VIK MUNIZ //

 

Vik Muniz

This is a selective list of resources about the visual artist Vik Muniz. For more resources, check out UArts Libraries' Diigo tag Vik Muniz. It is also important to search journals and magazines when looking for information on an artist. Use the Article Databases to find articles on Muniz and his exhibitions.

Art and the Senses.
Francesca Bacci and David Melcher, editors. Oxford University Press, 2011.
152.1 Ar751b
An essay titled "The Mystery of Representation: A Conversation with Vik Muniz" by David Melcher is included.
Masters of Deception: Escher, Dali & the Artists of Optical Illusion.
Al Seckel. Sterling Publication Company, 2004.
701.15 Se24m
An essay titled "A Change of Medium" is about Muniz. Plenty of color images are included.
Abracadabra: International Contemporary Art.
Catherine Grenier and Catherine Kinley, editors. Tate Gallery Publishing, 1999.
709.049 Ab81g
Published in association with an exhibition at Tate Gallery, a short essay and images on Muniz are included.
Vik Muniz.
Dan Cameron and Miguel Fernández-Cid, texts. Xunta de Galicia, 2003.
709.24 M924c
This catalog from a traveling international exhibition includes many of the artist's early photographs created from found objects and materials.
Reflex: A Vik Muniz Primer.
Vik Muniz. Aperture, 2005.
709.24 M924m 2005
This is an exhibition catalog from one of Muniz's shows as well as an autobiography. Full of color images and anecdotes about Muniz, it is highly recommended.
TRANSactions: Contemporary Latin American and Latino Art.
Stephanie Hanor, essay. Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego, 2006.
709.80904 T687h
Muniz is included in this book of over forty Latino artists represented in the Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego's permanent collection.
The Measure of All Things: On the Relationship Between Photography and Objects.
Peter Weiermair, editor. Edition Stemmle, 1998.
779.0922 M463g
A short essay about Muniz and images of his work are included in this photography exhibition catalog.
Waste Land.
Lucy Walker, director. Almega Projects, 2011.
GD1146
This award-winning film documents Muniz's art collaboration with landfill recyclers in one of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil's poorest communities.
Vik Muniz
This is Muniz's personal website and includes images, a biography, and an excellent bibliography.
Vik Muniz: Art with Wire, Thread, Sugar, and Chocolate
In this TEDtalk Muniz discusses his views on creating and creation. He also talks about the methods he uses in his work.

Brazilian Arts & Culture

This is a selective list of resources about the culture and visual and performing arts of Brazil, Vik Muniz's birth country. It is also important to search journals and magazines when looking for information. Use the Article Databases to find articles on specific elements of Brazil's culture.

Subject Headings

Bossa Nova Music
Brazil
Brazil Architecture
Brazil Art
Brazil Artists
Brazil Canival
Brazil Dance
Brazil Jazz
Brazil Music
Brazil Social
Capoeira
Rio de Janeiro
São Paulo
Samba

History & Culture

Carnival in Rio.
Helmut Teissl. Abbeville Press, 2000.
394.25098153 T235c 2000
This colorful book about Brazil's most popular festival comes with a CD of Samba music.
Brazil.
Elizabeth Bishop. Time, Inc., 1962.
918.1 B54b
This Time-Life book covers the history and culture of Brazil with ample color images.
Between Empires: Brazilian Sugar in the Early Atlantic Economy, 1550-1630.
Christopher Ebert. Brill, 2008.
available in ebrary
Learn about this history of the Brazilian sugar trade and how it has affected the politics and culture of the country.
Dance Lest We All Fall Down: Breaking Cycles of Poverty in Brazil and Beyond.
Margaret Willson. University of Washington Press, 2010.
available in ebrary
Willson, an activist and anthropologist, tells us about her personal experience living in one of Brazil's slums and working with its community.
Laughter Out of Place: Race, Class, Violence, and Sexuality in a Rio Shantytown.
Donna M. Goldstein. University of California Press, 2003.
available in ebrary
Goldstein provides a glimpse into the lives of Brazil's poorest women and details how they keep their spirits up through storytelling.

