT699 .A98 2010

Auther traces the history of fiber art from "low" craft to "high" art in this well-researched book.
Textiles, 5,000 years: An International History and Illustrated Survey.
Jennifer Harris, ed. H.N. Abrams, 1993.
NK8806 .T45 1993

Beautiful examples of textiles from all over the world highlight this overview of fibers history.
The Art of Weaving.
Else Regensteiner. Van Nostrand Reinhold Co., 1970
TT848 .R43

This foundation text introduces the different types of weaving and their processes.
1,000 Artisan Textiles: Contemporary Fiber Art, Quilts, and Wearables.
Sandra Salamony and Gina M. Brown. Quarry Books, c2010.
NK8812 .S25 2010

Covering all types of fiber art, this beautiful book introduces contemporary artists and techniques.
World Textiles: A Concise History.
Mary Schoeser. Thames & Hudson, 2003.
NK8806 .S346 2003

This is an excellent comprehensive source on the history and production of textiles.
Contemporary International Basketmaking.
Mary Butcher. Merrell Holberton, 1999.
NK3649.5 .C66 1999

Contemporary artists and their innovative basketry techniques are beautifully documented.
For a series of books on different counties, search the title Art Textiles of the World.

Reference Books about Glass

REF before the call number indicates location in the Reference Section and library in-use only.

The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic) that you can use to find other materials.


Dictionary of Enamelling.
Erica Speel. Ashgate, c1998.
REF NK4998.5 .S6 1998

This dictionary covers the long history of enamelling including important works and enamellers, techniques, and styles.
An Illustrated Dictionary of Glass.
Harold Newman. Thames & Hudson, c1977.
REF TP788 .N48

This comprehensive source covers glassware, materials, processes, and artisans from ancient times through present.

Subject Headings about Glass

These broad subject headings are subdivided by country, history, art movement, and time period. Especially check the subdivision Related Subjects for the following:

Enamel and Enameling
Glass Art
Glass Artists
Glass Blowing and Working
Glass Craft
Glass Painting and Staining
Glass Sculpture
Glassware

Circulating Books about Glass

Glass Blowing: A Technical Manual.
Ed Burke. Crowood Press, 2005.
TP859 .B87 2005

An overview of glass blowing, from tools and techniwues to equipment and processing, is covered here.
The Art of Fire: Beginning Glassblowing.
James McKelvey. Third Degree Press, c2006.
TP859 .M15

McKelvey covers all the instructional basics for the beginner glass blower.
Dale Chihuly: A Celebration.
Rock Hushka. Abrams, c2011.
NK5198.C43 A4 2011

Published on the advent of this famous glass artist's 70th birthday, Chihuly's influences and creative processes are explored.
5000 Years of Glass.
Hugh Tait, editor. University of Pennsylvania Press, 2004.
NK5106 .A150 2012

This book documents the history of glass from its beginnings in western Asia to the experimental techniques of contemporary artists in North America and Europe.
Glass Throughout Time: History and Technique of Glassmaking From the Ancient World to the Present.
Rosa Barovier Mentasti, editor. Rizzoli International, 2003.
NK5106 .E7213 2003

The history of glass and glassmaking is discussed using important pieces from public and private collections as examples.
Contemporary Glass: Color, Light and Form.
Ray Leier, et al. North Light, c2001.
NK5110 .L454 2001

Top artists in the field of contemporary glass are showcased.
Stained Glass: From its Origins to the Present.
Virginia Chieffo Raguin. H.N. Abrams, 2003.
NK5306 .R34 2003

This book covers the history of stained glass, covering different styles, techniques, and artists.
Stained Glass: Masterpieces of the Modern Era.
Xavier Barral i Altet. Thames & Hudson, 2007.
NK5310 .B3713 2007

This is a great reference for international and contemporary stained glass.

Reference Books about Metals

REF before the call number indicates location in the Reference Section and library in-use only.

The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic) that you can use to find other materials.


