COPYRIGHT
& ART LAW //

 

This is a research guide for finding materials on copyright and art law in the Greenfield and Music Libraries at the University of the Arts. Reference materials are listed first, followed by a list of suggested subject headings for searching library catalogs. Periodical indexes to magazine articles and newspapers are next, followed by style manuals and finally Web sites. If you have questions about this topic please contact Sara MacDonald, Public Services Librarian.

The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic) that you can use to find other materials.

ART LAW

Brinson, J. Dianne. Multimedia Law and Business Handbook. Menlo Park, CA : Ladera Press, c1996.
Greenfield REF 343.730999 B772m

Lerner, Ralph and Judith Bresler. Art Law: The Guide for Collectors, Investors, Dealers, and Artists. 2nd ed. Practising Law Institute, 1998.
Greenfield REF 344.097 L562a 1998
Includes chapters on copyright, theft, forgeries, auction methods, artists' rights, estates, and digital images.

Darraby, Jessica L. Art, Artifact & Architecture Law. Clark Boardman Callaghan, 1995.
Greenfield REF 344.73097 D252a

DuBoff, Leonard. The Art Business Encyclopedia. Allworth Press, 1994.
Greenfield REF 702.3 D852a

Crawford, Tad. Legal Guide for the Visual Artist. 5th ed. Allworth Press, 2010.
Greenfield Open Stacks 700.26 C949 2010

Fishman, Stephen. The Public Domain: How to Find and Use Copyright-Free Writings, Music and More. 5th ed. Allworth Press, 2010.
Greenfield Open Stacks 346.0482 F539p 2010
Music REF KF3022 .F57 2010

Norwick, Kenneth P. The Rights of Authors, Artists, and Other Creative People: The Basic ACLU Guide to Author and Artist Rights. 2nd ed. Southern Illinois University Press, 1992.
Greenfield Open Stacks 344.73097 N831r 1992

Schulenberg, Richard. Legal Aspects of the Music Industry: An Insider's View. 2nd ed. NY: Billboard Books, 2005.
Music REF KF4291 .S28 2005

COPYRIGHT

Bruwelheide, Janis Hr. The Copyright Primer for Librarians and Educators. 2nd ed. National Education Association, c1995.
Greenfield REF 346.0482 B839c 1995
Music REF KF3035 .Z9B7 1995
Addresses issues of fair use for education.

Althouse, Jay. Copyright: The Complete Guide for Music Educators. Music in Action; Van Nuys, CA: distributed by Alfred Publishing, c1997.
Music REF KF3035 .Z9A4 1997

Everyone's Guide to Copyrights, Trademarks, and Patents: The Comprehensive Handbook for Protecting Your Writing, Inventions, and Other Creative Work. Running Press, 1990.
Greenfield REF 346.0482 Ev27

The University Libraries combine their holdings in one online catalog. Use the University Libraries catalog to find books, videos, CDs, DVDs, scores, etc. To locate all of the materials the library holds on a topic, it is most efficient to search by Subject. Use the following subject headings in the online catalog. Be careful to follow the exact spelling and form. These subject headings are standard and are used in most libraries.

ARTISTS' CONTRACTS
ARTISTS -- LEGAL STATUS, LAWS, ETC.
COPYRIGHT
COPYRIGHT AND ELECTRONIC DATA PROCESSING
COPYRIGHT--ART
COPYRIGHT--MUSIC
COPYRIGHT--PERFORMING ARTS
COPYRIGHT--PHOTOGRAPHS
CULTURAL PROPERTY--PROTECTION
FAIR USE (COPYRIGHT)
LAW AND ART
PHOTOCOPYING--FAIR USE (COPYRIGHT)
PUBLIC DOMAIN (COPYRIGHT)
VIDEO RECORDINGS--FAIR USE (COPYRIGHT)

Periodical Indexes: Finding Articles

Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.

Go to the library's Article Databases and Indexes page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases. Not sure which one to try? Give us a call (215-717-6280) or contact Sara MacDonald, UArts Public Services Librarian.

I've found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:

  • See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself.

  • Click the FindIt@UArts icon to see if our library holds the journal title. FindIt@UArts will also tell you if the full-text article is available in a different database.

  • Use the interlibrary loan search tool, WorldCat, to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries or to see what other libraries have the title you need.

Style Manuals: Citing Your Sources

When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.

Searching the Web can be overwhelming. If you are using the Internet for research you want to choose sites that meet the standards of accuracy, currency and authority.

Below are just a few copyright-related sites that may be of interest to the University of the Arts community.

Internet Public Library
ipl2, the Internet Public Library, is always a great place to start to find recommended Web sites. You can just search for copyright or get more specific.

College & Research Libraries News: Innovative Copyright
http://crln.acrl.org/content/72/10/596.full
Nice essay from the November 2011 issue of College & Research Libraries News.

Copyright Quickguide: Columbia University Libraries
http://copyright.columbia.edu/copyright/copyright-in-general/copyright-quickguide/
Great site with all the basics about copyright.

Copyright Clearance Center
http://www.copyright.com/
"Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) is a global rights broker for the world's most sought after print and online content, from books, journals and newspapers to blogs and images." Source: About Us. Good collection of links under Resources.

Electronic Frontier Foundation
http://www.eff.org/
"From the Internet to the iPod, technologies are transforming our society and empowering us as speakers, citizens, creators, and consumers. When our freedoms in the networked world come under attack, the Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) is the first line of defense. EFF broke new ground when it was founded in 1990 ,Ai well before the Internet was on most people's radar ,Ai and continues to confront cutting-edge issues defending free speech, privacy, innovation, and consumer rights today."--from About EFF

Music Library Association: Copyright for Music Librarians
http://copyright.musiclibraryassoc.org/

Stanford University Libraries: Copyright and Fair Use
http://fairuse.stanford.edu/web_resources/articles.html
A selection of links to very interesting fair use-related articles.

10 Big Myths About Copyright Explained / by Brad Templeton
http://www.templetons.com/brad/copymyths.html

United States Copyright Office
http://www.copyright.gov/
The official source on US copyright law. See also US Copyright Office, Section 107 on fair use, and Copyright Resources links.

The University of Texas System Crash Course in Copright
http://copyright.lib.utexas.edu/
Site by Georgia Harper, manager of the Intellectual Property Section of the Office of General Counsel for the University of Texas System, where she specializes in copyright law. Includes a Crash Course Tutorial geared to faculty.




Site Search


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.