Visual Arts

Virgin Territory: Women, Gender, and History in Contemporary Brazilian Art.
National Museum of Women in the Arts. The Museum, 2001.
700.9810904 V819n
This exhibition catalog documents the work of twenty-five contemporary Brazilian artists working within the country's cultural, social, and political contexts.
Bienal Internacional de São Paulo.
Bienal Internacional de São Paulo. Secretaria de Cultura, 1969-2010.
709.040074 Sa63b
UArts Libraries has Bienal Internacional catalogs for 1969, 1991, 2006, and 2010.
Brazil Contemporary: Architecture, Visual Culture, Art.
Nederlands Architectuurinstituut. NAi Publishers, 2009.
724.6 B739f
This full-color book covers art, architecture and culture by showcasing Brazilian exhibitions held in the Netherlands.
Central Station.
Walter Salles, director. Columbia TriStar Home Video, 1999.
GD1125
One of Brazil's famous films, Central Station takes place in Rio de Janeiro as a young homeless boy, Josué, finds assistance and companionship with a retired teacher, Dora.
The New Brazilian Cinema.
Lúcia Nagib, editor. Palgrave Macmillan, 2003.
available in ebrary
This ebook covers Brazilian cinema from the mid-1990s through the early 21st century. Specific films and aesthetic techniques are discussed.

Performing Arts

The Modern Brazilian Stage.
David George. University of Texas Press, 1992.
792.0981 G293m 1992
George focuses on Brazilian performance groups and productions from the early to mid-twentieth century. This book is considered a must-read for anyone interested in Latin American theater.
Samba: Resistance in Motion.
Barbara Browning. Indiana University Press, 1995.
793.31981 B821s
Browning weaves her personal narrative as a dancer with the history, culture, and theory of Brazilian dance.
The Hidden History of Capoeira: A Collision of Cultures in the Brazilian Battle Dance.
Maya Talmon-Chvaicer. University of Texas Press, 2008.
793.31891 T149h 2008
Capoeira is both a dance and a sport, first brought to Brazil by African slaves and now practiced internationally.
Bossa Nova: The Story of the Brazilian Music that Seduced the World.
Ruy Castro. A Cappella, 2000.
ML3487 .B7C3 2000
Interviews with Bossa Nova musicians provide a unique glimpse into the sounds and culture of Brazil's popular music scene.
The Sound of Rio: Brasileirinho.
Mika Kaurismäki, director. Milan Entertainment, 2007.
MD544
This is a documentary about Choro, a unique blend of Brazil's musical cultures that is the foundation of Samba and Bossa Nova.

Environment & Recycling

This is a selective list of resources about the interaction of people and the environment, recyling and sustainability, and found object art. It is also important to search journals and magazines when looking for information. Use the Article Databases to find articles about these topics.

Subject Headings

Assemblage (Art)
Found Objects Art
Human Beings - Effect of Environment On
Human Ecology
Nature - Effect of Human Beings On
Recycling Waste
Sustainable
Trash Art

Humans & Nature

Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies.
Jared M. Diamond. W.W. Norton, 2005.
303.4 D541g
Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, the book was made into a television series (GD304) for National Geographic.
Nature Performed: Environment, Culture, and Performance.
Bronislaw Szerszynski, et al, editors. Blackwell Pub./Sociological Review, 2003.
304.2 N219p
This book covers the various methods of interaction between humans and nature through different theories about performance and activism.
Humanature.
Peter Goin. University of Texas Press, 1996.
304.20222 G561h 1996
Goin discusses the various ways humans have altered the landscape and how "nature is becoming an illusion created by human ingenuity."
A Keener Perception: Ecocritical Studies in American Art History.
Alan C. Braddock and Christoph Irmscher, editors. University of Alabama Press, 2009.
709.73 K252b
This is a collection of essays about the American environment and its relationships to art and culture.
Gasland: Can You Light Your Water on Fire?.
Josh Fox, director. Docurama Films, 2010.
GD1148
This is an award-winning documentary about fracking, the controversial process of extracting natural gas from the earth.