Gems: Their Sources, Descriptions and Identification.
Michael O'Donaghue, editor. 6th ed. Butterworth-Heinemann, 2006.
REF QE392 .W37 2006
This is a very comprehensive resource on all the precious stones.
Color Encyclopedia of Gemstones.
Joel E. Arem. 2nd ed. Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1987.
REF QE392 .A69 1987

This reference covers the technical details of precious stones, including data on refraction and cutting.
Manufacturing Processes Reference Guide.
Robert Todd. 1st ed. Industrial Press, 1994.
REF TS183 .T63 1994

This references breaks down each manufacturing process by knowledge, application, and development.
The Dictionary of Art.
Jane Turner, editor. Grove's Dictionaries, 1996.
REF N31 .D5 1996 v.1-34 (v.34 has an index)
Also as an online subscription
A great source for the history of jewelry, read the online entries on jewelry, metal, and gems.
Dictionary of Enamelling.
Erica Speel. Ashgate, c1998.
REF NK4998.5 .S6 1998

This dictionary covers the long history of enamelling including important works and enamellers, techniques, and styles.
The Colouring, Bronzing and Patination of Metals: A Manual for Fine Metalworkers, Sculptors and Designers: Cast Bronze, Cast Brass, Copper and Copper-Plate, Gilding Metal, Sheet Yellow Brass, Silver and Silver Plate.
Richard Hughes. Thames and Hudson, 1991, c1982.
REF TS710 .H83 1991

This reference provides information on coloring techniques as well as receipes for bronzing and other patinas.
The Encyclopedia of Jewelry-Making Techniques.
Jinks McGrath. Running Press, 1995.
REF TT212 .M39 1995

This reference covers various jewelry-making techniquesand materials, with step by step details to craft items including brooches and necklaces.
An Illustrated Dictionary of Jewelry.
Harold Newman. Thames & Hudson, 1981.
REF NK7304 .N43 1981

This well-illustrated volume offers cross-references and bibliographies for further reading.
The Compendium Finale of Contemporary Jewellers, 2008.
Andy Lim, editor. Darling Publications, 2009.
REF NK7300.7 .C6 2009 v.1-2

This set highlights contemporary jewelers and metal artists from all over the world.

Subject Headings about Metals

These broad subject headings are subdivided by country, history, art movement, and time period. Especially check the subdivision Related Subjects for the following:

Art Metal Work
Art Metal Workers
Beads
Blacksmithing
Costume Jewelry
Enamel and
enameling

Founding
Gems
Goldsmiths
Gold Jewelry
Goldwork
Ironwork
Jewelry
Jewelry History
Jewelry Making
Metal Work
Precious Stones
Rings
Sculpture Technique
Silver Jewelry
Silversmiths
Silverwork
Welding
Wire Craft

Circulating Books about Metals

The Complete Modern Blacksmith.
Alexander G. Weygers. Ten Speed Press, c1997.
TJ1195 .W48 1997

This book covers the making, repair, and maintenance of all kinds of tools essential for the metal craftsman.
Metal Techniques for Craftsmen: A Basic Manual for Craftsmen on the Methods of Forming and Decorating Metals.
Oppi Untracht. Doubleday, c1975.
TT205 .U55

Untracht offers step by step instructions on how to form and fabricate objects in metal.
The Theory & Practice of Goldsmithing.
Erhard Brepohl. Brynmorgen Press, 2001.
TS725 .B6613 2001

This is a comprehensive resource including techniques and tools used in goldsmithing.
Silversmithing: A Manual of Design and Techniques.
Keith Smith. Crowood, 2000.
NK7104 .S64 2000

Keith Smith is a master silversmith and provides in-depth information on silversmithing techniques.
On Jewellery: A Compendium of International Art Jewellery.
Liesbeth den Besten. Arnoldsche, 2011
NK7310.5 .B478 2011

Reference Books about Wood

REF before the call number indicates location in the Reference Section and library in-use only.

The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic) that you can use to find other materials.


The Encyclopedia of Wood: A Tree-by-Tree Guide to the World's Most Valuable Resource.
Adian Walker, editor. Facts on File, 1989.
REF TA419 .E53 1989

With color illustrations and photography, this text discusses wood anatomy and processing as well as detailing various species.
The Encyclopedia of Furniture.
Joseph Aronson, 3d ed., completely rev. Crown Publishera, 1965.
REF NK2205 .E34 2000

This encyclopedia covers historical periods as well as designers and furniture makers. Includes a bibliography.
Dictionary of Furniture.
Charles Boyce, editor. Facts on File, c2001.
REF NK2205 .D53 2014

This is a comprehensive reference with more than 2,000 illustrated entries covering styles, designs, and materials.
Encyclopedia of Furniture Materials, Trades, and Techniques.
Clive Edwards. Ashgate Publications, c2000.
REF NK2205 .E34 2000

Edwards covers furniture history from the Renaissance through contemporary practices, extensively covering Britian and the United States.

