SEPTEMBER 11, 2001 //


Recommended starting points || U.S. Goverment Sources || International Organizations || News and Media Resources || Commentary and Academic Sites || Other Viewpoints || The Arts Respond || UArts University Libraries Resources ||

When using any material found on the Internet, apply some evaluation criteria to it before you accept it as fact or as a reliable source. See "Thinking Critically about WWW Resources" on the UCLA College Library's Web pages:


A great link-filled site with which to start is Librarians' Index to the Internet: September 11 & Beyond
Go to and then select September 11 & Beyond from the "Featured Collections" at the right of the screen.
"The Librarians' Index to the Internet (LII) is a searchable, annotated subject directory of more than 8,300 Internet resources selected and evaluated by librarians for their usefulness to users of public libraries. LII is meant to be used by both librarians and non-librarians as a reliable and efficient guide to described and evaluated Internet resources." quoted from "About the LII"

Another good starting point is the September 11 Web Archive. A collaboration between the Library of Congress, the Internet Archive and "Our aim in creating this collection of Web materials is to preserve the Web expressions of individual people, groups, the press and institutions from around the world, in the aftermath of the attacks in the U.S. on September 11, 2001. We hope the archive provides resources for many kinds of reflection on the meanings of these events." quoted from September 11 Web Archive Welcome


U.S. State Department

The White House
Link from here to President for the latest speeches and statements.
Go to the "Latest News" link for breaking news and speeches.

Write to Your Congressional Representative

Write to Your Senator in Congress


North Atlantic Treaty Organisation

United Nations

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees


Afghanistan: An Online Newshour Special Report

Around Ground Zero
"'Around Ground Zero' was first created as a print map, detailing the World Trade Center site and the surrounding area in lower Manhattan. Volunteers distributed the first edition for free this past January.

The project grew out of discussions held through New York New Visions, a temporary coalition of architects and designers that came together to conceptualize responses to the events of September 11th.

... Architect Laura Kurgan, the map's creator, has been working with the Temporary Memorials Committee. Many individuals within the group felt that an immediate symbol of remembrance was needed, more quickly than the timeline of any built memorials would allow. ... Because visitors often get lost�relying small posted FEMA maps, or on the instructions of police�Laura Kurgan envisioned the print version of the project to serve as a practical guide to the physical area, as well as a memorial document. In this way, Around Ground Zero addresses people who visit the site to bear witness, whether to add to the spontaneously evolving memorials or to simply observe." from About AGZ

British Broadcasting Corporation

See also the special section "America's New War"

Frontline: "Hunting Bin Laden"
"Frontline" public televison program. For additional information be sure to view the links from the program's main page; see also press reaction to the program. See also the PBS Frontline home page for other material.

Google News
Links to national and international news sources; support resources; and relief fund resources.

i-cubed: information integration and imaging
"World Trade Center and Pentagon Data 3-D and 2-D geospatial data of World Trade Center and Pentagon disaster areas available to any organization for non-commercial use." Note that they specify organizations, not individuals.

Islamic Gateway Resource Center: Muslim News and Media

Media Channel
Listen to streaming audio for live broadcasts. See also NPR: America Responds for special reports.

National Public Radio
Listen to streaming audio (RealPlayer required) for live broadcasts. See also NPR: America Responds for special reports.

The New York Times
Scroll down your screen to see special features. You must register in order to see them, but registration is free. See A Nation Challenged for a collection of articles; see also the Learning Network link for additional materials.

Related New Yorker magazine articles
The New Yorker has assembled a few articles from its archives: an article on the World Trade Center towers from 1972 when they were under construction; a January 2000 profile of Osama bin Laden; and a New Yorker article from the December 1941 issue, written shortly after the bombing of Pearl Harbor.
"The Real Bin Laden" by Mary Ann Weaver. Originally published January 24, 2000.


TIME magazine

World Press Review Online


NYU Department of Journalism: Dispatches from Ground Zero
" 'Dispatches from Ground Zero' is the NYU Department of Journalism's report on, and response to, the real-life nightmare we all woke up to on the morning of September 11 -- a morning that was, in pilot's parlance, 'severe clear.' It features eyewitness accounts of the attack and its aftermath, links to online resources that shed light on aspects of the story that have gone unexamined by the media, and reportage, opinion pieces and cultural commentary by NYU students and faculty. It's our hope that, beyond its obvious journalistic purpose, 'Dispatches' will help reassemble the fragments of this horrific event into something more meaningful, a bigger truth" from About Dispatches from Ground Zero

The Re:constructions Project
"re:constructions is an on-line resource and study guide, designed to spark discussions and reflections about the media's role in covering the events of 11 September 2001 and their aftermath. ... re:constructions represents the work of students, staff, faculty, and friends of MIT's Program in Comparative Media Studies. It is not the work of an academic department. It is the work of a community which felt it had to do something to make a difference. We study media and so this is what we had to contribute." from Introduction

