The first place to look when beginning research on a topic is in reference material: specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias or handbooks. These allow you to check names, dates and places, find additional information, look up unknown terms, and check for the proper spelling of words. They are particularly helpful for finding basic background information on a topic, and are often the only place many students may need to look to find answers to their questions. They may include bibliographies (lists of additional materials on a topic, usually considered by the author to be the best materials on that topic or at least the material that author used) that you can use to find other materials.
All quoted material in the annotations is from American Reference Book Annual (ARBA) series, Greenfield REFERENCE 011.02 Am35, unless otherwise stated.
Research Guides/Guides To The Literature
A guide to the literature of a certain field or discipline is an attempt to list the major resources (encyclopedias, indexes, handbooks, bibliographies, etc.) for research in that field or discipline. Usually such guides are annotated bibliographies. Annotated means that the compiler of a bibliographic list has written brief descriptions of the resources; sometimes annotations are evaluative (this is good, this not as good) and sometimes they are only descriptive, i.e., they describe how something is organized and what you might want to use it for.
Best, John W. Research in Education. 9th ed. Boston: Allyn & Bacon, 2003.
Greenfield 370.78 B46 2003
Bunch, Clarence. Art Education: A Guide to Information Sources. (Art and Architecture Information Guide) Detroit, MI: Gale Research Co., 1978.
Greenfield Reference 707.016 B881a 1978
Buttlar, Lois J. Education: A Guide to References and Information Sources. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1989.
Greenfield Reference 016.37 B979e
Katz, William A. Your Library: A Reference Guide. 2nd ed. Holt, Rinehart and Winston, Inc., 1984.
Greenfield 025.56 K159y 1984
Kennedy, James R. Library Research Guide to Education: Illustrated Search Strategy and Sources. (Library Research Guides; no. 3) Ann Arbor, MI: Pierian Press, 1979.
Greenfield Reference 370.78 K383L 1979
Barrow, Robin and Geoffrey Milburn. A Critical Dictionary of Educational Concepts: An Appraisal of Selected Ideas and Issues in Educational Theory and Practice. Teachers College Press, Teachers College, Columbia University, 1990.
Greenfield Reference 370.3 B279c 1990
Dance, Music, Theatre, Visual Arts : What Every Young American Should Know and Be Able to Do in the Arts : National Standards for Arts Education / developed by the Consortium of National Arts Education Associations. Reston, VA : Music Educators National Conference, c1994.
Greenfield Reference 700.7073 D195c also in the Music Library: MT 3 .U58C6 1994
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics / editor in chief, Michael Kelly. New York : Oxford University Press, 1998.
Greenfield Reference 111.8503 En19k v. 1-4
What is "ut pictora poesis"? What is aesthetic education? What is materialism? Check the index in volume 4 for your topic. Also available online!
Encyclopedia of Education. 2nd ed. Macmillan Reference USA, c2003.
Greenfield Reference 370.3 En195 2003 v.1-8
"Covers the field of education broadly, treating institutions, people, processes, roles, and philosophies in language suitable for university students and general readers."--Library Journal review, May 1, 2003.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education / Bruce M. Mitchell and Robert E. Salsbury. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1999.
Learning Theories A to Z. Oryx Press, 2002.
Greenfield Reference 370.3 L552L
The Quick Reference Guide to Educational Innovations: Practices, Programs, Policies, and Philosophies / Carolyn Orange. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin Press, c2002.
Greenfield Reference 370.14 Or1q
Requirements for Certification of Teachers, Counselors, Librarians, Administrators: for Elementary and Secondary Schools. 75th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010.
Use the University Libraries catalog to find books, videos, CDs, scores, journal titles, etc. To locate all of the materials the library holds on a topic, it is most efficient to search by Subject. Use the following subject headings in the online catalog. Be careful to follow the exact spelling and form. These subject headings are standard and are used in most libraries.
LEARNING, PSYCHOLOGY OF
ART--STUDY AND TEACHING
ART--STUDY AND TEACHING (ELEMENTARY)
ART--STUDY AND TEACHING (SECONDARY)
ART--STUDY AND TEACHING--OUTLINES, SYLLABI, ETC.
ART--STUDY AND TEACHING--HISTORY
ARTS--STUDY AND TEACHING
DRAWING--STUDY AND TEACHING
PAINTING--STUDY AND TEACHING
POTTERY--STUDY AND TEACHING
Note that the subheading TECHNIQUE is usually used for materials that instruct the reader on how to do something, while the subheading STUDY AND TEACHING is used for materials on how to teach about that topic.
Magazine and journal articles will always be the best place to look for current information on your topic. Periodical indexes are research tools that allow you to search for articles in journals and magazines.
Go to the library's Online Resources page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases, indexes, and reference works.
I've found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation in the index:
- See if there is a link in the index you're using to a full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself.
- Check to see if our library holds the journal title. Look up the journal title or the ISSN*** in the catalog and look at the holdings.
- ***What is an ISSN? ISSN stands for International Standard Serial Number and is a unique number for a magazine or journal (not individual articles, but the magazine/journal title itself). You can use it in the UArts Libraries catalog and in many periodical indexes and databases. Searching with a number is much more precise than typing out a long title.
- Use interlibrary loan to request materials not owned by the UArts Libraries.
- See what other libraries in the area hold the journal.
When you find information on a topic, no matter what format it takes (book, journal, Web page), there are style manuals to show you the correct way to give cite those sources in a paper.
Searching the Web can be overwhelming. If you are using the Internet for research you want to choose sites that meet the standards of accuracy, currency and authority.
There are many art education-related sites and resources available on the Internet and World Wide Web. The few listed here should provide many links to other sites.
American Art Therapy Association, Inc. - Resources and Links
National Art Education Association
See About Us for a description of the organization. This is one of the premier professional organizations for art educators. Student discount memberships are available, and NAEA publications are available at a discounted members' rate. To check the University Libraries catalog for NAEA publications, search by author for National Art Education Association.
ARTSEDGE: The National Arts and Education Information Network
"Since the Kennedy Center’s opening in 1971, schoolchildren, parents and educators have turned to us as the nation’s premiere cultural resource. Embracing this responsibility, the Kennedy Center instituted ARTSEDGE in 1996 as its educational media arm, reaching out to schools, communities, individuals and families with printed materials, classroom support and Internet technologies."--quoted from About Us. ArtsEdge is a program of the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, DC, and includes materials on performing arts as well as visual arts.
The Getty Museum: Education
The education portion of the Getty Museum's Web site. Includes a searchable database of lesson plans, a listserv, and material for museum education studies.
Teacher Resources from Joyce Kasman Valenza's Springfield Township High School Virtual Library
An excellent starting point for teachers in any discipline. Valenza used to write a weekly column in the Philadelphia Inquirer on education and the Internet. From the Springfield Township High School Virtual Library home page you may also want to explore Research Tools.
National Gallery of Art: Learning Resources
See About Loans. See also the National Gallery of Art's Web page on its education division: http://www.nga.gov/education/index.shtm.
Art History Resources on the Web / Chris Witcombe
An often-recommended site. Organized primarily by country or by time period, you need to know where your artwork or artist falls within those categories. Do some research in the library first! If you are a UArts student, faculty or staff member, start with the online Oxford Art Online">Oxford Art Online to find basic information on your subject before trying sites like this.