Subject Headings about Wood

These broad subject headings are subdivided by country, history, art movement, and time period. Especially check the subdivision Related Subjects for the following:

Architect-Designed Furniture
Art Woodwork
Cabinetwork
Carpentry
Chair Design
Chairs
Furniture
Furniture Design
Furniture, England - check also France, United States, etc.
Furniture Finishing
Furniture History
Furniture Making
Furniture Repairing
Hardware
Joinery
Marquetry
Tools
Turning
Wood
Wood Carving
Wood Carving Technique
Wood Engraving
Wood Finishing
Wood Identification
Woodwork
Woodworking Tools

Circulating Books about Wood

Wood: The World of Woodwork and Carving.
Bryan Sentance. Thames & Hudson, 2003.
NK9706 .S45 2003

This overall guide to wood reviews different species, tools, carving, and design techniques.
The Woodworker's Guide to Hand Tools.
Peter Korn. Taunton Press, c1998.
TT186 .K67 1998

Korn covers many of the tools used by woodworkers and furniture makers, including use and repair.
Scratching the Surface: Art and Content in Contemporary Wood.
Michael Hosaluk. North Light Books, c2002.
NK9611 .H67 2002

Over 40 contemporary wood artists are featured here.
A Marquetry Odyssey: Historical Objects and Personal Work.
Silas Kopf. National Book Network, c2008.
NK9920 .K67 2008

Cabinetmaker Silas Kopf discusses the rich history and technique of marquetry as well as provides insight into his own studio process.
Furniture: A Concise History.
Edward Lucie-Smith. Thames and Hudson, c1993.
NK2270 .L82 1979b

The publishers notes that this texts provides considers furniture "not as a succession of collectors' pieces, but as a statement about the society that created it."
500 Chairs: Celebrating Traditional and Innovative Designs.
Ray Hemachandra, editor. Lark Books, c2008.
TT197.5.C45 A185 2008

Get inspired to create by browsing through this beautiful book of contemporary chairs.
Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.

Go to the library's Article Databases page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases. Check out the following for this topic:
JSTOR is all full-text, scholarly articles.
Nexis Uni is mostly newspaper articles. It is full-text and updated daily.
ProQuest: The Arts searches two relevant databases: ARTbibliographies Modern and the Design and Applied Arts Index.
ReVIEW contains full-text 19th and early 20th century decorative arts journals.
EBSCOhost has a lot of full-text and scholarly articles covering a wide range of subjects.

I found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:

See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself. Click the FindIt@UArts icon to see if our library holds the journal title. FindIt@UArts will also tell you if the full-text article is available in a different database.
Use interlibrary loan to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries.
There are many excellent craft-related websites for musuems, organizations, and digital collections. They provide access to images, articles, videos, and other scholarship. Also see UArts Libraries Diigo items tagged crafts, ceramics, glass, metals, wood, textiles, and fashion.

accessCeramics
This is a continually updated image collection of work by international contemporary ceramicists.
Corning Museum of Glass
Located in Corning, NY, their website provides access to their digital collection as well as exhibition essays and scholarly articles.
Craft in America
This organization focuses on the preservation and scholarship of American craft and design. The website has excellent resources but there is also a book and TV series.
Decorative Arts and Material Culture
From the University of Wisconsin-Madison, this is a digital library of images, articles, and other resources related to craft.
Fabric Workshop and Museum
This Philadelphia museum holds international acclaim as being dedicated to contemporary and experimental fiber art.
Klimt02
This is a website that offers space of knowledge, information, debates and exchanges inside the context of contemporary jewellery.
Metal Museum
This musem is dedicated to preserving and promoting all types of artistic metalwork.
Museum of Arts and Design
Located in NYC, MAD has over 95% of its permanent collection available for online viewing.
Smithsonian
The Smithsonian website has ample resources about their craft collections like A Revolution in Wood, African ceramics, or The Jewelry of Van Cleef and Arpels.
Snyderman-Works Gallery
This Philadelphia gallery exhibits contemporary crafts, particularly textiles, clay, wood, and metals.
The Center for Art in Wood
Located here in Philadelphia, The Center is dedicated to the promotion of and education about contemporary wood artistans.
VADS (Visual Arts Data Service)
VADS contains numerous collections and resources related to crafts, including the Crafts Study Centre, the Textiles Collection, and the collection of Medieval Stained Glass in Great Britian.
Victoria and Albert Museum
This London museum of art and design has an extensive collection of crafts and excellent online resources.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.