Online Journalism Review
from the University of Southern California Annenberg School for Communication

Web Resources for Journalists Covering The Terrorist Attacks
from the University of California, Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism


American Civil Liberties Union

American Friends Service Committee [Quaker organization]: No More Victims

ArabNet ("The Resource for the Arab World in the Middle East and North Africa" [title bar of page])

Common Dreams NewsCenter: News and Views for the Progressive Community

Independent Media Center

Mother Jones: News and Resources for the Skeptical Citizen


Here Is New York: A Democracy of Photographs
"HERE IS NEW YORK is not a conventional gallery show. It is something new, a show tailored to the nature of the event, and to the responose it has elicited. The exhibition is subtitles 'A Democracy of Photographs' because anyone and everyone who has taken pictures relating to the tragedy is invited to bring or ftp their images to the gallery, where they will be digitally scanned, archivally printed and displayed on the walls alongside the work of top photojournalists and other professional photographers. All of the prints which HERE IS NEW YORK displays will be sold to the public for $25, regardless of their provenance. The net proceeds will go to the Children's Aid Society WTC Relief Fund, for the benefit of the thousands of children who are among the greatest victims of this catastrophe." from About HERE IS NEW YORK

HERE IS NEW YORK is moving to the Museum of Modern Art in New York for an exhibit that runs February 28 - 21, 2002. See HERE IS NEW YORK updates.

The Legacy Project
"Our site is a gathering place for people interested in the enduring legacies of the many violent traumas of the 20th century. We are dedicated to exploring issues of remembrance in different cultures, in order to better understand the contemporary significance of historical tragedy." quoted from home page

Terrorism: Questions and Answers
from the Council on Foreign Relations


A few recommended items are listed below. To find more, search the library catalog under the subject heading
September 11 Terrorist Attacks, 2001 or World Trade Center (New York, N.Y.)

Greenfield Library REF indicates an item in the reference section; Greenfield Open Stacks are circulating materials.

Barakat, Halim Isber. The Arab world : society, culture, and state. Berkeley : University of California Press, 1993.
Greenfield Library Open Stacks 909.0974927 B231a

Cultural atlas of Islam. New York : Macmillan ; London : Collier Macmillan, c1986.
Greenfield Library REF 953 Al1c

Encyclopedia of religion. New York : Macmillan Library Reference USA, 1998.
Greenfield Library REF 291.03 W893m

From Hanoi to Hollywood : the Vietnam War in American film. Edited by Linda Dittmar and Gene Michaud. New Brunswick : Rutgers University Press, c1990.
Greenfield Library Open Stacks 791.43658 F925d
Representations of the Vietnam War in documentary film and television reporting, examining the ways the power of film is used to deliver political messages. Thanks to Dr. Barry Dornfeld, UArts College of Media and Communication, for this annotation.

The Oxford history of Islam. Edited by John Esposito. New York, N.Y. : Oxford University Press, 1999.
Greenfield Library Open Stacks 297.09 Ox2es

Access articles about the terrorist attacks on any computer hooked up to the campus network.


For newspaper articles (New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post), select LEXISNEXIS ACADEMIC from the database list.
Here are some search tips:

  • STEP 1: select GENERAL NEWS.
  • STEP 2: select MAJOR PAPERS.
  • Type the word  pentagon as a HEADLINE, LEAD PARAGRAPH TERM
    Type the words   world trade center as a HEADLINE, LEAD PARAGRAPH TERM
    Type the word   terror! as a HEADLINE only.
  • Connect all terms with AND
  • Make the date range previous 6 months. If you make the date range one year, it will pull up more than 1,000 articles and will not complete your search.

By putting an exclamation point(!) at the end of your word, you will retrieve articles that include the words terror, terrors, terrorist, terrorists, terrorism, etc.
You get the entire article online for free.

For magazine articles, select WILSON DATABASES from the list of ELECTRONIC INDEXES AND DATABASES .
Here are some search tips for Wilson:

  • Check the box next to OmniFile Full Text Mega.
  • Go to the upper right-hand corner and click BROWSE for your search mode.
  • In the Term box, type the words   terrorism united states  and select SUBJECT in the pull-down Field menu. Click Display.
  • If there is more than one relevant subject heading, check off the boxes and click SEARCH. Otherwise just click the subject heading link.
  • Do the same for the words   world trade center.
  • Do the same for the word   pentagon.

Some of the articles will be available in full-text. If you see an article you'd like to get in a magazine the library does not receive, please use the Interlibrary Loan service.

There are many ways to search. These are suggestions to get you started.

Site Search

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.