Recycling & Sustainability

100 Years of Recycling History: From Yankee Tincart Peddlers to Wall Street Scrap Giants.
Charles H. Lipsett. Atlas Publishing Co., 1974.
658.567 L668
After both World Wars, Lipsett served as an advisor to the War Department on how to best dispose of war surplus, becoming well-versed in the history of recycling and reuse.
Recycled Papers: The Essential Guide.
Claudia G. Thompson. MIT Press, 1992.
676.282 T372r
Thompson covers the history of papermaking, the production of recycled paper, and how designers and artists can make educated choices about the papers they use.
Sustainabilities.
Paco Barragán, editor. Charta, 2008.
709.050744677 F429s 2008
This is a collection of essays investigating new methods of sustainable practices.
Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things.
William McDonough. North Point Press, 2002.
745.2 M459c 2002
McDonough looks to nature's lifecycles as inspiration for rethinking the way we design products.
Empire of Scrounge: Inside the Urban Underground of Dumpster Diving, Trash Picking, and Street Scavenging.
Jeff Ferrell. New York University Press, 2006.
available in ebrary
Ferrell weaves his personal narrative of living off the street with the larger story of the culture of trash picking.

Found Object Art

Trash: From Junk to Art.
Lea Vergine. Electa, 1997.
700.904 T69p
This exhibition catalog covers the history of junk being used in art and then focuses on specific mediums, including architecture, dance, and theater.
Junk: Art and the Politics of Trash.
Gillian Whiteley. Palgrave Macmillan, 2011.
701.03 W587j
Also available as an ebook, Whiteley discusses the history of found object art, often known as assemblage.
Trash.
John Knechtel, editor. MIT Press, 2007.
704.94962844 T69k
In this collection of essays, artists, filmmakers, and writers discusses their views on waste and what our trash says about us.
Second Lives: Remixing the Ordinary.
Jessica Scarlata, editor. Museum of Arts and Design, 2008.
704.949745584 Se24m
This is the catalog from a Museum of Arts and Design exhibition of fifty artists who work in assemblage.
Trashformations: Recycled Materials in Contemporary American Art and Design.
Lloyd E. Herman. Whatcom Museum of History and Art, 1998.
709.04 H426t
Eighty works from the fields of art, craft, and design demonstrate the creative possibilities of recycling and reuse.

Community & Art

This is a selective list of resources about artists working within communities to create work and promote social change. It is also important to search journals and magazines when looking for information. Use the Article Databases to find articles about this topic.

Subject Headings

Artists and Community
Arts and Society
Community Arts Projects
Interactive Art
Public Art
Social Problems in Art
What We Want is Free: Generosity and Exchange in Recent Art.
Ted Purves, editor. State University of New York Press, 2005.
306.47 W556p
This book covers over fifty international artists who use art to connect communities with needed goods and services.
Art, Community, and Environment: Educational Perspectives.
Glen Coutts, et al, editors. Intellect, 2008.
700.103 Ar75c
Also available as an ebook, the relationships between art, community, and environment are explored.
Art in Other Places: Artists at Work in America's Community and Social Institutions.
William Cleveland. Praeger, 1992.
700.103 C599a
Cleveland describes the postive effects visual and performing artists can have in places like hospitals, prisons, and schools.
New Creative Community: The Art of Cultural Development.
Arlene Goldbard. New Village Press, 2006.
700.1030973 G564n
From street murals to political theater, this book describes how art can stimulate social change and affect communities.
The Interventionists: Users' Manual for the Creative Disruption of Everyday Life.
Nato Thompson and Gregory Sholette, editors. MIT Press, 2004.
700.4556 In88m
Published to accompany an exhibit at MASS MOCA, this catalog investigates artists who engage with the community to raise awareness of political and social issues.
Conversation Pieces: Community and Communication in Modern Art.
Grant H. Kester. University of California Press, 2004.
701.03 K489c
Kester discusses international art projects that have involved the artist in direct dialogue with the surrounding community.
The Art of Participation: 1950 to Now.
Rudolf Frieling. Thames & Hudson, 2008.
709.22 Ar75s
This book covers the history of participatory art, from happenings and performances to audience participation and social media as community engagement.
Art, Space, and the City: Public Art and Urban Futures.
Malcolm Miles. Routledge, 1997.
711.4 M59a
Miles discusses public art as a balance between urban planning and social change.
Designing for Social Change: Strategies for Community-Based Graphic Design.
Andrew Shea. Princeton Architectural Press, 2012.
741.6 Sh313d
This book acts as a how-to manual for artists and designers who want to create products and graphic art that can help others or those who want to work collaboratively with a community.
Philadelphia Murals and the Stories They Tell.
Jane Golden. Temple University Press, 2002.
751.730974811 G565p
This beautiful book tells the story of the largest mural arts program in the United States.

Last updated: 8/9/12




Site Search


JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.