CAREERS IN THE ARTS //

This is a guide for finding materials about job-hunting or vocational guidance in the Greenfield and Music Libraries at the University of the Arts®. It lists print materials that deal primarily with the visual and performing arts. Send any questions about this topic to Mary Louise Castaldi, Reference Librarian, at mcastaldi@uarts.edu.

For Music information, see Music Careers and Career Management

SEE ALSO Résumés, Portfolios, & Auditions

The FIRST STOP for any student looking for job or career information should be CAREER SERVICES.

Each main heading is followed by appropriate subject headings which may be used to search additional materials in this or other libraries, including E-books.

All listed books are in the Greenfield Library unless noted as being in the Music Library.
REF before the call number indicates location in the Reference Section and library in-use only. Reference books are listed first in each section.


General/All-Arts

VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE
JOB HUNTING
ARTS--VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE

Careers in focus. Art.
2nd ed. Ferguson, c2008.
N8350 .C37 2008

Careers in focus. Design.
2nd ed. Ferguson, c2005.
NK1172 .C37 2005

Field, Shelly. Career opportunities in advertising and public relations.
3rd ed. Facts on File, c2002.
HF5828.4 .F54 2002

Gardner, Elizabeth b. Opportunities in arts and crafts careers.
Rev. ed. McGraw-Hill, c2006.
NX163 .G37 2006

Job Bank Greater Philadelphia Cultural Alliance. Online database of local job listings, especially administrative.

Occupational outlook handbook, 2010-2011. U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. Washington, D.C. : The Bureau.

Ormont, Ronda. Career solutions for creative people: how to balance artistic goals with career security. Allworth Press, c2001.
HF5382.7 .O76 2001

Top careers for art graduates. Checkmark Books/Facts On File, c2004.
N8350 .T66 2004

Acting

ACTING--VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE
MOTION PICTURE ACTING
TELEVISION ACTING
THEATERS--UNITED STATES--DIRECTORIES

Alburger, James R. The art of voice acting: the craft and business of performing for voice-over. 2nd ed. Focal Press, 2002.
791.45028023 Al15a 2002
Greenfield CDs & CD-ROM GCD320 (Ask at the Circulation Desk)

Gillespie, Bonnie. Self-management for actors: getting down to (show) business. 3rd ed. Cricket Feet Pub., c2009.
PN2055 .G49 2014

Art/Design

ART--MARKETING
ART--UNITED STATES--MARKETING
ART--VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE
COMMERCIAL ART--UNITED STATES--MARKETING
COMMERCIAL ART--VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE
GRAPHIC ARTS--MARKETING
GRAPHIC ARTS--VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE

Greenfield Reference

Artist's & graphic designer's market: how to sell your art and make a living
F & W Publications for Writer's Digest Books, c1994- Published annually.
REF N8600 .A76 2018

Literary market place with names and numbers. R. R. Bowker Co. Published annually.
-*- Lists US and Canadian book publishers, literary agents, book manufacturers, editorial and art services, photographers, photo agencies, awards and prizes, etc. Good source for illustrators. -*-
REF PN161 .L5 v.1-2 2017

Greenfield Open Stacks

Abbott, Robert J. Art & reality: the new standard reference guide and business plan for actively developing your career as an artist.
3rd ed. Seven Locks Press, c2001.
N8600 .A19 2001

AIGA professional practices in graphic design. Allworth Press ; co-published with the American Institute of Graphic Arts, c2008.
NC1001.6 .A44 2008

Austin, Tricia. New media design. Laurence King Pub., 2007.
NC997 .A775 2007

Business of art: an artist's guide to profitable self-employment. Center for Cultural Innovation, c2008.
N8600 .B8753 2008

Careers in focus. Design.
2nd ed. Ferguson, c2005.
NK1172 .C37 2005

Clark, Sheree L. Get noticed! self-promotion for creative professionals. North Light Books, 2000.
NK634 .C58 2000

Crawford, Tad. The graphic design business book. Allworth Press: Graphic Artists Guild, c2005.
NC1001.6 .C69 2005

Foote, Cameron S. The creative business guide to running a graphic design business.
updated ed. W. W. Norton, c2009.
NC998.5.A1 F663 2009

Goodman, Calvin J. Art marketing handbook: art marketing in the 21st century.
7th ed., rev. and enl. Gee Tee Bee, c2003.
N8600 .G6597 2003

Grant, Daniel. The business of being an artist. 4th ed. Allworth Press, c2010.
N8600 .G7 2015

Grant, Daniel. The fine artist's career guide: making money in the arts and beyond.
2nd ed. Allworth Press, c2004.
N6505 .G657 2004

Hannah, Bruce. Becoming a product designer: a guide to careers in design. Wiley, c2004.
TS171 .H345 2004

Heller, Steven. Becoming a graphic & digital designer : a guide to careers in design.
John Wiley & Sons, c2015. NC1001 .H45 2015

Ilasco, Meg Mateo. Creative, inc.: the ultimate guide to running a successful freelance business. Chronicle Books, c2010.
N8350 .I42 2010

Lazzari, Margaret R. The practical handbook for the emerging artist. Harcourt College Pub., c2002.
N6505 .L39 2002

Linde, Riccard. Game art: creation, direction, and careers. 1st ed. Charles River Media, c2005.
Greenfield CDs & CD-ROM GCD300 (Ask at the Circulation Desk)

Michels, Caroll. How to survive and prosper as an artist: selling yourself w/o selling your soul. 6th ed. H. Holt, 2009.
N6505 .M46 2009

