RULE BRITANNIA: HUMS214 //

This subject guide is written for UArts course HUMS214, Rule Britannia, and specifically for the assignment on E. M. Forster's A Passage to India.

The University Libraries combine their holdings in one online catalog. Use the University Libraries catalog to find books, e-books, videos, CDs, scores, etc.

To locate all of the materials the library holds on a topic, it is most efficient to search by subject. These subject headings are standard and are used in most libraries.

COMMONWEALTH COUNTRIES--HISTORY
GREAT BRITAIN--COLONIES--HISTORY
GREAT BRITAIN--COLONIES--INDIA
IMPERIALISM--HISTORY
INDIA--HISTORY--BRITISH OCCUPATION, 1765-1947

Looking for information about an author? Search that person by SUBJECT, last name first.

FORSTER, E. M. (EDWARD MORGAN), 1879-1970.

Periodical Indexes: Finding Articles

Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in magazines, journals and newspapers.

Go to the library's Article Databases and Indexes page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases. Not sure which one to try? Contact Sara MacDonald, UArts Public Services Librarian.

For this assignment, try the following article databases:

  • Literature Criticism Online. Great place to find literary criticism of A Passage to India.

  • EBSCOhost. EBSCOhost is the UArts Libraries' broadest article database.

  • JSTOR. JSTOR contains ONLY scholarly journals, most of which are at least 3-5 years old. Potentially useful for finding articles written around the time the book was published.

  • You can also try OneSearch, which searches most of the library resources but NOT Literature Criticism Online. If results are overwhelming, start with one of the databases above.

I've found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:

  • See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself. If you've created a personal account in OneSearch/EBSCOhost, save it to your folder.

  • Click the FindIt@UArts icon to see if our library holds the journal title. FindIt@UArts will also tell you if the full-text article is available in a different database.

  • Use the interlibrary loan search tool, WorldCat, to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries or to see what other libraries have the title you need.

Style Manuals: Citing Your Sources

When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.