ANCIENT ART: GREECE AND ROME //

Get Started

This is a subject guide for finding materials on the arts of ancient Greece and Rome in the University Libraries. Reference materials are listed first, since that's a great way to begin your research. The next tab is a list of subject headings you can use to find books and video in the library catalog, followed by a tab on finding articles, and finally selected websites.

Oxford Art Online
This is a good place to start any art-related research. For a topic like ancient Greece or Rome, try a fairly specific search such as "Greece, ancient, pottery"; "Rome, ancient, mosaics"; "gem engraving"; or Augustus, Emperor"; etc. You can find Oxford Art Online under Reference Sources, or search it right here:

Search Oxford Art Online

The Cambridge History of Greek and Roman Warfare.
Edited by Philip Sabin, Hans van Wees, and Michael Whitby. Cambridge University Press, 2007.
Greenfield REF 355.020938 C144s v.1-2
This two-volume History provides a broad analytical approach to ancient warfare that emphasizes various underlying themes including social, economic, political and cultural. Includes an index, bibliography, glossary, and chronologies.
Gods and Heroes of Classical Antiquity.
By Irène Aghion, Claire Barbillon, François Lissarague. English translation by Leonard N. Amico. Flammarion, 1996.
Greenfield REF 704.947 Ag39g
Entries include name, variation of name, history and mythology, representations in art (including images), attributes, cross-references, and bibliographies.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture.
Edited by Gordon Campbell. Oxford University Press, 2007.
Greenfield REF 722.8003 G919 v. 1-2
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture spans every art form, medium, and civilization from Greece to the fall of the Roman Empire. Over 800 entries with bibliographies, illustrations, and cross-references. This content is also available through Oxford Art Online.
Attic Red-figure Vase-painters.
By J.D. Beazley, Clarendon Press, 1963.
Greenfield REF 738 B38 v.1-3
A thorough compilation of attributed Attic red-figure vases. Consists of attribution lists with brief descriptions of content and bibliographic citations. The lists are organized by painters, groups (style of drawing), and class (shape of vase). See The Beazley Archive (also included in the websites section of this guide) for more resources related to this publication, including digital images.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary.
Edited by Simon Hornblower, Antony Spawforth, and Esther Eidinow. Oxford University Press, 2012.
Greenfield REF 913.3 Ox2 2012
This dictionary covers all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology. It also provides thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century, such as nationalism, race, gender, and ecology.
The Classical Tradition.
Edited by Anthony Grafton, Glenn W. Most, and Salvatore Settis. Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2010.
Greenfield REF 938 C569g
This book focuses on the legacy of ancient Greece and Rome. It provides concise investigations on the origins of classical literature, philosophy, art, architecture, history, politics, religion, and science, and how interpretations of classical culture have changed over time.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome.
Edited by Michael Gagarin and Elaine Fantham. Oxford University Press, 2010.
Greenfield REF 938.003 Ox25e v. 1-7
This is a definive reference source comprised of seven volumes, with nearly eleven hundred articles, all written by leading scholars in the field. Provides articles on classical literature, historical figures and events, archaeologists and archaeological sites, artists and artistic themes and materials, philosophers and philosophical schools, scientists and scientific areas, gods, heroes, and myths.

Find Articles

On the library home page you can always just enter a search in OneSearch, which will find books, articles, videos, etc. You may also choose to go the library's Article Databases page for a list of the UArts Libraries' subscription databases. Check out the following for this topic:
EBSCOhost has full-text and scholarly articles covering a wide range of subjects.
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.

I've found articles I want to read. Now what?
There are different ways to find an article once you retrieve a citation:

  • See if there is a link to to download the full-text article online and download it or e-mail it to yourself.
  • If you do not see the full-text option, click the FindIt@UArts icon to see if our library holds the journal title in print. FindIt@UArts will also tell you if the full-text article is available in a different database.
  • Use the interlibrary loan search tool, WorldCat, to request materials not owned by the University Libraries, or to see what other area libraries have the title you need.

Websites

Searching the Web can be overwhelming. If you are using the Internet for research you want to choose sites that meet the standards of accuracy, currency and authority.

CARC Beazley logo The Beazley Archive
The Beazley Archive is part of the Classical Art Research Centre at the University of Oxford. It includes the world's largest collection of images of ancient figure-decorated pottery, as well as material on the gem research, and thousands of other documents and photographs relating to classical archaeology.
Met Heilbrunn Timeline logo Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
From the Metropolitan Museum of Art, this timeline includes chronologies, essays, and works of art. You can search or browse the chronologies by period or geographical region, all of which is linked to images and essay topics. Check out all the essays on Greek and Roman Art written by Met curators.
Penn Museum logo University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology: Mediterranean Section
"The Collections of the Mediterranean Section of the Penn Museum comprise some 34,000 objects of Greek, Roman, Etruscan, Cypriot, and Bronze Age Aegean origins, as well as small numbers of artifacts from related culture areas." You can view highlights of the collection online, as well as see websites they have created for Museum-related research projects and special exhibitions.
Perseus logo The Perseus Digital Library
Developed and maintained by Gregory Crane at Tuft's University, this digital library covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.