Piscopo, Maria. The graphic designer's and illustrator's guide to marketing and promotion. Allworth Press, c2004.
NC1001.6 .P577 2004

Shapiro, Ellen. The graphic designer's guide to clients: how to make clients happy and do great work. Allworth Press, c2003.
NC1001.6 .S48 2003

Shaughnessy, Adrian. How to be a graphic designer, without losing your soul. Princeton Architectural Press, 2010.
NC1001 .S53 2010

Stanfield, Alyson b. I'd rather be in the studio!: the artist's no-excuse guide to self-promotion. Pentas Press, 2008.
N8600 .S73 2008

Art Education/Museums

TEACHING--VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE
MUSEUMS--VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE

NOTE: For annual directories of public and private elementary, secondary and postsecondary schools, look for Patterson's American Education and Patterson's Elementary Education. The Greenfield Library does not have these; try the Education Dept. at the Free Library of Philadelphia or any other medium-to-large academic or public library.

Requirements for certification of teachers, counselors, librarians, administrators for elementary and secondary schools.
University of Chicago Press, 1935- Published annually.
REF LB1771 .W6 2017-18

Pandiscio, Herbert F. (Herbert Frederick) Job hunting in education: an insider's guide. ScarecrowEducation, 2004.
LB1780 .P36 2004

Aviso (e-newsletter of American Association of Museums)


Online version provides access to classifieds.

Burdick, Jan E. Creative careers in museums. Allworth Press, 2008.
AM11 .B87 2008

CAA (College Art Association)
Online site provides access to fellowships, awards, seminars, teaching positions

Chronicle of Higher Education [weekly] - All types of jobs in education: lists teaching positions, grants.
located first floor Greenfield Library

Schlatter, N. Elizabeth. Museum careers: a practical guide for students and novices. Left Coast Press, c2008.
069.023 Sch36m

Crafts

HANDICRAFT--MARKETING--HANDBOOKS, MANUALS, ETC.

Creating a new craft culture: American Craft Council conference 2009. American Craft Council, c2010.
NX50 .A53 2009

Gardner, Elizabeth B. Opportunities in arts and crafts careers.
Rev. ed. McGraw-Hill, c2006.
NX163 .G37 2006

Levine, Faythe. Handmade nation: the rise of DIY, art, craft, and design. Princeton Architectural Press, c2008.
TT23 .L487 2008

Rowley, Lee. How to market and sell your art, music, photographs, and handmade crafts online: turn your hobby into a cash machine. Atlantic Pub. Group, c2008.
HF5548.32 .R687 2008

Dance / Performing Arts

DANCE--VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE
PERFORMING ARTS--VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE

Dance annual directory. Macfadden Dance magazine, LLC., c2003- Published annually. [formerly Stern's directory]
-*- lists dance companies, dance professionals, managers & agents, festivals, funding, resources and study.-*-

Musical America: international directory of the performing arts. ABC Consumer Magazines; Musical America Publications,[196-?] Published annually.
MUSIC REF ML12 .M985 2018

Stage directors handbook: opportunities for directors and choreographers. 2nd ed. Theatre Communications Group, 2006.
-*- Lists training and development programs, service organizations, agents and managers, grants and fellowships, festivals, etc. -*-
REF PN2053 .S68 2006

Harrington, Bob. The cabaret artist's handbook. Back Stage Books, 2000.
MUSIC LIBRARY MT956 .H27C3 2000

Film/Stage/TV Production

ANIMATION (CINEMATOGRAPHY)
MOTION PICTURE AUTHORSHIP
MOTION PICTURE INDUSTRY--VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE
MOTION PICTURES--PRODUCTION AND DIRECTION--VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE
MOTION PICTURES--VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE
TELEVISION--AUTHORSHIP
THEATER--PRODUCTION & DIRECTION
THEATERS--STAGE SETTING & SCENERY
STAGE MANAGEMENT

Film writers. IFILM pub., c2001- Published annually.
-*- Lists guilds, agents and managers -*-
REF PN1996 .F447 10th edition, 2002

Stage directors handbook: opportunities for directors and choreographers. 2nd ed. Theatre Communications Group, 2006.
-*- Lists training and development programs, service organizations, agents and managers, grants and fellowships, festivals, etc. -*-
REF PN2053 .S68 2006

Raugust, Karen. The animation business handbook. 1st ed. St. Martin's Press, 2004.
PN1993.5.U6 R365 2004

Photography

COMMERCIAL PHOTOGRAPHY
PHOTOGRAPHY--BUSINESS METHODS
PHOTOGRAPHY--VOCATIONAL GUIDANCE

ASMP professional business practices in photography. 7th ed. Allworth Press, c2008.
REF TR581 .A86 2008

Photographer's market. Writer's Digest, 1978- Published annually.
-*- "Where and how to sell your photographs: 2500 places to sell your news, publicity, product, scenic, portrait, fashion wildlife, audiovisual, sports and travel photos." -*-
REF TR12 .P515 2018

Careers in focus. Photography.
2nd ed. Ferguson, c2009.
TR154 .C37 2009

Gilbert, George. Career opportunities in photography. Ferguson, c2006.
TR154 .G53 2006

Heller, Dan. A digital photographer's guide to model releases: making the best business decisions with your photos of people, places and things.
Wiley Pub., c2008.
TR267 .H438 2008

PDN Photo District News [monthly] - Lists contests, professional services, business resources, help-wanted.
Online version provides access to classifieds.

Weisgrau, Richard. The real business of photography. Allworth Press; ASMP, 2004.
TR690 .W45 2004

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.